We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Excellent all round” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Reef Palms

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Reef Palms
Ranked #7 of 68 Hotels in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent all round”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

I you want five stars, pay up. If you want a really nice place run by good people, go here. Cannot be faulted. Even provide things like DVDs and movies at no cost. When I gave the manager fifty dollars too much by mistake when paying she pointed it out and gave it back.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Edward B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon H, Owner at Reef Palms, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
David and I enjoyed having you both stay with us and thank you for writing. The weather here is still great and as I write, I am sitting in short sleeve shirt in the middle of our winter - you just have to love Cairns! We are pleased you liked the little extras we provide free of charge. We decided after staying in many places in the past that charged for every single thing like DVD's and players that we would provide them free of charge for our guests. Take care and hope to see you again if you visit this area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

476 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    242
    175
    37
    10
    12
See reviews for
105
235
34
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, Delhi, India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

I visited cairns in June 2014 with my friends and rented out the family room self-contained apartment type room. The place was really nice but facilities and cleanliness but the lady at the front desk was moody and not-cooperative, she was not the one whom we met before finalizing the place. The lady on night shift (whom we met) is really nice and friendly but we never saw her again. The room was nice but the whole night we could hear the water gushing sound and was very disturbing.
The facilities: the BBQ area is really good and well maintained and the man on duty there was really helpful and friendly. He even came to check if we needed something. Good man he is.
The internet was super slowww.... and the complaint as usual was not heard by the lady.
It is a good place to stay if we could avoid a few things :) :)

Room Tip: Only take room no 217 if you enjoy water gushing sounds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank freakytraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon H, Owner at Reef Palms, responded to this review, July 12, 2014
Thank you for writing and staying with us. I am sorry you felt our front office staff were moody, I will talk to the girls on reception to address your concerns. Our internet is provided free of charge for guests and at times can be slowed by the number of guests using it at the same time. Previously, we used to charge a fee for internet access and found the system worked well then as guests only used it when necessary. Now that it is a free service, we find that we receive negative feedback for providing it so we really can't win whichever way we go. Regardless, I really hope you enjoyed your time in Cairns and that you enjoyed all that this part of Australia has to offer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

The place is lovely, definitely value for money. The BBQ facilities were excellent. The first lady we met when we decided to stay there was so lovely but we had never got to talk to her again. Another lady that we got to talk to for the whole time we stayed there (5 days), did make our day when she was so lovely for about one minute, the rest of the time, we all felt that we were not good enough for the service.

Internet was really slow (and we were told that it was customers’ faults) and at night you could hear the pressure from the water pipes from the room next door really loud.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vanh M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon H, Owner at Reef Palms, responded to this review, July 12, 2014
Thank you for writing, David and I thank you for staying with us for your holiday. Our internet can be a bit slow when many guests are using it at the same time. We do re-set it at night because when many guests are skyping or downloading movies it tends to overload the system. We hope to see you again in the future. It is still warm enough for us to wear shorts and teeshirts even though it is winter. Take care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
57 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

We spent two nights here having gone to Cairns for the reef experience. Sharon and David are great hosts and the rest of their staff is friendly as well. The room was very well appointed. The kitchenette is compact and well designed. My daughter loved soaking it up in the tub!
We didn't get to the pool, but the guest laundry was very useful. Sharon also made our reef tour bookings for us at some very handsome discounts. It is no surprise at all that this property is ranked so high in the trip advisor rankings.
Don't expect any frilly hotel trappings but do expect bang for your buck!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ArmchairTraveller05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon H, Owner at Reef Palms, responded to this review, July 12, 2014
Thank you so much for writing and my apologies for taking a little while to reply. David and are very happy you enjoyed your stay with us, hope to see you again and next time, you get to use the pool!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

The room was extremely clean and was equipped with everything you could need. The service by David and Sharon (the owners) as well as the employees were excellent, they tried to do anything possible to make our stay better. They provided umbrellas, tour advice and discounts, drop off services and helped exchange my airplane tickets twice. Had a nice pool also that was always empty of people.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brandon N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon H, Owner at Reef Palms, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
I'm very glad you are safely home and hope that your husband is feeling much better. It was my pleasure to help you re-organize flights, I'm just sorry your holiday was marred with a hospital stay! You were all such lovely people and I hope you can return to Cairns and stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

We had a clean large room with two queen size beds and well maintained kitchen that was more like a small apartment. The room was spotless and the staff at the front desk could not be more obliging. This hotel is about a kilometre away from the main restaurants on the Esplanade and we found it a very pleasant walk home after a delicious meal. The swimming pool is a good size and was very well maintained.The Reef Palms offers exceptional value in a modern setting.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Xanthosia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon H, Owner at Reef Palms, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Thank you, your review was much appreciated. We recently hosted a number of athletes for the Triathalon here in Cairns and boy, did they have a wet long weekend. I always admire their grit and determination and we applaud they efforts. Some were rewarded with PB times and others were just happy to finish in the wet conditions. For whatever reason our guests visit Cairns, we are always thrilled when they select to stay with us. Hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
88 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014 via mobile

Came here to stay one night after week long camping trip up north and found it quite nice. The best part was the gigantic bathtub that was greatly appreciated after camping out. Nice kitchenetty and the front desk got us a cab for an early flight out. Everything was nice.If I had to complain about anything was the lady that checked us in was not in a chippy mood like the man there, but still very good place and clean.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank czechpr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon H, Owner at Reef Palms, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Hi and thank you for writing. I understand how nice a bath is after a couple of weeks camping!
Your stay with us was short however we appreciate you writing, perhaps if in the region again you will stay with us again and have a longer soak in that tub!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.8 mi away
Tropical Heritage Cairns
1.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
0.9 mi away
Cairns Plaza Hotel
Cairns Plaza Hotel
#8 of 68 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 stars 837 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside
4.3 mi away
Cairns Coconut Holiday Resort
1.4 mi away
Pacific Hotel Cairns
Pacific Hotel Cairns
#5 of 68 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 stars 255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Reef Palms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Reef Palms

Property: Reef Palms
Address: 41-47 Digger St | corner McKenzie Street, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cairns
#6 Best Value Hotel in Cairns
#7 Family Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Reef Palms 3.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Reef Palms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Reef Palms Cairns
Reef Palms Hotel Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing