We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (680)
Filter reviews
680 results
Traveler rating
351
243
54
16
16
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
351
243
54
16
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmotel offersfree shuttle to the airportclose to the airportshuttle serviceminute walkcontinental breakfastflight patha ground floor roomroom was spotlesskitchen facilitiesquiet locationsmall kitchenspent nightsself cateringtown centreonly stayed one nightwonderful stay
Filter
Updating list...
565 - 570 of 680 reviews
Reviewed July 31, 2012

Based on the other reviews on TripAdvisor we were expecting a decent play to stay and we were highly disappointed. We booked a room for four people that was supposed to have 2 Queens and 1 single bed however we were given a room with 1 Queen and 2 single beds. There were ants all over the room and the smoke alarm went off in our room at 3 in the morning, though the staff did fix this problem promptly the next day.

The kitchen is very basic and no salt, pepper or other basic items are supplied. The cleaning service was very poor as the beds are not made up but rather only the trash is emptied and towels provided if others are on the floor. No cleaning service is provided on Sundays.

Though the hotel staff advertise free transport to the CBD, they would not allow us to take their shuttle to the ferry terminal since we did not book the tour through them. When asked about parking in town, we were given misinformation by a staff member who said that there was no parking available for over 3 hours as you had to feed a meter everywhere (this is incorrect). We did book a Rainforest excursion through the hotel, though this took over 30 minutes to do.

The location of the hotel is ok but certainly not ideal as it is around a 20 minute walk to the esplanade, shops and restaurants. Overall we were not impressed with this hotel and will not stay here again if we are back in the Cairns area.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kaeilers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon H, Owner at Reef Palms, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2012

I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us. The normal bedding configuration in Quad Studios is 1 x Queen and 2 x Single Beds, when accommodating 5 guests in these apartments we have two that have 2 x Queen Beds and 1 Single. We shall take your comments on board regarding facilties in kitchen though all the basics are provided to allow you to cater for basic meals. Reef Terminal drops are for guests who book their tours via our tour desk as shown on our board in reception. This is a free drop as a thank you to guests who book their tours via us, when guests book independently, I don't really think it is fair to expect us to drop you to the Reef Terminal at our expense. Again, we will take on board your concerns regarding servicing, we fill condiments, replace towels and remove rubbish Mon-Sat and change linen every 5th day of stay. We do this to keep room costs to guests as low as possible.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2012

We spent 2 nights at the Reef Palms and wish we had booked here for all of our time in Cairns. The rooms were spacious,with modern furniture and very comfortable. They were clean and the kitchen was well equipped for self catering. Fantastic shower and plenty of hot water with shampoo, conditioner,shower gel and lotion all kept filled up. Staff were very helpful and the daughter of the owners even used her own vehicle to take us to the airport free of charge-above and beyond! The free shuttle into the city was an added bonus and the walk back along the esplanade at night used up some of those extra calories gained from Cairns great eateries.Well done Reef Palms. You will be top of our list for any return trip and thank you for making our stay so pleasant.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rose G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon H, Owner at Reef Palms, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2012

Thank you for staying with us, the weather here in Cairns is still wonderfully warm though a little chilly at night. David, Belinda and I are happy you enjoyed your visit with us and hope to see you again when next you come to Australia.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2012

The owners are rude, arrogant and unhelpful. My overall experiences unpleasant and I would never stay there again. The owner watched me carry my large bag up a flight of stairs and did not offer to help. When I asked him to call a taxi the next day, when I checked out, the owners told me to use my own phone.
The rooms basic and nothing like the photo. My room had a horrible pokey balcony, which was dirty and had a terrible view.
Overall the rudest service I have ever experienced.

Room Tip: Find another place to stay!
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank kristy c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon H, Owner at Reef Palms, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2012

I am very sorry you were disappointed with your stay with us. Unfortunately, we can only offer a free drop off service to the Reef Terminal to guests who book their Barrier Reef Tours via our Tour desk, I'm sure you would understand that this is a free service we offer and we can only drop off so many guests as our vehicle only seats maximum of 7 guests. With regard to room servicing, again I am sorry if your expectations were not met, we change linen every 5th day of stay however we do not make beds on a daily basis to keep the costs to guests as low as possible. Tea,Coffee and sugar with a starter carton of milk is supplied and condiments are again refilled each day, we offer little sachets of pepper and salt if required from the reception counter, they are not normally supplied in rooms though. We will certainly take on board your comments for future planning. I do hope that you enjoyed all the sights in Cairns.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2012

Just spent a week in Cairns, pleasantly surprised by this nice motel. Very spacious self contained room, a courtesy bus that will take you to the the city and to your tours pick up points.

The owners & staff was very friendly. Will help with every need you have, makes holidaying very easy.

You can also book from a wide range of tours just at the motel desk, just great!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kerry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon H, Owner at Reef Palms, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2012

Thank you very much, we enjoyed having you stay with us. Weather in Cairns still wonderful, am sitting in Teeshirt and shorts and it is the middle of our winter - bit different to Adelaide I would think.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2012

We recently spent five nights at the Reef Palms, and were sure we made the best selection in Cairns from the moment we arrived! We were unaware (our own fault, I'm sure) that we would need a code for our Saturday night arrival. When we showed up without one, David immediately came down and welcomed us, retrieved keys and said we could leave the paperwork until morning. When we walked into the large, clean room we were again sold. The set-up was perfect for four family members with a queen and two singles, as well as a table and four chairs for dining. The kitchen was efficient and allowed us to self-cater and eat like kings using the barbecue by the lovely pool, as well as the fridge and stove top in the room. All items needed were provided. Every staff member we encountered was friendly, a tone surely set by David and Sharon as they made us feel cared for personally. We booked a reef tour ( delivered to the harbor and picked up in the motel van) and Tjapukai tickets through the front desk and settled up at the end of our stay. We appreciated knowledgeable guidance balanced with choices; we never felt that one company was being pushed, but rather that the aim was to match our preferences with the right experiences. Awesome! Thanks for a wonderful stay. We are happy to recommend Reef Palms to friends, including those in the TA community!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jkh_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 7, 2012

It was our pleasure to have you stay with us and we are glad you enjoyed your trips. It is important, when you are spending money for tours that our staff provide feedback to you on the best value tours with the inclusions you would like to see. We hope you can come back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews