We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cairns holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Koala Court Holiday Apartments
Ranked #25 of 84 Specialty Lodging in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle upon Tyne England
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Cairns holiday”
Reviewed November 23, 2012

These apartments were really nice, clean and spacious with free wi fi. The management were very friendly and helpful about booking trips and hiring a car. They are about 15-20 mins walk from centre of Cairns.

Definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Book a room on the 1st floor as you will have a balconey to out on at night overlooking the pool are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jean-Harry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    38
    10
    0
    0
See reviews for
52
25
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2012

This is an acceptable place to stay. It won't knock your socks off, but it's okay value for what you are paying.

Apartments (my family and I rented two) are bright and well furnished, but everything is quite dated already.

The main drawbacks for me where:
- One of the aparments smelled a bit musty
- The air condition is pretty old, doesn't look very hygenic and is VERY loud
- It's far from the CBD, and the area you have to walk through to get there doesn't look very pleasant at night.

Bottom line: Cairns has better places to stay (even at that price bracket), so see if you can get closer to town (we couldn't as everything was already booked out).

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank melb734
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina,SK
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

I was expecting hotel rooms... not apartments 7 of us stayed in 2 apartments while visiting Cairns.

Very impressed with the accommodations clean, bright and spacious and very well priced.
Ruth and Andy were superb hosts advising us on what tours to take and where to eat and what to see. We had actually had one tour of the rain forests already booked when we arrived and due to a windy day on the reef Andy was able to call the tour operator and change our dates for us so we could then go to the reef on a more desirable day.

Not to mention Andy himself drove 4 of us to the marina for our reef tour at 7AM in the morning without hesitation or us even asking!... Would stay there again in a heartbeat and most definitely recommend without even seeing any other accommodations in the area, there is no need to.

The place and rooms have all the amenities anyone could want from in room laundry to fully equipped kitchen and large living room and separate bedrooms. A great treat to stay in an apartment style facility compared to a hotel room. One of you rooms was ground floor so even had our own private backyard and the other a balcony.
Definitely makes you feel at home when away.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DMuz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2012

Highly recommend staying here. Ruth and Andy are awesomely hospitable and friendly. The accommodation is spacious and clean... and all within walking distance of the city. I will be coming back here if/when i visit Cairns next

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank khamond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Spent 8 days at Koala Court Apartments, run by a friendly couple of ex pat Kiwis from Christchurch. Ruth and Andy are only to happy to advise on places to see, and where to go for a good meal. Had the misfortune to leave a SD card behind in the room safe, but was quickly returned to me in NZ- what service!
Thanks Ruth and Andy, more than happy with our stay with you, and would recommend to any Kiwis travelling to Cairns, to experience the same hospitality.
Peter and Margaret -NZ

Room Tip: We had a 1st floor room, but wasnt a hassle as only a short flight of stairs. Andy was only to happy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank petenapier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2012

Service was excellent and I highly recommend Koala Courts for this reason. They will help with whatever you need from grocery stores to tour bookings (for no extra charge!).

The apartment was clean and had everything. The bed wasn't the greatest, but not really a big deal. It was a bit loud at night, but we were on the main floor towards the front so that could have been why. Hot water in the shower generally didn't last more than about five minutes, but it didn't go icy cold either. It was totally secure and we were never worried about leaving our stuff.

Overall, definitely a great stay and would go back in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Argella4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mt Hagen, Papua New Guinea
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here with visiting relatives, and found Koala court to be good value for money. The apartments are clean, spacious and the staff very helpful. While not right in the city centre, still close enough to walk. Thanks.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank kruegs_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.3 mi away
Cairns Queenslander Hotel and Apartments
0.4 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 64 in Cairns
591 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tradewinds McLeod Holiday Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Grosvenor in Cairns
Grosvenor in Cairns
#30 of 84 in Cairns
138 reviews
0.4 mi away
201 Lake Street
201 Lake Street
#32 of 84 in Cairns
147 reviews
0.6 mi away
North Cove Waterfront Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Koala Court Holiday Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Koala Court Holiday Apartments

Property: Koala Court Holiday Apartments
Address: 147 - 155 McLeod St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 84 Specialty Lodging in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Koala Court Holiday Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Agoda, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Koala Court Holiday Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing