We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Happy Times”
Review of Reef Palms

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Reef Palms
Ranked #3 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“Happy Times”
Reviewed August 12, 2012

We just returned to cold Melbourne after an 8 night stay at Reef Palms. We were very happy with both the accommodation and hospitality of the owners. Our towels were replaced daily as well as the rubbish being cleared away. Sharon was more than happy to book all our tours and they even dropped us off and picked us up from the marina when we booked our reef tour. Our unit was neat and tidy and we had everything we needed. We hired a car and there were always onsite car parks available to park in. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Reef Palms and would happily recommend it. Thank you :)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon H, Owner at Reef Palms, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
David and I are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. Although a little rainy today, we are still in shorts and teeshirts so I guess our winter is much better here than in Melbourne. We both hope that you will come again and enjoy the wonderful weather Tropical North Queensland offers guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

584 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    304
    208
    49
    11
    12
See reviews for
141
274
46
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide Australia
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2012

Although its a 30 minute walk into downtown Cairns, its really a pleasant experience walking along the Esplanade, looking at the sea. There are buses a block away to the city every 10 minutes, a 5 minute trip. The Motel is really well appointed with large comfy rooms with a kitchenette which is promisingly well equipped with saucepans etc, a microwave and two hotplates. The beds are a real treat and I haven't stayed anywhere so quiet! There are free movie channels and a swimming pool and outdoor BBQ for guest use, and plenty of parking if you hire a car. The rooms are serviced daily, no matter how long the stay is. Reception is really helpful and can book all the nearby attractions, plus if you book a Great Barrier Reef Cruise, they will give you a beach towel to take, and provide transport to the terminal and back again.

This is a great place for mature travelers who want a quiet place to chill out.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with 2 queen size beds if you have someone staying over.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lee K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon H, Owner at Reef Palms, responded to this review, August 9, 2012
It is always great when our guests have "chilled out" this is what a holiday is all about! Very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again in the future. Guests are seeing a huge amount of whales at present when going on Barrier Reef tours - an added bonus at this time of year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2012

Lovely clean unit with everything we needed. Only disappointment was that the website advertises free shuttle to airport and to shopping centre but these were only at certain times which were not very frequent and not flexible considering how little time it takes to travel to airport and town and if shuttle was full you missed out. Apart from that staff very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Buck66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon H, Owner at Reef Palms, responded to this review, August 6, 2012
Thank you for staying at Reef Palms. We are still experiencing very nice weather, we hope you had a safe trip back to New Zealand, we see today on the news, details of a volcanic eruption - New Zealand has certainly had it's share of terrible natural disasters over the last twelve months so hope you are OK. We will look at our shuttle times, we tend to do them hourly in the morning up to check out time to the airport as guests have then departed and then one late afternoon drop to the airport. Most guests are out and about during the day which is why we offer one mid morning and two early evening. Feedback like this is always appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2012

Joanne (not sure if I spelled her name correctly) who greeted us on the day we arrived and Dave (the owner) were very pleasant and courteous people. I read reviews about this hotel and everyone bragged about Sharon (the owner) being very welcoming but I think they mixed Sharon with Joanne. As all the nice description fit Joanne's pleasant and welcoming character but not Sharon. Sharon seemed to never smile and looked always unhappy, never heard her say hello when we passed by or inquire us about our trip yet, Joanne, never missed a moment to do just that with big smile on her face and tried to always help. Thank you Joanne, you made us feel very welcomed and at home. Hotel itself is old but clean. We got out towels changed daily but that seemed to be the only thing they did; our room was never vacummed or dishes were never washed. For the money, it is not bad. They do have laundry room for the guests that cost $3 AU for washer and the same for dryer. Use bottom dryers as top one doesn't dry as well. Overall, I would recommend this hotel but don't expect too much. I want to thank Dave, for his service in driving guests at certain times to Esplanade area at no cost. He always went an extra mile in anything he did, just very pleasant man. It is a little ways from Esplanade and if you go groceries shopping by foot, it is a little tiring.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joy32999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon H, Owner at Reef Palms, responded to this review, August 2, 2012
Thank you for your review, Jane will be very please to hear your comments, she is a special lady and our little ray of sunshine! I am sorry if I was not myself, combination of Knee replacement and a bout of influenza meant I was not at my best but this is no excuse for me not smiling!
Cairns is a wonderful place and I hope you enjoyed it. David, my husband is a gem and he loves chatting to guests as he ferrys everyone around, we hear some interesting stories this way.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gladstone, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2012

Based on the other reviews on TripAdvisor we were expecting a decent play to stay and we were highly disappointed. We booked a room for four people that was supposed to have 2 Queens and 1 single bed however we were given a room with 1 Queen and 2 single beds. There were ants all over the room and the smoke alarm went off in our room at 3 in the morning, though the staff did fix this problem promptly the next day.

The kitchen is very basic and no salt, pepper or other basic items are supplied. The cleaning service was very poor as the beds are not made up but rather only the trash is emptied and towels provided if others are on the floor. No cleaning service is provided on Sundays.

Though the hotel staff advertise free transport to the CBD, they would not allow us to take their shuttle to the ferry terminal since we did not book the tour through them. When asked about parking in town, we were given misinformation by a staff member who said that there was no parking available for over 3 hours as you had to feed a meter everywhere (this is incorrect). We did book a Rainforest excursion through the hotel, though this took over 30 minutes to do.

The location of the hotel is ok but certainly not ideal as it is around a 20 minute walk to the esplanade, shops and restaurants. Overall we were not impressed with this hotel and will not stay here again if we are back in the Cairns area.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kaeilers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon H, Owner at Reef Palms, responded to this review, August 3, 2012
I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us. The normal bedding configuration in Quad Studios is 1 x Queen and 2 x Single Beds, when accommodating 5 guests in these apartments we have two that have 2 x Queen Beds and 1 Single. We shall take your comments on board regarding facilties in kitchen though all the basics are provided to allow you to cater for basic meals. Reef Terminal drops are for guests who book their tours via our tour desk as shown on our board in reception. This is a free drop as a thank you to guests who book their tours via us, when guests book independently, I don't really think it is fair to expect us to drop you to the Reef Terminal at our expense. Again, we will take on board your concerns regarding servicing, we fill condiments, replace towels and remove rubbish Mon-Sat and change linen every 5th day of stay. We do this to keep room costs to guests as low as possible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2012

We spent 2 nights at the Reef Palms and wish we had booked here for all of our time in Cairns. The rooms were spacious,with modern furniture and very comfortable. They were clean and the kitchen was well equipped for self catering. Fantastic shower and plenty of hot water with shampoo, conditioner,shower gel and lotion all kept filled up. Staff were very helpful and the daughter of the owners even used her own vehicle to take us to the airport free of charge-above and beyond! The free shuttle into the city was an added bonus and the walk back along the esplanade at night used up some of those extra calories gained from Cairns great eateries.Well done Reef Palms. You will be top of our list for any return trip and thank you for making our stay so pleasant.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rose G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon H, Owner at Reef Palms, responded to this review, August 3, 2012
Thank you for staying with us, the weather here in Cairns is still wonderfully warm though a little chilly at night. David, Belinda and I are happy you enjoyed your visit with us and hope to see you again when next you come to Australia.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lae, Papua New Guinea
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2012

The owners are rude, arrogant and unhelpful. My overall experiences unpleasant and I would never stay there again. The owner watched me carry my large bag up a flight of stairs and did not offer to help. When I asked him to call a taxi the next day, when I checked out, the owners told me to use my own phone.
The rooms basic and nothing like the photo. My room had a horrible pokey balcony, which was dirty and had a terrible view.
Overall the rudest service I have ever experienced.

Room Tip: Find another place to stay!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank kristy c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon H, Owner at Reef Palms, responded to this review, August 2, 2012
I am very sorry you were disappointed with your stay with us. Unfortunately, we can only offer a free drop off service to the Reef Terminal to guests who book their Barrier Reef Tours via our Tour desk, I'm sure you would understand that this is a free service we offer and we can only drop off so many guests as our vehicle only seats maximum of 7 guests. With regard to room servicing, again I am sorry if your expectations were not met, we change linen every 5th day of stay however we do not make beds on a daily basis to keep the costs to guests as low as possible. Tea,Coffee and sugar with a starter carton of milk is supplied and condiments are again refilled each day, we offer little sachets of pepper and salt if required from the reception counter, they are not normally supplied in rooms though. We will certainly take on board your comments for future planning. I do hope that you enjoyed all the sights in Cairns.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairns hotels
1.4 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
4.3 mi away
Cairns Coconut Holiday Resort
1.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Tropical Heritage Cairns
0.9 mi away
Cairns Plaza Hotel
Cairns Plaza Hotel
#11 of 64 in Cairns
1,094 reviews
1.6 mi away
Pullman Reef Hotel Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Reef Palms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Reef Palms

Property: Reef Palms
Address: 41-47 Digger St | corner McKenzie Street, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Cairns
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cairns
#7 Family Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Reef Palms 3.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Reef Palms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Reef Palms Cairns
Reef Palms Hotel Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing