We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very kind staff.”
Review of Bohemia Central

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bohemia Central
Ranked #67 of 84 Specialty Lodging in Cairns
Reviewed July 10, 2013

It was a great time.
Every Thursday, They have a BBQ party in BAR.
Furthermore, The price of beer is cheap. I remember that 2 for $5 during BBQ party.
Sometimes just little bit noisy, but That's all right. Building is old but clean.
Some fan of backpackers are so dirty. but This hostel is neat.

All of staff are Sooooo kind. Thanks very much :))))

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kkalkkal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bohemia_Central, Front Office Manager at Bohemia Central, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2013

Hi there~

Thank you very much. We had great time at bbq party.
i wish we meet again.

Enjoy your travel.

Cheers ^^

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (33)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

8 - 14 of 33 reviews

Reviewed February 15, 2013

This was a very nice place. The rooms were a tad cold however, and it was noisy at times. I was very grateful though. The owners were quite friendly and kind enough to let me stay when I was in a financial bind. They understood my situation and let me pay upon my leave when I had the cash. I appreciated it so much.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BeaStings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2012

If you think an authentic backpacker experience is to stay in a dodgy old hostel with questionable hygiene, BCC is the place for you!

Redeeming features are free wifi, central location and friendly staff, but the rooms are unimpressive and noisy. Everything is worn out and nasty looking once you get past reception.

With some renovations, a paint job and some block out curtains it could lift its game. I would try other places before coming again. Did not get value for money.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank WanderingCara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2012

Hostel has been taken over recently and new owners are really turning what used to be a great hostel into a complete dump. Room was filthy on check in and despite requesting it to be cleaned we never seen a cleaner the whole time we were there. Customer service was even worse. It's a major shame cause this used to be one of the best hostels I had ever stayed in.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank donegaljo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2012

we stayed here for 2 wks perfect location,lovely bar,everything is a hand away,

Room Tip: they are all the same unless u want a private room go for it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SHARWEXFORD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2011

I spent one week in 2008 in this hostel and I really felt like at home.The location is really really great!!!

The room was really clean and staff helpfully and nice!!!

Absolutely recommend this place...

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lowy01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2011

The staff are friendly though lack hospitality experience from simple things like remembering a request for a room name change or fixing a toilet seat (the whole week we stayed one of the toilets in the womens was missing the seat). The hostel is not located in the best area and the rooms are really loud as you can hear everything next door. Guests have little respect for noise levels and staff do not follow their own rules with unruly (drunk) guests by asking them to leave. This was the second time we time have stayed here in the last three years and I am sad to see service and atmosphere has suffered and I will not be staying here again.

Room Tip: All rooms are noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pretty_mistake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.1 mi away
The Northern Greenhouse
The Northern Greenhouse
#13 of 84 in Cairns
339 reviews
0.5 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
0.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Pullman Reef Hotel Casino
1.2 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 63 in Cairns
634 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cairns Plaza Hotel
Cairns Plaza Hotel
#11 of 63 in Cairns
1,178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bohemia Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bohemia Central

Address: 100 Sheridan St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 84 Specialty Lodging in Cairns
Price Range: $38 - $56 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Bohemia Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing