We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cairns Harbour Lights
Ranked #16 of 84 Specialty Lodging in Cairns
GreenLeadersSilver level
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Location”
Reviewed April 22, 2013

We stayed here for a couple of nights after coming off and island on the Great Barrier Reef.
The hotel is quite modern, however this tended to make it feel rather stale. While is was a very modern building, the atmosphere was a bit stale.
The staff were very friendly and efficient and the location is excellent, being right at the ferry reef terminal and a block from the casino. It is also within easy walking distance to the Cairns esplanade.
The room was quite spacious and comfortable, however the ultra modern decor again made it feel a bit stale.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dani305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

761 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    282
    285
    108
    52
    34
See reviews for
139
349
67
114
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2013

We stayed at the harbour light twice - before and after our trip to the barrier reef. On our first visit, I didn't realize we needed to check-in a few blocks from the hotel. We booked through hotels.com and I didn't read the fine print. We had no issues, just glad the office was open when we arrived. On our return from the barrier reef, my husband needed to go to a medical clinic, and Dianne, at the front desk, was incredibly helpful. She called the clinic to make sure he'd be seen when he arrived. She was professional and considerate. Thank you again, Dianne.

The location is convenient - on the pier, in the same building as the terminal for the boat trips, short walk to the lagoon, close to lots of restaurants. The rooms are modern, spacious and clean.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keena_b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2013

We stayed at Cairns Harbour Lights on our seven week trip around Australia.

Harbour Lights is a very nice property, the apartment was good size. My only complaint is that there was no clothes dryer to go along with the washer. There was a big empty space there, but no dryer.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JeannieTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2013

We stayed at this newish hotel on the harbour in an apartment on the fourth floor. Apartment was spacious but seemed to be furnished fairly minimally, givin the impression of wasted space, particularly in the main room. Our apartment opened on to a balcony directly over a large roof with views towards the opposite hotel , the city and glimpses of the river, Regardless of these minor issues, we found the hotel to have excellent facilities , in particular it's terrific pool deck, overlooking the harbour. The apartment had everything we needed and was well located.. What made it even better was that we got it at a bargain price through an Accor sale.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank peterandanne56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Qld
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2013 via mobile

I suggested this hotel to my parents because of it's ideal location, discounted prices out of season and because it was where Prince William stayed when in Cairns.

My parents booked two nights but extended their stay after seeing the hotel and after being given a free upgrade from a studio to a suite. Two weeks later they returned again to Harbour Lights and were remembered at check in and were again given a free upgrade.

Great, friendly service.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MissMapleLeaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2013

We booked in here at the last minute after going out on a sunset cruise. A great deal on a studio room which was quite spacious and had a balcony overlooking the Trinity inlet. We had excellent service at the front desk, they couldn't be more helpful. The bed was comfortable and we had a good night's sleep. Being locals we were so impressed we have booked for new year's eve.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TBKit10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graceville
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Just returned from a wonderful trip to Cairns. We stayed at the Cairns Harbour Lights self-contained apartments. These were beautifully presented apartments with a lovely outlook. Everything about our stay was excellent. The staff were absolutely delightful - highly professional, very accommodating and knowledgeable. We were unable to stay in a harbour-view apartment but the 2-bedroom apartment we stayed in overlooked a beautiful park and we couldn't have been happier.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.2 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
0.0 mi away
Hilton Cairns
Hilton Cairns
#5 of 64 in Cairns
2,230 reviews
0.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Pacific Hotel Cairns
Pacific Hotel Cairns
#7 of 64 in Cairns
528 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pullman Cairns International
0.1 mi away
Pullman Reef Hotel Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cairns Harbour Lights? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cairns Harbour Lights

Property: Cairns Harbour Lights
Address: 1 Marlin Parade | CityPort Harbourfront Complex, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 84 Specialty Lodging in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cairns Harbour Lights 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cairns Harbour Lights reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cairns Harbour Lights Hotel Cairns
Harbour Lights Apartments Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing