We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worth the trip”
Review of Reef Palms

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Reef Palms
Ranked #3 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Phoenix AZ
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Worth the trip”
Reviewed November 28, 2012

Extremely Clean. Very comfortable. Only 2 blocks from the sea. Has 3 stories so stairs could be a problem. A bit far from town but staff were very helpful about contacting taxis and buses. Well worth the trip from town.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Armadilo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon H, Owner at Reef Palms, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Thank you for your review. Cairns, live everywhere is putting on it's Christmas face with our Christmas tree lighting on the Esplanade tonight. We meet so many different people who come to stay at Reef Palms but Christmas is a special time of year for many, like many of our guests, we are away from our family so have decided to host an "Aussie" BBQ lunch for our in house guests who will be with us over this time. For many guests arriving from Europe it will be a very different Christmas - instead of trying to stay warm they will need to try to say cool. If ever you are in Cairns again, we hope you will stay with us again. Merry Christmas and all the best for 2013
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

568 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    296
    202
    47
    11
    12
See reviews for
137
267
44
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Beuningen, Gelderland, Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviewed November 25, 2012

Staying a month in Australia, this was the best and most memorable housing.
Great service and very very friendly.
Service to the town and airport.
Nice and clean rooms, beatifull swimming pool.
Excellent advise to trips in the neighbourhood.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JWRMeijer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon H, Owner at Reef Palms, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
It was lovely having our Dutch guests with us recently. We were discussing the vast differences in distance, I was told you could drive north to south in the Netherlands in 2.5 hours - amazing when you consider that you would not even make it to Townsville from Cairns in less than 4 hours. It was lovely to have you stay in Cairns with us and hope you had a safe trip home again. We are gearing up for a hot Christmas with lots of swimming to keep cool, one day however, I'd love to experience a white christmas, we always hanker for the opposite of what we have! This will be our second christmas in Cairns in our Motel and we are looking forward to sharing the day with our many international guests arriving at this special time of year. We have met so many fantastic people from all over the world in the past twelve months who have stayed at Reef Palms. May the new year be filled with laughter and happiness for you and your family. Take care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna
1 review
Reviewed November 25, 2012

We stayed 4 days in this motel and did not regret our choice: Our appartment was equipped with a small kitchen, ac and a balcony, everything was clean.

We intended to do some boat trips to the Great Barrier Reef, and the hosts(family owned) helped us a lot choosing the perfect trips, arranging transfers and everything.

The only downside is the rather large distance to the center of Cairns. Without a car, transfer to the center is cumbersome(walking distance is appr. 20min).

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philipp W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon H, Owner at Reef Palms, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Thank you for staying with us recently, it is always a pleasure to have happy friendly guests such as you were come and visit. As the weather has heated up considerably, we are now operating our guest shuttle a few extra times a day to transfer guests to the city more regularly and we have started attaching the local bus timetable to our local maps as the bus is only a 2 minute walk away and buses go into the city centre every 10 minutes. I agree, in this weather it is too hot to be walking in the middle of the day. Have a lovely Christmas.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cowra
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2012

We have just arrived home after a three day visit at the Reef Palms, Cairns a member of the Budget Motel Chain in Cairns. We had a most enjoyable stay in a spacious unit. The unit was split into two sections - one a comfortable sleeping area with large screen tv,and very efficient daiken air con, the other section being a compact kitchen area. The unit was located near the road, however we did not hear any street noise and slept through all nights of our stay. The bathroom was fine with all ammentities provided.

Our stay included a complimentary continental breakfast served in their breakfast room - this was a nice set up and completed a wonderful visit.

Thank you Reef Palms and thank you also the Budget chain.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IanCowra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon H, Owner at Reef Palms, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Thank you, it was great to have the Arra members stay with us in Cairns and we thoroughly enjoyed being able to meet other Motel owners and swap information and ideas. We hope that we will have the pleasure of meeting everyone again next year in Melbourne.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carterton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2012

My wife and i stayed at the Reef Palms Motel for 7 days starting on the 3rd of november. This was the first leg of our honeymoon. I picked this accommodation after reading alot of good reviews on trip advisor and both my wife and i were not dissapointed, if anything the reviews did not do the Reef Palms, or Sharon and David justice. We arrived at 6 in the morning and were welcomed by David who informed us that our room would not be ready until a bit later, however he allowed us to drop off all our things, change and freshen up and gave us a much needed cup of tea. after a short walk we returned to book in, due to a massive error on my part sharon could find our reservation no where, i had booked the correct dates but not the correct month. ooopppps. Sharon was magnificent, turning what felt like a disaster into an honest mistake with no lasting effects. After a bit of work Sharon informed us that she could still accommodate us for the duration of our stay and even presented us with a bottle of sparkling wine and some chocolates to celebrate the start of our honeymoon. the room we were given was both spacious and clean, with a very comfy bed, large flat screen tv, en suite bathroom with both shower and bath and a fully servicable kitchen with 2 hobs, microwave, toaster,fidge freezer, that was already stocked with ice cubes, kettle with complimentary tea coffee and biscuits, we were also given a carton of fresh milk at reception which was a really nice touch. The motel boasts a lovely little pool with spa and seating area, they also supply towels at reception for no extra charge. next to that is a great BBQ area that all guests are welcome to use, we did as we dont get a chance to BBQ often in the UK. ajoined to the foyer is a beakfast area that offers both continental and hot breakfast at a very reasonable price. The foyer itself is packed with all the trips available from all the tour operators in and around Cairns. This is were Sharon and her staff really shine, simply tell sharon what kind of trip you would like to experiance and she will advise you on the best value for money, weather for your trip, most popular trips, and even attractions that you may not know about. this is the kind of local knowledge that you cannot get from a brochuer or the internet. Sharon will then book the trip for you and in some cases even transport you to the pick up points for free. The motel is based 20 mins walk away from the town centre, but the walk is all along the esplanade which is really beautiful. They also run a complimentary shuttle to and from town, and a bus service is available just round the corner.
As you can tell i am pretty impressed by this place and the friendly helpfull staff that run it, i would not hesitate to stay here again, and would like to take this opportunity to personally thank both Sharon and David for helping to make our trip to Cairns one we will never forget. Both Emma and i wish you both all the best in everything you do. Thanks

Room Tip: all room have A/C, some offer a spa bath and all are spacious and comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wolfgar24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon H, Owner at Reef Palms, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
What can I say, you were just a delightful couple and we enjoyed having you stay with us for your Honeymoon! I was just very pleased that we could move around some bookings and get you in! Just remember when you are back home Bar-ba-quing in the cold how great it was to be able to cook meat outside in the warmth of Cairns. We hope that you have fond memories of your time with us in Cairns and we wish you both every happiness for your future life together.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne
Level Contributor
64 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2012

Sharon and David went out of their way to ensure we had a fantastic time in Cairns and were able to see the 2012 solar eclipse, with Sharon telephoning over 20 different tour operators to secure us a place on a boat to see the Eclipse - which was amazing!
The spacious self catering rooms made a cost efficient base for our time in Cairns.
The hotel is a good 20 min walk into Cairns, but if done along the Esplanade it is a very pleasant walk, alternatively the motel offers free mini bus drop offs to Cairns centre 2-3 times per day.
It is not a 5 star hotel, but it is a nice, clean place with good sized rooms for the money with very helpful and friendly owners in Sharon and David.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ELRiley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon H, Owner at Reef Palms, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
I love a challenge and getting you on that Eclipse cruise at the last minute was the highlight of my day! I was so pleased that you got to see this event from a boat as the cloud cover on the Cairns Esplanade was patchy. You were a lovely couple and I hope the rest of your trip to Australia is terrific. Take care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
65 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2012 via mobile

The place is like a little apartment. I found it comfortable. The hotel is dated. It is closer to the airport side of town. The staff were very helpful and friendly. It is a bit far from downtown but close to the end of the Esplanade. If you like to walk it isn't so bad. Alternatively it is quiet and away from all the noise

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 4375sean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon H, Owner at Reef Palms, responded to this review, November 17, 2012
We are happy you enjoyed staying with us, having cooking facilities enables guests to self cater and have more money left for the trips they would like to take. Don't forget, guests can hop on our free guest shuttle to town or catch a local bus just around the corner rather than walk into the city of Cairns. The walk is very pretty in the morning or late afternoon but can be too hot during the middle of the day. We hope you can come again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.9 mi away
Cairns Plaza Hotel
Cairns Plaza Hotel
#10 of 64 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,072 reviews
4.3 mi away
Cairns Coconut Holiday Resort
1.6 mi away
Pullman Reef Hotel Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
0.8 mi away
Tropical Heritage Cairns
1.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Reef Palms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Reef Palms

Property: Reef Palms
Address: 41-47 Digger St | corner McKenzie Street, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cairns
#6 Best Value Hotel in Cairns
#7 Family Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Reef Palms 3.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Reef Palms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Reef Palms Cairns
Reef Palms Hotel Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing