We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved our stay at Granadilla Villa”
Review of Granadilla Villa

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cairns
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Granadilla Villa
Ranked #52 of 83 Specialty Lodging in Cairns
Reviewed September 14, 2011

My husband I wanted to stay some where peaceful and private after working hard all year and we found it at Granadilla Villa. The house is every thing you could ask for and there was every thing you need. The view From the house is magnificent, I loved the large pool and spa and the large spa bath. One of my favourite places was the massage chair in the lounge room as we did not know there was going to be one there. We did have a bit of rain the first two days but the weather was beautiful for the remaining days of our stay. We hired a car so we could get around and we went to visit some very lovely places in the week we were there. Ivan is very helpful and is only a phone call away if you need him. We would recommend Granadilla Villa to everyone. It would be perfect for big families or even two family as the house has plenty of room.
Thank you again Ivan for making all this possible. Graham and Kay

Room Tip: I think a car is a must if you want to travel around to see everything that Cairns has to offer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Kay_11_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (25)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

9 - 15 of 25 reviews

Reviewed August 2, 2011

The house was perfect for my family needs. It provided the perfect place to rest after a long day and enjoy the views. Plenty of rooms for the kids to play and keep them entertained, we will be back and recommended this to our friends.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bahanh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2011

We travelled to Cairns with an excited 2 year old who thought the plane trip was "magic!" When we arrived at Granadilla Villa it was pure magic again. The house and grounds are unbelievably impressive and we all found the accommodation fabulous and our 2 year old grandaughter just loved the freedom that this accommodation gave.
The house and grounds were clean and tidy and the icing on the cake was the perfect pool and spa overlooking the Cairns skyline. We had peace, tranquility and sunny blue skies for the whole of our week's stay and we just wished we could have stayed longer!!
Ivan was the perfect host and was most helpful with booking a trip out to the reef which was just perfect for our son and daughter in law's 1st reef experience.
Cairns has so much to offer especially for young children and we seemed to spend most of our time down at the amazing Esplanade lagoon pools or at "Muddys" park with water features just for kids - there is a really good cafe there too and wonderful cappuccinos!!!!!!
We had fantastic trips to Cairns Tropical Zoo, Kuranda with butterfies and koalas, Paronella Park and Tjapukai Aboriginal Culture Village as well as some of the surrounding beaches (we loved Palm Beach!)
All in all an amazing trip topped by our wonderful accommodation at Granadilla Villa. We will most certainly be back in the not too distant future. Thanks very much Ivan.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katek_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2011

Thanks for the lovely stay at Granadilla Villa. It was exactly what we wanted. Peace, tranquility and relaxation away from the bustle of the city but still very close. Thanks to the host Ivan who also booked our bus hire and arranged our tours for us. We highly recommend the Great Barrier Reef tour on the Reef Magic and the ATV Tour with Down and Dirty Bikes. The tours that Ivan booked for us were awesome and definitely memorable. Thanks heaps for the lovely stay at Granadilla Villa and thanks Ivan for arranging our tours. It was fantastic. We will definitely be becoming back.
Donald, Black & Harrison Families

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jakyrodon001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2011

We came to Cairns for a month and stayed in a few accommodations. This was the best place and the best value. It compares highly with anything you would expect in Europe and is truly a paradise home. The pool is large, sunny and private. The home is large and very relaxing. The owners are most accommodating. I suggested the place could do with a coffee machine - no sooner said than provided. The beds are comfortable. The indoor jacuzzi is clean and a real treat. The large lounge has a large television. It really has everything you are looking for. Any gripes? If I was really fussy the big TV needs a sound system attached to it. But if that is all you can find wrong with a property you are not going to be disappointed. A real bonus for us was the FREE WIFI. It is worth coming just for the views. A most relaxing holiday destination. (Don't want to go home really.) You do need a car, as it is a short drive to the local shops and to the town.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarkandDiEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2010

My husband, daughter and myself stayed at the villa for a week. The villa was fully equiped with everything we could need and the pool and spa just made it complete. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would come back again if we were back in the area. Ivan gave us plenty of leaflets and advice on what was available in the area which was much appreciated.

  • Stayed: September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tracy3010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2010

We were told by locals that the heat and humidity were unseasonably high for Cairns in September - so we felt blessed that we had our own bit of luxury on the hill to retreat to. Apart from a full day trip to Cape Tribulation/Daintree, we found we just wanted to get back to the comfort of Granadilla in early afternoon each day. Not only was it much cooler on the hillside, but the peaceful surrounds, the outside deck and the pool beckoned us back. Then there was the air conditioning, the two spas (one indoors, one outside adjoining the pool), and the spacious house to just unwind. It was even nice to feel the cool floor tiles under your feet after the morning's outing. We found we spent much of our time outside - pool, views, butterflies, birds, lovely tropical garden, no flies or midges, etc. But inside, the kitchen was well equipped - enormous two-door fridge/freezer, all appliances (including a fancy 4-slice toaster), expansive range of utensils, crockery, cutlery, etc. The loungeroom was relaxing in the evening - large wall-mounted TV (with satellite channels), comfortable new settees, and an electronically-operated easy chair. Each bedroom had a super view over the city (the main bedroom having another large TV), were sparkling and attractive, and with doors to the outside verandah. As the varied bird calls signalled another tropical morning, we felt no need to rush out and do something in the region; it was so comfortable at Granadilla that we almost had to force ourselves to venture out. But we knew we had to explore. Where to today - perhaps Palm Cove, or the Cairns Botanical Gardens, or up to Kuranda in the foothills?

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank WodongaRickLiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairns hotels
4.3 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
4.2 mi away
Hilton Cairns
Hilton Cairns
#6 of 63 in Cairns
2,333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Pullman Cairns International
3.7 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 63 in Cairns
621 reviews
4 mi away
Cairns Plaza Hotel
Cairns Plaza Hotel
#11 of 63 in Cairns
1,153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Granadilla Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Granadilla Villa

Address: 112 Mansfield Street Earlville, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 83 Specialty Lodging in Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing