We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“place of thieves” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cairns Sunland Leisure Park

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cairns Sunland Leisure Park
Ranked #58 of 89 Specialty Lodging in Cairns
Yeppoon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“place of thieves”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2014

had my $6000 mountain bike stolen and speaking to others it is a common practice,no security and poor lighting make it a haven for lowlife thieving scum,went to the area yesterday on my bike to scout around for my bike and was sitting in the park opposite and a lady came over and asked if id seen a backpack at all, stolen out of her van that night with passports etc , another backpacker had his car stolen,wouldnt recommend it,there are plenty of places in Cairns to stay,avoid that area for sure

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank shortyforty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunland49, General Manager at Cairns Sunland Leisure Park, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
We are very sorry that your bike was stolen, but we definitely do have security in our park. We have a locked boom gate, a high fence and security cameras throughout the park.
As for lighting, all avenues are well lit. So much so, that, guests often mention that it is too light. Generally, the only time things get stolen, is because they are not locked up.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    41
    19
    13
    33
See reviews for
49
34
13
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cooktown, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2014

Just rang them to ask about prices - the unfriendliest service i have ever had - the woman almost hung up just because i asked about cabin and villa prices!! how do they expect to get anyone stay there after this kind of service - no wonder they have bad reviews here too!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank kat55555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunland49, General Manager at Cairns Sunland Leisure Park, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
If a guest has bad experience at our park, we are more than happy to see what we can do to compensate them.
I know that you are unhappy about your telephone experience, and I’m sorry about that, but unless you actually stay at our park and use our facilities, it’s a bit unfair to comment about us.
Sometimes issues arise that are beyond our control, but most guests enjoy staying with us and I’m sure you would too. Sorry for any inconvenience caused.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cairns hotels

Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2014

I must admit I was hesitant to stay here because of the poor reviews on Trip advisor but for only $38 a night (5 night minimum) I could not resist giving it a go. i could not have been more happy with my stay. I didnt have a car but the park is only a 5 minute bus ride into town and the bus stops right out front of the park. There are a couple of supermarkets within easy walking distance too. I stayed in a non ensuite cabin which was fantastic, looks like it has recently been renovated. Clean sheets and towels provided. kitchen and fridge so i didnt have to eat out much and air con and fan plus tv with foxtel. The best thing about the park was how quiet it was. If you stay towards the back of the park you can't hear a sound except for the rain. I would highly recommend this place. I did not use the pool but it looks great for kids.

Room Tip: Stay back away from the main road if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank diva d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2013

If you are on a budget and need last minute accom it will suit, it's nothing but budget accomodation with rock hard beds. We visited family staying at coconuts big 4 and where shocked that we paid the same amount as they did to stay at sunland when the big 4 coconuts was the most amazing place I have seen in cairns!,

Paid for 2 nights but only stayed for one as the beds were so hard you couldn't sleep

Room Tip: Stay at coconuts!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bree5670
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maroochydore, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013

You really do get what you pay for here. Whilst everything worked, these guys need to look at the quality expectation of so called 4 STAR accommodation by today’s standard. I would rate this site 3 STAR at best. A Family Deluxe Villa it was not. Lack of space, basic fittings, noisy A/C, badly fitted curtains and an uncomfortable bed were not what we expected. It is a basic cabin at the end of the day on a 200+ caravan park site!

Having said that, it served our purpose, we left early and returned late, as sleeping accommodation was our only requirement on a seven night stay. The locals did not disturb us, neither did the exit barrier gate, even though we were the closest too it.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pops67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

First of all, you should change the name of your park to Scumland. Second, no body wants to cook with maggots all over the BBQ. Third, please stop the aboriginal children from coming in and feeling up the handless mermaid (she doesn't have hands to defend herself). Forth, I you over charge someone by accident please don't try and blame them when it is clearly your fault. Fifth, give people a friendly reminder to look their car doors or they will be ransacked every single night and they will be robbed blind. Finally, $6.50 for a red bull is a different kind of robbery. Overall, we payed $140 to stay 4 nights, $6.50 for the red bull and over $1000 in stolen property. So $1146.50, not the budget accommodation we were looking for.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank ex_scumland_resident
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunland49, Manager at Cairns Sunland Leisure Park, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Unfortunately the guest was overcharged by mistake - which she was refunded in full.
Mistakes happen.
We do our upmost to keep the outside influences out of the property!!!
The BBQ's are cleaned daily - maggots???????
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level Contributor
82 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

We stayed in a 2-bedroom 1-bath villa and the stay was alright. Rooms are small, but it had everything we needed - beds, linen, kitchen, fridge, utensils, and microwave. Bathroom and washbasin+shower were separate. There were public toilets, bath, and laundry facilities which were well maintained. We had a room close to road and there definitely was a lot of noise from walkers. We later found out that it is a near a small shopping center which is a good thing because of the availability of many things from liquor, food and groceries to medicine. It would be nice to have a villa on the inner side to avoid the noise. Part of the park seems to be in bad condition. We never went near the pool area. Since the area is protected with gates, safety was not an issue and the different types of people who stayed there (RVs, campers, and villas) nicely interacted with each other. Even though the sofa can be used as a sofa-bed, it is a poor quality one and bad for the back. It is within 3 km from city center and close to all the Cairns activities. Since it is a park-like setting, look out for frogs, squirrels, insects, and ants. You can have a decent stay as long as you understand that this is not a regular hotel stay. There is no room service and you will need to wash and reuse the towels yourself until the end of stay.

Room Tip: If you hate noise, try to stay from the roadside villas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sub580
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cairns
1.2 mi away
Cairns Holiday Park
Cairns Holiday Park
#14 of 89 in Cairns
4.5 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
5.3 mi away
Lake Placid Tourist Park
Lake Placid Tourist Park
#21 of 89 in Cairns
4.5 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
3.8 mi away
White Rock Leisure Park
White Rock Leisure Park
#72 of 89 in Cairns
3.0 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
BIG4 Cairns Crystal Cascades Holiday Park
2.3 mi away
Cool Waters Holiday Park
Cool Waters Holiday Park
#18 of 89 in Cairns
4.5 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
1.5 mi away
Bohemia Resort
Bohemia Resort
#77 of 89 in Cairns
3.0 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cairns Sunland Leisure Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cairns Sunland Leisure Park

Property: Cairns Sunland Leisure Park
Address: 49-61 Little Pease Street, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 89 Specialty Lodging in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Cairns Sunland Leisure Park 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunland is a 4 star Leisure Park offering affordable accommodation options, designed to cater to all types of budgets. We offer powered Van sites & camping areas with a Camp kitchen. All guests have full access to the BBQs & TV room, with Austar at no extra cost. The park has an Amenities block with coin operated laundry. Also kid’s playground and Resort style pool with a Pirate ship water slide (Great for the kids!!!). Large Shady Tropical park being only 4Km from the city and 5km to airport. Bus to city passes entrance regularly. 24 hour high speed wireless internet and for those without computers we have 2 internet cafes. And with 24 hour check in coming to stay has never been easier. We also offer Van and luggage storage for your convenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Cairns Sunland Leisure Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing