We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, poor value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cairns Harbour Lights
Ranked #14 of 84 Specialty Lodging in Cairns
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed June 6, 2011

Harbour Lights is promoted as 4 stars. Yes the building is new and well located, staff are helpful and efficient but the furnishings of the room (we had a two bedroom apartment) are poor. I felt as if I was staying in a cheap display apartment. Cheap furniture which was undersized for the apartment, no art work just bare white walls. A large balcony with no outdoor table! At the prices charged compared to similar in New Zealand, Asia, the USA and Europe I have stayed in- this property presents poor value for money. Indeed Cairns in general needs to improve the value it offers if it is going to get serious about attracting tourists back. Frankly there are more interesting places to go that offer higher quality at better prices. Nowhere is this starker than Cairns restaurants with mains at international top end prices, but of very average quality.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MichaelJ08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (812)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

682 - 688 of 812 reviews

Reviewed June 1, 2011

We went for a one room apartment without a sea view because it was much cheaper. Apart from the outlook, we could not have wished for more. Space was plentiful. The bathroom was basic, but we had all the mod cons to cook a decent meal and wash our clothes. The location is good and the staff were excellent. It's not an opulent 5 star hotel, nor is it like a holiday resort. It's a good place to stay in Cairns.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 3shoton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2011

It is what it is - a $120 a night hotel. Good location, short walk to nice restaurants, but spartan with basic levels of everything - amenities, cleanliness, character. We requested a non-smoking room, confirmed it at check in, got to the room and there's an ashtray on the balcony. Hotel guide says smoking allowed on a couple of floors - but we weren't on one of them. They moved us, but quizzed us more than they should have, and at first told us there weren't other rooms, were we sure, etc.
There are better places.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank teachers_on_tour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2011

I loved this place and will be going back there for sure

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2011

We made these reservations at the very last minute, as we were waiting to see if the weather cleared and it would be worth the trip up from Sydney. Room was large but simple, but we were there to be out on the reef, so didn't much care that the room was plain. Someone else mentioned the world's smallest TV, and even that was hung way up in the corner next to the ceiling for some reason. View up the inlet was nice, and we were up high enough to see over the casino looking the other direction. A very convenient location - a pleasant stroll along by the marina to a wide choice of places for dinner. Staff at front desk was very helpful in making last minute arrangements to get out to the reef.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wvad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2011

Service was great Checked in 1 30 pm All good
Requested a room facing the park and was told was no available but we had a room with a nice veiw of the inlet Room was nice , clean and spacious but the view was of 80 rooms of the hilton hotel To the left was a nice part view of the inlet Balcony was nice and spacious
My one bedroom apartment was more like a studio with a closing glass door to dive the lounge and bedroom The worst part was the bed was 2 singles joined together with a big gap in between Rooms are very quiet when closed up and couldnt hear people in any other rooms at all
A nice clean place but l wont be going back in a hurry as there are a lot of better value accomadation very close by

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaulyjCairns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2011

The one redeeming factor of our room was the magnificent view from the verandah. The room was small sparsely furnished, the bed was too soft, you could hardly move in the bathroom and the tv was the smallest I have ever seen. On entering the hotel there are bare walls and long corridors. We kept waiting for the wardens to appear. There is very little art on the walls, and just miles of halls. Its amazing that we didnt get lost. Will certainly not stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mollymoo_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.2 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
0.1 mi away
Pullman Reef Hotel Casino
0.1 mi away
Pullman Cairns International
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
0 mi away
Hilton Cairns
Hilton Cairns
#5 of 63 in Cairns
2,357 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pacific Hotel Cairns
Pacific Hotel Cairns
#6 of 63 in Cairns
625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cairns Harbour Lights? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cairns Harbour Lights

Address: 1 Marlin Parade | CityPort Harbourfront Complex, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 84 Specialty Lodging in Cairns
Price Range: $124 - $229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cairns Harbour Lights 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Cairns Harbour Lights reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cairns Harbour Lights Hotel Cairns
Harbour Lights Apartments Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing