We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (689)
Filter reviews
689 results
Traveler rating
352
247
55
16
19
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
352
247
55
16
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviews motel offers free shuttle to the airport close to the airport shuttle service minute walk continental breakfast flight path a ground floor room room was spotless kitchen facilities quiet location small kitchen spent nights self catering town centre wonderful stay port douglas
Filter
Updating list...
578 - 583 of 689 reviews
Reviewed June 24, 2012

We stayed here for five days in June of 2012. Like many of the other reviewers have said, David and Sharon are great and the motel is perfect as a base for getting out and about in Cairns. Our room was quiet, comfortable and clean. We booked our diving, white water rafting and train trip up to Kuranda with Sharon as our facilitator. Her advice was detailed and spot on in every case. It's great having a local on your side to guide you through the thicket of offers and deals. She really looked out for us and gave us sound advice. We'll be going back to Cairns again at the end of October for a bit more diving and there is no question about where we'll stay.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MPS_VP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 27, 2012

Thank you for your feedback, when you come back in October I will have to find a tour to top the White Water Rafting for you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2012

Great hosts. We arrived early and our rooms were prioritised to be cleaned. They were great rooms with air conditioning, ceiling fans and excellent cooking facilities (we were able to cook indian meals with ease).

The outdoor barbeque area was always clean and we often had breakfast outside. Although we didn't use the pool, this also looked clean.

Rooms were serviced daily and the hosts were always greeting us in the corridor and asking if our trip was going ok.

A courtesy bus also available to drop you off in various locations around cairns.

An excellent, low priced motel with all the facilities you have in your own home.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vandugoyal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 27, 2012

Thank you for reviewing your stay with us. Our pool area upgrade is due to start shortly with the roof of the gazebo being replaced and our outdoor furniture to be replaced. David and I hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2012

David and Sharon of Reef Palms were fantastic: personable, honest, and most helpful. When our car rental failed us, David saved us. We thoroughly enjoyed the barbecue. We took delight in the Cairns esplanade only a few blocks away.
The next time we need lodging in Cairns, this would easily be our first choice.
Paul Wardell USA

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cjw1995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 27, 2012

Paul, it was a pleasure to have you and your family stay with us, we were very sorry that the car company you booked with let you down and we were glad to be able to help. Sugarland Car Rentals are a company we highly recommend and we were pleased they were able to provide you with a car for your onward journey. Cairns relies heavily on our tourist trade and it is very important to us that guests leave happy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2012

We landed at the Reef Palms after having had a terrible experience in a bad apartment hotel on our first night in Cairns. We were taken in and completely taken care of.
From helping us with what to do and when to helping us claim a refund from the other place we were at -- we were made to feel like part of the family from the moment we got in.
The room we had was fantastic, spacious, well lit and ventilated. It was kept to a great standard throughout the time we stayed there and felt like a home away from home.
Please do not be alarmed by the "distance" of Reef Palms from central Cairns! It is - at most - 20 minutes by foot (a lovely walk on the promenade), and the lovely owners run shuttles to the quay and train station throughout the day, so you can go in and out in style (and with less effort).

We had the most fantastic experience thanks to the lovely folks at the Reef Palms and the relaxing rooms and environment.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shaniE_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon H, Owner at Reef Palms, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2012

Thank you for your kind comments. It was lovely to have you stay with us. Your comments reflect exactly what we try to achieve a Reef Palms, a home away from home.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2012

After researching affordable accommodation in Cairns we picked Reef Palms, we generally spend a bit more on hotels so were a bit unsure of what to expect. We were more than satisfied and ended up staying an extra 2 nights. The service was terrific, with both Sharon and David doing all they could to make sure our stay was an enjoyable one. The rooms was nice, both quite and clean. We would definitely recommend this hotel and look forward to visiting again soon.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathleen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews