We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AWESOME STAY AT REEF PALMS!”
Review of Reef Palms

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Reef Palms
Ranked #3 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“AWESOME STAY AT REEF PALMS!”
Reviewed January 26, 2013

I stayed here with my family for 11 nights and we enjoyed it SO MUCH,

The rooms were clean, beds were comfortable, The swimming pool was awesome to cool off after a long day of shopping especially when your with women ;).

IGA plus several fast-food joints within a 10 minute walk which was very convenient for us. Reef Palms also provides a free shuttle bus operating at various times of the day which we used quite often as we didn't hire a car, next time we come up we will defiantly hire a car.

Sharon & Dave literally went out of there way to make sure our stay was comfortable. Not to mention Belinda and Jane too, They suggested great tours / landmarks, gave us directions, were great help, Drove us to the hospital late at night and were very friendly.

They all are awesome people and we would like to thank them again for their hospitality, we would defiantly stay at Reef Palms again.

Thank you guys very much.

Room Tip: It's more convenient to hire a car to get to places such as Port Douglas, Palm Cove etc
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bradbrad12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon H, Owner at Reef Palms, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
You smiling faces every day made our job of making your stay with us easy. You were a wonderful family and we enjoyed hearing about your day's activities. Your positive approach to life and your children are a credit to you, they were polite and well mannered. We would love to have you come back and stay again, hopefully your husband could come next time and you could hire a car which would open up more opportunities for you to see more of the region. You are very kind in your praise of Reef Palms and we thank you very much. It is always a thrill for us when our new friends, which is what we believe our guests are, would love to come back and stay again. Take care and hope to see you all again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

592 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    309
    209
    50
    11
    13
See reviews for
141
281
46
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Battleford, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2013

We spent 5 days in Cairns and the Reef Palms couldn't have been a better choice. Clean rooms,handy location,great value,but the services provided by both Sharon and Dave where fantastic. Sharon provided great insight if you were looking to book tours. Her recommendations where right on. In addition,you get to meet Mike the bus driver,you may not meet another like him,hilarious. Thanks Dave for shuttle service and friendly help. Will stay here again,Janet and Rob.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon H, Owner at Reef Palms, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
Isn't Mike great - he is one of my favourite tour operators here in Cairns, I can always rely on him to pick up guests at the last minute to get them to Kuranda and the stories he tells....well, that is another story. These are the memories that stay with you and make your trip special. It was great to have you stay with us, we like to get to know our guests and hear how their day has been. I really enjoy knowing that I have helped make your trip special that you liked the tours I organized for you. Our guests come a long way at great expense to see Australia and I like to make sure we give you the best experience both at the Motel and on your trips that I can. Take care and we'd love to have you come back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed January 24, 2013

we stayed here for the last week of our travels around oz,the whole experience of the stay was great. the apt was clean & comfortable with everything we needed included. Dave & Sharon were great host & always on hand for anything we needed , including booking our trips ,thanks to you both hope to see you again one day .

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dave tina h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon H, Owner at Reef Palms, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
We loved having you stay with us, it is such a long way to come from the UK so we were happy that we could get you on some great trips. We'd love to see you again if you travel this far again. Australia is such a large country it is hard to see everything in one trip. David and I love the UK, we used to travel there when we had a pottery business in another life! Take care and have a wonderful 2013
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2013

We have just returned from travelling around Oz staying in several different hotels, the Reef Palms certainly being one of the best. The room was very tidy and clean with all the facilities we required. However it was the owners who made the stay so memorable. Sharron and Dave went out of their way to make our stay a pleasant one, from upgrading our room when we had a very minor issue to recommending and booking trips, shuttling us to town and the airport when we needed and even letting us back into the room when we had checked out and were waiting for a late flight. Thanks for great stay and we have no hesitation in recommending the Reef Palms to anyone. All the best Bob & Heather

Room Tip: Twin rooms certainly much better than the Queen Rooms and worth any price difference
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon H, Owner at Reef Palms, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
We enjoyed having you stay with us and it gave me great pleasure to arrange tours that you obviously enjoyed. We have experienced our first heavy rain in a long time so the rainforests are soaking up a much needed drink. The weather is still very hot, a bit different I imagine to the UK at present. We hope that you both have great memories of your trip to Australia and in particular, Cairns and hope that you can come back sometime in the future. January is maintenance month for us, so a new room safe for that apartment is definitely on the agenda!
Take care and have a wonderful 2013
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Morang, Australia
1 review
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Thank you so much for such lovely stay. The owners, Sharon and David, went out of their way to make sure we had everything we needed. We appreciated how friendly all the staff was during our stay. Our room was comfortable and clean. The saltwater pool offered a relaxing spa-like experience and we enjoyed the access to the BBQ Alfresco area where we also enjoyed friendly chats with some of the other guests. There is a continental breakfast available in the gathering room just off the entry and main desk. The Reef Palms is a short walk to the Esplanade and a nice 25-minute walk by the waterfront to the centre of Cairns. (if you need an umbrella during the rainy season, they have them there for guests to use) There is also a nice shuttle service to the centre as well as to the airport. We were fairly close to a grocery and a bakery which was also nice. Sharon will also help you book your tour excursion. We really liked it there and will recommend the Reef Palms to friends. Great value for the price. Thank you so much for making us feel so welcome! When back in Cairns, we'll see you again! Wonderful hospitality!

Room Tip: Call ahead and talk to Sharon...she will help you!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 819Mary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon H, Owner at Reef Palms, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
And we really enjoyed having you come to stay with us. David and I are off on a three day break ourselves tomorrow to Mission Beach, the one thing Motel owners don't get much of is sleep, so we are going to sleep in while the lovely Jane and Belinda look after all our guests and we'll be back on Sunday ready to book heaps of tours and welcome all our guests who come to stay with us. After a week of high wind and rain, the sun is shining again and the weather on the Reef is fantastic! We'd love to have you come and stay again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed January 5, 2013

The rooms were clean and comfortable, the kitchenette had everything we could need. The pool was lovely after a long day sightseeing! Sharron and David bent over backwards to make our stay pleasant, from booking tours and providing shuttle service to anticipating needs such as oil for the barbeque (by the pool) or beach towel loans.
There is a grocery store nearby and central Cairns is a 20-30 minute walk away, although it's easier if you have a car.
I can't imagine getting better value for money anywhere else and will reccomend to my friends.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vanessa77Perth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon H, Owner at Reef Palms, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Thank you for your kind review. We really do enjoy providing little extras for our guests. We are happy when you are. We have had a little welcomed rain this week so everything has greened up again and the plants have had a good drink. I have not had the pleasure of vising Western Australia but would love to visit this region - maybe a trip to Broome so David can buy me a pearl or two! Take care, we'd love to have you stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013 via mobile

We only were able to stay for 2 nights and found the accommodation friendly clean and tidy. It was a short walk to the pub for tea and the local IGA for supplies. And it was a 30 minute walk to the centre of cairns - a nice stroll along the seafront. Sharon was helpful with booking tours and suggesting an itinery for our short stay. And we met Stella the dachie. We were able to use the shuttle bus for our return trip to the close by airport. Would recommend and will stay again when back staying in cairns.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Lindzg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon H, Owner at Reef Palms, responded to this review, January 5, 2013
It was lovely to have you stay with us, Stella our Daschund sits behind the counter and she is always looking for a pat. She has featured in many a holiday photo taken by our guests. Stella was actually our daughter's 21st birthday present but like many parents, we became the proud owners of her many years ago when our daughter went overseas. When we relate this story to our guests, they often can tell the same stories, it would seem that parents don't need to buy a pet themselves all their children provide them free of charge! We hope you come to see us again, you can then meet Minnie the cat but that is another story...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairns hotels
1.4 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
4.3 mi away
Cairns Coconut Holiday Resort
1.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Tropical Heritage Cairns
0.9 mi away
Cairns Plaza Hotel
Cairns Plaza Hotel
#11 of 64 in Cairns
1,104 reviews
1.6 mi away
Pullman Reef Hotel Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Reef Palms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Reef Palms

Property: Reef Palms
Address: 41-47 Digger St | corner McKenzie Street, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Cairns
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cairns
#7 Family Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Reef Palms 3.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Reef Palms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Reef Palms Cairns
Reef Palms Hotel Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing