We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Owners Sharon and David set this place apart from others!”
Review of Reef Palms

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Reef Palms
Ranked #3 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Owners Sharon and David set this place apart from others!”
Reviewed February 3, 2013

We recently stayed 4 nights in an spa suite on the top level with a balcony, room was well appointed with cooktop & microwave for cooking needs, Bed was very comfy and the aircon was a definate plus as temps sky rocketed during our stay! Location was good,only a 5 min drive to the cbd, Restaurants are close by and within walking distance. Sharon & David where probably the friendliest and nicest Hotel owners we have met!! So easy to talk to and always offering advice on places to eat,tours and value for money. In such a cut throat market where the customer is spoiled for choice for accomodation in Cairns the Reef Palms stands out as great value for money and service that is VERY rare these days! Well done Sharon & David!! . people could learn alot from you as you definatly set your place apart from others!!

Room Tip: The only slight and i mean slight let down was the planes flying over head but you get that no matte...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MetalMad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon H, Owner at Reef Palms, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Thank guys, it was great to be able to help you make the most of your stay and we really appreciate your review. Our philosophy is that we want to make sure our guests get value for money. We won't recommend expensive tours when you can hire a car and drive places, we'd rather you spend your money on a great reef trip - after all, you cannot drive on water to see the coral! We are stilll finding fantastic local eating places, just this week one couple brought back a fantastic local Thai menu for us - we love it when our guests help us increase our local knowledge as this benefits everyone who stays with us. Take care and come back and see us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

568 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    296
    202
    47
    11
    12
See reviews for
137
267
44
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Proserpine
1 review
Reviewed January 27, 2013

My wife Carmen and I recently stayed at the Reef Palms for a couple of nights and were very happy with every aspect of the motel. When I am looking for somewhere to stay I always read the reviews as that usually tells you about the place. We were not disappointed, Nice people and handy to everything. Have no hesitation in recommending David & Sharon's motel to anyone.
Paul & Carmen Flanagan.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon H, Owner at Reef Palms, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Thank you Paul and Carmen, it's always good to know that we are satifying our local guests needs as well as our international clientale. We like everyone to feel Reef Palms is a home away from home and you are not just guests but new friends to be welcomed back each time you stay with us. P.S. how is the weather in Proserpine?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oberlin, Ohio
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Great apartment for three. Comfortable double bed and well-equipped kitchen. Our college-age daughter had a single bed in a separate area near the apt door. She enjoyed the semi-privacy. Groceries 10-min walk away; we ate dinners in. Need bus to center city or 30-min walk along ocean walkway. Pick-up right out front for any day trips you have planned. Free shuttle to (but not from) airport. Very helpful and knowledgeable staff. Best place we stayed during our 4-city tour of Australia.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon H, Owner at Reef Palms, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
It was great to have the three of you stay with us and thank you for your kind words. January has been a very busy month at Reef Palms with many international guests coming to escape the their cold climates. Because it is hot, we have increased our shuttle drops to the city centre and our new 2.30 and 4.30 service to the city is very popular. I imagine the weather back in your home is considerably colder than here! Thank you again, everyone's reviews, good or not so good only help us improve our service. Take care and have a great 2013
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed January 26, 2013

I stayed here with my family for 11 nights and we enjoyed it SO MUCH,

The rooms were clean, beds were comfortable, The swimming pool was awesome to cool off after a long day of shopping especially when your with women ;).

IGA plus several fast-food joints within a 10 minute walk which was very convenient for us. Reef Palms also provides a free shuttle bus operating at various times of the day which we used quite often as we didn't hire a car, next time we come up we will defiantly hire a car.

Sharon & Dave literally went out of there way to make sure our stay was comfortable. Not to mention Belinda and Jane too, They suggested great tours / landmarks, gave us directions, were great help, Drove us to the hospital late at night and were very friendly.

They all are awesome people and we would like to thank them again for their hospitality, we would defiantly stay at Reef Palms again.

Thank you guys very much.

Room Tip: It's more convenient to hire a car to get to places such as Port Douglas, Palm Cove etc
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bradbrad12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon H, Owner at Reef Palms, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
You smiling faces every day made our job of making your stay with us easy. You were a wonderful family and we enjoyed hearing about your day's activities. Your positive approach to life and your children are a credit to you, they were polite and well mannered. We would love to have you come back and stay again, hopefully your husband could come next time and you could hire a car which would open up more opportunities for you to see more of the region. You are very kind in your praise of Reef Palms and we thank you very much. It is always a thrill for us when our new friends, which is what we believe our guests are, would love to come back and stay again. Take care and hope to see you all again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Battleford, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2013

We spent 5 days in Cairns and the Reef Palms couldn't have been a better choice. Clean rooms,handy location,great value,but the services provided by both Sharon and Dave where fantastic. Sharon provided great insight if you were looking to book tours. Her recommendations where right on. In addition,you get to meet Mike the bus driver,you may not meet another like him,hilarious. Thanks Dave for shuttle service and friendly help. Will stay here again,Janet and Rob.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon H, Owner at Reef Palms, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
Isn't Mike great - he is one of my favourite tour operators here in Cairns, I can always rely on him to pick up guests at the last minute to get them to Kuranda and the stories he tells....well, that is another story. These are the memories that stay with you and make your trip special. It was great to have you stay with us, we like to get to know our guests and hear how their day has been. I really enjoy knowing that I have helped make your trip special that you liked the tours I organized for you. Our guests come a long way at great expense to see Australia and I like to make sure we give you the best experience both at the Motel and on your trips that I can. Take care and we'd love to have you come back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed January 24, 2013

we stayed here for the last week of our travels around oz,the whole experience of the stay was great. the apt was clean & comfortable with everything we needed included. Dave & Sharon were great host & always on hand for anything we needed , including booking our trips ,thanks to you both hope to see you again one day .

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dave tina h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon H, Owner at Reef Palms, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
We loved having you stay with us, it is such a long way to come from the UK so we were happy that we could get you on some great trips. We'd love to see you again if you travel this far again. Australia is such a large country it is hard to see everything in one trip. David and I love the UK, we used to travel there when we had a pottery business in another life! Take care and have a wonderful 2013
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2013

We have just returned from travelling around Oz staying in several different hotels, the Reef Palms certainly being one of the best. The room was very tidy and clean with all the facilities we required. However it was the owners who made the stay so memorable. Sharron and Dave went out of their way to make our stay a pleasant one, from upgrading our room when we had a very minor issue to recommending and booking trips, shuttling us to town and the airport when we needed and even letting us back into the room when we had checked out and were waiting for a late flight. Thanks for great stay and we have no hesitation in recommending the Reef Palms to anyone. All the best Bob & Heather

Room Tip: Twin rooms certainly much better than the Queen Rooms and worth any price difference
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon H, Owner at Reef Palms, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
We enjoyed having you stay with us and it gave me great pleasure to arrange tours that you obviously enjoyed. We have experienced our first heavy rain in a long time so the rainforests are soaking up a much needed drink. The weather is still very hot, a bit different I imagine to the UK at present. We hope that you both have great memories of your trip to Australia and in particular, Cairns and hope that you can come back sometime in the future. January is maintenance month for us, so a new room safe for that apartment is definitely on the agenda!
Take care and have a wonderful 2013
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.9 mi away
Cairns Plaza Hotel
Cairns Plaza Hotel
#10 of 64 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,073 reviews
4.3 mi away
Cairns Coconut Holiday Resort
1.6 mi away
Pullman Reef Hotel Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
0.8 mi away
Tropical Heritage Cairns
1.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Reef Palms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Reef Palms

Property: Reef Palms
Address: 41-47 Digger St | corner McKenzie Street, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cairns
#6 Best Value Hotel in Cairns
#7 Family Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Reef Palms 3.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Reef Palms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Reef Palms Cairns
Reef Palms Hotel Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing