We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay”
Review of Reef Palms

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Reef Palms
Ranked #3 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 21, 2012

Appartment we had was clean, spacious and great shower. Kitchen had everything you need, also a large bbq at pool side. Owners couldn't have been more helpful - recommendiing and booking tours, providing beach towels and a shuttle bus into the town centre. Would highly recommend this hotel and would definately stay again.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AM H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (609)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

527 - 533 of 609 reviews

Reviewed January 18, 2012

We planned to stay at Reef Palms Apartments for only 2 nights but ended up extending it to 6 - our entire time in Cairns. We were so happy our apartment - clean and spacious - and loved having our own kitchen to cook breakfast. The pool and barbecue area was a great space to spend our evening, and the television, fans and air conditioning ensured we had a very comfortable and pleasant stay. The staff are extremely friendly and helpful, and there was a scheduled bus that took us into the city centre that ran a few times every day. Still, it took about 15 minutes to walk to the city; the location is very convenient. The only, slight downside was the pricey breakfast, but since we had a kitchen we did a bit of grocery shopping one day and easily cooked out own breakfast every morning. We also had a cute gecko visit us in the middle of the night, but he kept his distance. Overall, we highly recommend this place for your accommodation in Cairns - we will definitely be going back!

Room Tip: We went for the self-contained apartments
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Valerie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2012

This place was awsome! The owners are very attentive to individual needs. They will book excursions for you...just tell them what you want! They are amazing people. The rooms are immaculate and well dressed. The pool is TOPS! Enjoyed out time there and would definately return.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sherri S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2012

This was by far our favourite lodgings out of 12 places we used during our 3-week Australia holiday!
Sharon and David are extremely friendly, arrange tours which includes unbiased advice, and gave us free transfers to the Reef Terminal.
The room is extremely clean, well furnished, and includes a handy, well-equipped kitchenette.
We really enjoyed the lovely pool and BBQ area too.
Thank you for a lovely stay!
Rosie and Sam, Brighton, UK

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rose12102109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2012

First time in Cairns and what a lovely experience. Sharon was very accommodating and nothing was too hard. Room was good but could of been abit bigger as 2 children (10 & 11) just would of been nice with a wee bit more space. Will see if there is a larger apartment as we are already heading back for this christmas. Also need more cooking (full Stove/oven) or an electric wok would of made things easier, Ask Sharon about tours or things that you may like to do and she is a wealth of knowledge. For a couple that have only just taken over the place in the last 3 months they are doing extremely well. Cant wait to return for our christmas break.

Room Tip: Rooms on the back of the resort are cooler but alot darker too. If you need a bigger room maybe a co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kings4306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2012

For the price, this was a great accommodation with wonderful owners and clean, spacious rooms.

Service: The real highlight of Reef Palms is Sharon & David - they were so accommodating (changing our room reservation last-minute to a 4-2 split of our group) and genuinely want to make sure you have a great experience. They provide a shuttle into the city center and do drop off/pick up for any tours you book through them. They can also book tours for excursions around Cairns and were very helpful in selecting and booking ours.

Rooms: The rooms themselves were great - very clean and well-kept. Rooms also have a refrigerator, which was great for us to be able to grab some food at the grocery store for breakfast and snacks

Location: Reef Palm is outside the city center, so it would have been at least 20 minutes (we suspect more) to walk into town. David did an evening shuttle run into the city that we caught for dinner, and the taxi ride back was about $10 from the esplanade.

Tours: In addition to running the hotel, they also book tours and did a mad dance to get us all on great scuba excursions with only 12 hours notice. Our group of 6 split up for different scuba boats and when one of the groups came back with some horror stories, Sharon followed up immediately and got part of the excursion refunded.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank keschie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights with 20 Dutch people at the start of our grouptour through Australia. Sharon and David were the best hosts we could ever get and as we did not have a tourleader here, they took this over and took care of our group. Small things make the difference, like taking one of us to the hospital, providing beachtowels for our trip (we didnt have to ask for it) on the reef and all other assistence needed like restaurant recommendations for our group. Breakfast was also good and the rooms are nice, clean and spacious.

After Cairns we have stayed in more motels, but it was never like Reef Palms. The only disadvantage is that it´s a 30 min. walk to the center of Cairns.

I can highly recommend this motel and I want to thank Sharon and David again for their warm hospitality !

Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
Thank Mirelle123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairns hotels
1.4 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
4.3 mi away
Ingenia Holidays Cairns Coconut
1.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Cairns Plaza Hotel
Cairns Plaza Hotel
#11 of 64 in Cairns
1,129 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hilton Cairns
Hilton Cairns
#6 of 64 in Cairns
2,282 reviews
0.8 mi away
Tropical Heritage Cairns
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Reef Palms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Reef Palms

Address: 41-47 Digger St | corner McKenzie Street, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Cairns
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cairns
#7 Family Hotel in Cairns
Price Range: $82 - $128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Reef Palms 3.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Reef Palms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Reef Palms Cairns
Reef Palms Hotel Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing