We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only 1 night”
Review of Reef Palms

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Reef Palms
Ranked #3 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 28, 2011

We only stayed one night here as we were spending the rest of our time in Trinity Beach. We chose to stay in Cairns for the night as our flight wasn't due to arrive until after 10pm. I emailed Reef Palms earlier in the week to inform them that we would be arriving late. They emailed me back to say that reception closed at 7pm & gave me instructions on how to get into the safe by the door.

We arrived very late (due to a late flight & needing to eat as we weren't fed on the plane) & found our key & instructions in the safe. The carpark was full so we parked on the street (had a rental car). Our room was upstairs - don't know if they had a lift as we entered through a side entrance. But we only had 1 bag each so wasn't a problem.

The room was clean & tidy with a double/queen bed & 2 singles. It had a kitchenette & sperate bathroom. It had air conditioning & a fan.
We had no problems sleeping - we found the bed very comfortable.
As we were checking out at 10am we didn't see the rest of the hotel, but the receptionist was very friendly.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nzsunlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (601)
There are newer reviews for Reef Palms
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

534 - 540 of 601 reviews

Reviewed June 15, 2011

We stayed at this hotel for two nights over a weekend. We arrived late on Saturday night, armed with our instructions on where to find the key. Not a problem, the key was where they said we would find it and we could let ourselves into our unit. The unit was one L shaped room with an adequate kitchen (if you intended to cook, which we didn't) a small lounge area and the queens sized bed. The bathroom had a corner bath which we had to climb into for the shower, which would have been a problem for those with a lesser degree of mobility, but wasn't a problem for us. The room was lovely and quiet and good for a short stay like ours. We didn't spend much time there so didn't make use of the facilities at the hotel such as the pool.
The breakfast was included in the price and described as a light breakfast. However we had a choice of a cooked breakfast or continental which was a nice surprise. The cooked breakfast was not large in portion size, but quite adequate and tasted good.
It was the price that attracted us to this hotel, and we were happy with the end result.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank mumofsix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2010

We recently stayed at the Reef Palms for five nights. The atmosphere was very calm and relaxed, and all the staff we encountered were incredibly friendly and helpful.
The hotel itself is a short walk (20-30minutes) from the center of Cairns, along possibly the lovliest waterfront in Australia.
The rooms were clean and comfortable, and contained everything we needed for our self-catered stay.
The pool and BBQ area was delightful, and well maintained. Very relaxing part of the complex.
The high point of our stay was definately the staff. Every staff member we encountered was friendly and helpful, and really made us feel at home. We recieved lots of great local information, that helped make our stay really remarkable.
No down points to report. We had a problem with our airconditioning unit,which was dealt with within about ten minutes of reporting the issue.
Overall, a really great experience. Enjoyed our stay immensley

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Coastie79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2010

Very Clean spacious and quiet appartments in a quiet location .
Staff are extremely friendly and helpful . Very keen and patient for you to get the most out of your stay as regard to Trips and excursions
All in all a great base for a great stay in a great Place.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarcusFWellington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2010

We arrived on a very late flight and the management made efficient arrangements for our key pickup.
The staff were friendly and efficient. The room was clean and very well laid out.
We had a nice outdoor balcony sheltered by palms. The pool and seperate sheltered barbecque area were really nice.
Its location is close to the boardway walk by the sea. The walk into Cairns is flat and pleasant but takes at least 20 minutes. The airport is about 10 minutes drive away. For those without a car the motel had excellent booking facilities for trips etc with pickup and drop off.
We would certainly return there. We considered it very good value.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mench1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2010

A family owned nice, quiet and confortable motel for families in the north of Cairns. The rooms are clean and confortable with a kitchenette. The staff and owners are very friendly and helpful. Wireless internet is fast but you have to pay for it.
Located 2km from the Cairns center, you can reach the bars, shop and restaurants with a 30 minutes walk on the esplanade or a very short taxi ride.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eclisse99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2010

Price and location are decent for Cairns but is it worth it? Dishes were dirty on arrival. Carpet was old, worn and dirty and was not vacuumed during our stay. Though management offered some help, ants were an ongoing problem. Housekeeping was poor at keeping bathroom supplies stocked.
Carla the manager (or owner?) backed out on a verbal financial agreement on a booked tour costing us an unexpected extra $66.
The bed was comfortable and the room was quiet.
Overall, I wish I had spent more and stayed in a nicer place.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tramper_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 27, 2012

As the new owners of Reef Palms, it was with regret that we read your review. Your stay at Reef Palms was less than satisfactory. Since taking over in September 2011, we have upgraded Reef Palms considerably and hope that, if you are in Cairns sometime in the future, you would consider staying with us and perhaps providing feedback to us on our newely refurbished rooms.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairns hotels
1.4 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
4.3 mi away
Ingenia Holidays Cairns Coconut
1.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Tropical Heritage Cairns
0.9 mi away
Cairns Plaza Hotel
Cairns Plaza Hotel
#11 of 64 in Cairns
1,118 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hilton Cairns
Hilton Cairns
#6 of 64 in Cairns
2,260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Reef Palms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Reef Palms

Address: 41-47 Digger St | corner McKenzie Street, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Cairns
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cairns
#7 Family Hotel in Cairns
Price Range: $89 - $137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Reef Palms 3.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Reef Palms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Reef Palms Cairns
Reef Palms Hotel Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing