We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Holiday Apartments”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Koala Court Holiday Apartments
Ranked #26 of 84 Specialty Lodging in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Holiday Apartments”
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Spent 8 days at Koala Court Apartments, run by a friendly couple of ex pat Kiwis from Christchurch. Ruth and Andy are only to happy to advise on places to see, and where to go for a good meal. Had the misfortune to leave a SD card behind in the room safe, but was quickly returned to me in NZ- what service!
Thanks Ruth and Andy, more than happy with our stay with you, and would recommend to any Kiwis travelling to Cairns, to experience the same hospitality.
Peter and Margaret -NZ

Room Tip: We had a 1st floor room, but wasnt a hassle as only a short flight of stairs. Andy was only to happy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank petenapier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    38
    10
    0
    0
See reviews for
51
23
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2012

Service was excellent and I highly recommend Koala Courts for this reason. They will help with whatever you need from grocery stores to tour bookings (for no extra charge!).

The apartment was clean and had everything. The bed wasn't the greatest, but not really a big deal. It was a bit loud at night, but we were on the main floor towards the front so that could have been why. Hot water in the shower generally didn't last more than about five minutes, but it didn't go icy cold either. It was totally secure and we were never worried about leaving our stuff.

Overall, definitely a great stay and would go back in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Argella4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mt Hagen, Papua New Guinea
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here with visiting relatives, and found Koala court to be good value for money. The apartments are clean, spacious and the staff very helpful. While not right in the city centre, still close enough to walk. Thanks.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank kruegs_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2012

After three delightful days at Koala Court, this review will probably sound too good to be true but after my extended family's and my visit we can only rave about our time at this accommodation. We had two rooms, a standard and a family room, both of which were impeccably clean, bright, airy and spacious. The washing machines in the units were particularly appreciated after several days' travel. We were an easy walk to restaurants and especially enjoyed several pints and enormous meals at the Cock and Bull. However, the best feature of this place is the hospitality extended by the owners, Andy and Ruth, who took care of our every need. Whether it was to change a booking made months ago with a company or to book a reef tour, this couple made us feel that nothing was a problem nor inconvenience. My aunts, uncles and I would wholeheartedly recommend this accommodation without hesitation. Our time here was a highlight.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank YXEinWAW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2012

we stayed for a week in Cairns, and after the great previous reviews we felt that we would have a great time in the Koala court and reserved a one bedroom apartment...

We were picked up a the airport by the manager, and had an early checkin, which was really appreciated. The owners are very kind. These points make it that it gets an average and not below, but the rest...

The apartment itself unfortunately is not what we expected after reading the website, describing it as 'luxury' etc. There are many things: cleanliness is average (huge yellow stains on doors from thousand fingers which touched them,and they were obviously never wiped. The shower was not clean, nor the door. I tried to clean it, but after seeing the mob I knew why it wasn't that clean. The washing machine did not even the normal job a toploader does (making things smell clean), things were about as clean when we put it in as afterwards. Floors very clean though. Room service once in the whole week on the fifth day (why no in the middle of our stay?), consisted of change of towels and bed, and change of rubbish bins, but no cleaning. A basic clean like vacuum the floors would have been appreciated.

Kitchen was ok, though dated, and oven and the cupboards long past a good clean. The kitchen has very basic cutlery, but very average too, e.g. the knifes are certainly the cheapest you can find in town and it is really hard to cut anything with it. We had to ask for a salad bowl, as there was nothing to be used for this.

King bed was made with two singles, which left a very hard middle piece. Only one bedside table, no room for a second, which left us reading with our camping lights at night, which feels a bit odd in a luxury accommodation. Wardrobe was a difficult to open, as it jammed. Additional covers were not washed and were not inviting to use.

But worst was the noise - we asked for a quiet room, and we were at the back of the building, but there is so much traffic from 7am to 9pm or so, and such paper walls, that it didn't help.

Beeing in the outskirt of Cairns, you have to walk about 20 minutes to town, and the owner do not recommend to walk this at night. You certainly find better for this price in Cairns.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tigurus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
230 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2012

Clean, fully equipped, quiet, nice owners, good location...can´t complain at all. We had a great time there

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DiegoUG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germantown, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2012

We stayed in a two bedroom, on the second floor. Andy and Ruth really are great! Very helpful with tours and suggestions on where to eat.
Kitchen and apartment were clean. The swimming pool is very well maintained.

My only minor negatives. The shower head needs the hard water cleaned off, this would have improved the "spray". The second item was the shower doors were past due of a good cleaning.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dragonlover3099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.3 mi away
Cairns Queenslander Hotel and Apartments
0.4 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 64 in Cairns
584 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tradewinds McLeod Holiday Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Grosvenor in Cairns
Grosvenor in Cairns
#31 of 84 in Cairns
137 reviews
0.6 mi away
North Cove Waterfront Suites
0.4 mi away
201 Lake Street
201 Lake Street
#30 of 84 in Cairns
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Koala Court Holiday Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Koala Court Holiday Apartments

Property: Koala Court Holiday Apartments
Address: 147 - 155 McLeod St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 84 Specialty Lodging in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Koala Court Holiday Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Koala Court Holiday Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing