We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome Hostel :)” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Northern Greenhouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Northern Greenhouse
Ranked #8 of 89 Specialty Lodging in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Awesome Hostel :)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012

This hostel was great!!! My best friend and I stayed here in January 2011. We really enjoyed our stay. The tent hangout area is really nice. I loved how open it is. The pool was clean and a good size. The free breakfast in the morning is really helpful for frugal travellers. This hostel is very central. There is a small bar that is really good to go to for meeting up with friends and pre drinking before hitting the town. The bartender was really friendly and always let us know about any specials going on that night around town. Every day the hostel has different things you can sign up for like sailing or going to a beach. For the most part we had fairly good sleeps but there was one night where it seemed like everyone was partying outside our door when we had to get up at 6am but that is to be expected when staying in hostels. The rooms were cleaned every day. There is a small kitchenette in the rooms so you can keep your snacks around since the kitchen closes at night. I will definitely be staying here again in the future. Cairns is a beautiful city with lots of things going on to keep you entertained.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WanderNomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    189
    97
    20
    7
    6
See reviews for
18
35
140
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
ireland
Level Contributor
122 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012

Great place to stay in Cairns, central location - everywhere is walkable to.

Also nice rooms, generously sazied sturdy bunks, not squeaky or small. Ensuite bathroom for the dorm. Breakfast and tea and coffee included. Very clean, quiet, safe.

Happy staff, very helpful. Also has small tour agency in the lobby to sort out all the day trips you'd need. And there's a pool. And a pool table. And the biggest fan I have ever seen.

Nice layout too, giant open common area under a big circus tent roof to keep the rain off, but no walls, so there is a constant sense of being in the open.

Bonuses - pancakes on a Saturday, barbeque on a Sunday (vegetarians catered for), movie on a big screen on Sunday night (when I was there they showed The Way with Martin Sheen), and there are certain freebie trips to places like The Cascades during the week.

Room Tip: Not so much room choice, but here's some tips. Firstly, there aren't many common access bat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank murnauontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2012

We had a double room which was very clean, spacious and included a kitchenette, ensuite bathroom and balcony. It was far and away the nicest hostel we have stayed at in Australia. Great location- was very easy to walk to the esplanade, catch a bus/shuttle or rent a car right around the corner. There were affordable places to eat nearby, including a cheap japanese/sushi restaurant right next door. Free basic breakfast and the ability to store and cook food really adds to the value. Wifi is included but didn't work inside the room, had to sit on the balcony. They also have a free BBQ one night, and tours on other days. We didn't get the chance to join in any of those but it's nice that they offer it. Common areas are light and bright and open. Would highly recommend The Northern Greenhouse to young-ish people on a budget.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kimberlykyoung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyon, France
Level Contributor
105 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012

Such a nice place to stay, I don't know where to start !
The dorms are nice a big with ensuite bathroom, lockers, fridge and Balcony . It's like individual flats ! The cleaning is done religiously every day, so the dorms and bathrooms are always clean.pretty comfortable beds.
the facilities are great too : swimming pool, big kitchen and communal area with lots of seats to chill out.
Free WiFi . pool table . Included Breackfast (toasts, tea and coffee).

the hostel also organise free shuttle on Mondays to the Rainforest to go for a swim in the waterfall and on Tuesdays to the Botanic Garden.
11am free pancakes on Saturdays and Free BBQ on Sundays afternoon (from 5pm) .
They have movie nights as well.

They have a tour desk with an ultra helpfull staff team ! the girls booked everything for us : from day tour to the reef and hiring a car, to next hostel and Skydiving.
The location of the hostel is good too; 10minutes walk from the Esplanade (free swim with view on the ocean)and the Marina where you can catch boats to the Great Barier Reef .

(The only think I did not like that much was some of the people who stayed there. They were 19 or 20, had been staying in the hostel for weeks without sightseeing or anything, just getting drunk everynight and making noise. But these kind of people are everywhere in Australia .Most of the people staying at the Northern Greenhouse are easygoing people very considerate and chillout. IT ISN'T A PARTY HOSTEL)

so What can you ask for more ?? It's worth every penny. I can not recommend it more. I really liked it

PS : Just watch out for the hot water for tea and coffee ...I burnt 2 of my fingers pretty badlywith it. But it's just me being clumbsy

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank karendurst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

Lived in Cairns for nearly 5 months working as a backpacker travel agent, so i know most of the hostels in town, and have had reviews from nearly all of them from customers or being there myself!!

I've personally stayed at 3 in town but this Hostel EXCEEDS all expectations. The rooms are all the same 6 bed dorms, but gives you clean spacious accommodation, all ensuite with a little kitchenette and fridge provided in the rooms. The Hostel itself has a big communal kitchen, dining area and lounge which has comfy seating and shows DVDS, the pool is nice and big for a quick cool down and they provided trips and BBQ's throughout out the week!! Don't forget the FREE functioning WIFI...BONUS!!

I have nothing bad to say about this hostel!! And only 30 seconds from city centre but in quiet peaceful surroundings!!

BOOK all your TRAVEL needs down at WICKED TRAVEL, mention the lucky word 27 for great discounts and deals on day trips in Cairns and East Coast packages :o)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank dog_27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan L, Public Relations Manager at The Northern Greenhouse, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Hi Dog_27,

Thanks for the review. I was thrilled to read that you enjoyed your stay so much. Did you know we have our own travel desk inside the hostel too?
Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed here for 4 nights in a 6 bed dorm and couldn't fault it, it was very clean and relaxed and the reception staff were so helpful and friendly. The free wifi was great too!
We'd recommend the Billy Tea Safari to Cape Tribulation!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2012

I am staying at the Northern Greenhouse for ten nights with my daughters. We absolutely love it! We have a very spacious family room that includes a kitchen with all the amenities (even a freeze compartment and microwave) and a very nice bathroom. The room is clean and has excellent beds. The girls especially love the swimming pool that is open until 10 pm and deep enough to practice diving (less appropriate for small children though).

The hostel is very quiet even though it is located in the center of Cairns, within short walking distance of the lagoon, loads of shops and restaurants, the bus terminal and train station and the marina, which makes taking tours and trips easy. Lots of free activities are organised, including trips to Ellis Beach (including snacks), a very interesting guided trip to Crystal Cascades and the Botanical Gardens. Every Saturday morning there are pancakes for breakfast and every Sunday evening a free barbecue! The hostel has a large deck next to the kitchen where a movie is shown twice a week and where you can eat, play pool or hang out and enjoy the free wifi. The organised trips are a nice way to get to know other hostel guests.

The hostel generally has a very nice and relaxed atmosphere which is mainly thanks to its main asset: the excellent and very friendly staff! Both the receptionists and the travel agent go to all lengths to make your stay as enjoyable as possible and really make you feel welcome.

In all, we can say that the Northern Greenhouse is like a home away from home. If we ever come back to Cairns, we will not stay anywhere else!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pauline K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan L, Public Relations Manager at The Northern Greenhouse, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Hi Pauline,

Thanks for taking the time to leave a review.
I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.5 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
0.4 mi away
Hilton Cairns
Hilton Cairns
#6 of 65 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,089 reviews
1.2 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 65 in Cairns
4.5 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Pullman Cairns International
0.3 mi away
Dreamtime Travellers Rest
0.2 mi away
Gilligans Backpackers Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Northern Greenhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Northern Greenhouse

Property: The Northern Greenhouse
Address: 117 Grafton St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia (Formerly Shooting Star Apartments)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 89 Specialty Lodging in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Northern Greenhouse 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Northern Greenhouse is centrally located in the middle of Cairns with tour pick up points, night life and attractions less than a five minute walk from the hostel. Every room includes a an ensuite bathroom and shower, air conditioning, private balcony or garden, powered lockers and kitchenette. Guests also receive Free Daily Breakfast, Free Unlimited Internet 24/7 as well as experiences such as a Free trip to a hidden rainforest swimming hole, sailing classes, trip to nearby Ellis Beach, the Botanical Gardens and more.If you are still looking for ideas of tours and day trips, see the experts at our in house Fully Licensed Travel Agency for the best deals on travel and experiences around Australia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Northern Greenhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Northern Greenhouse Hotel Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing