We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (681)
Filter reviews
681 results
Traveler rating
351
244
54
16
16
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
351
244
54
16
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmotel offersfree shuttle to the airportclose to the airportshuttle serviceminute walkcontinental breakfastflight patha ground floor roomroom was spotlesskitchen facilitiesquiet locationsmall kitchenspent nightsself cateringtown centrewonderful stayport douglas
Filter
Updating list...
583 - 588 of 681 reviews
Reviewed March 31, 2012

We booked a week here from the UK on the basis of the excellent Trip Advisor reviews. It exceeded our expectations. The room was very comfortable and spacious, with functioning kitchenette. We were given the choice of 2 rooms on arrival. Most days there was a list of times when you could have a lift into central Cairns at reception. Advice on local trips/tours and places to visit was full and accurate. Booking trips/tours through them was easy, They made sure we had a door-to-door service from trip organisers and we just paid one bill at the end of the week. When we booked a Great Barrier Reef trip they drove us into Cairns and were waiting to bring us back on our return to Cairns.

The outstanding feature of the motel is the wonderful, caring attention given to guests by Sharon and David. If we had a problem or difficulty they would help. They helped us to sort out an itinerary and book all our flights, for the following weeks touring Australia. That attitude is of course shared by the staff who work with Sharon and David. If all businesses were run like this there would not be a recession.

There is a continental breakfast for $10, and wifi costs $16.75 for 10 hours [good if you stay for a week like us].

Room Tip: Make your requirements known when you book and trust Sharon and David to do what is necessary.
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cruisekid61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2012

This is a very nice place if you are staying in Cairns and don't want to be downtown. The hotel is a bit away from all the downtown attractions... maybe a 20 minute walk along the waterfront, but that means it is quiet. They do have a free shuttle to town several times per day. The owners were extremely helpful in arranging tours and scrambled at the last minute to rebook tours for 7 people after a landslide cancelled most of the tours we had already booked that day. In room WIFI is available for a reasonable price (reasonable for Australia). They have a nice little pool and outdoor barbeque area. The room I had had a kitchenette and real refrigerator. The 2 beds are far apart in the room so if one snores, the other can get some sleep. I would recommend Reef Palms hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ScubaDave16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2012

I can't say enough about our stay at The Reef Palms!! It was wonderful and our first taste of Australian hospitality!! Sharon and David are perfect hosts-they truly couldn't do enough for us!They booked our tours,drove us into the town ,helped sort out a problem with my new international phone and were gracious at all times!! The room was spotless,nice and roomy and for a great price!! My daughters enjoyed the pool after a long day of touring!! We walked home one night along The Esplanade-not a bad walk,felt very safe!! Cairns is a great resort area!! It was our first stop before heading to Brisbane and then Sydney. Although we enjoyed our stays at each hotel we always thought Sharon and David's hospitality was the best!! I would highly recommend this hotel and if ever I have the chance to be in Cairns you would find me here at The Reef Palms!!!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patti W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2012

Clean, comfortable, convenient accommodation that included breakfast. We enjoyed walking along the Esplanade to the city. Most outstanding was the friendly, helpful staff. The shuttle bus to the city when we needed it was most appreciated. Would stay again and recommend to others.

Room Tip: The suite next to the car port is convenient for after hours access.
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Heather B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2012

The owners of this hotel are delightful, and are happy to help book any kind of excursion (you can even call ahead to do this in advance). Rooms are clean, and there is complimentary transportation into the city. We stayed two nights, but would have gladly stayed longer!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katherine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews