We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice little hostel near esplanade”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Lazy Duck Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lazy Duck Hostel
Ranked #70 of 85 Specialty Lodging in Cairns
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice little hostel near esplanade”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

Woodduck Cairns is a nice little hostel with a pool, hangmates and free wireless, also free meal deals and free breakfast! Its a nice community if you stay for a few days, cause its little hostel and you get to knew your neighbours quick. Good place to be. We came back 3 times and were happy to see still the same people again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tasha R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    16
    8
    13
    25
See reviews for
Families
0
4
41
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Heerhugowaard, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2012

You can't expect much for the price you pay in the hostal. I made a visit to the Woodduck when they just change to from Rosie's in 2009. My experiance is very plesant. Very nice people and you've got free meals. Clean enough for me as a backpacker. If you want more you can always go to a Hotel.
Had a great time in my last week in Australia in that Hostel!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2012

I had one of my best times here in this hostel whilst I was traveling through Australia. It's a great place to meet people when you're on your own as it has such a great atmosphere, the guests and staff are all very friendly. I ended up in Cairns a lot longer than I intended to,mainly because I felt at home here. Price is amazing, I know people are saying the food you get is small portions, but hey guys, it's free and you can upgrade for a couple of dollars to a very big meal. Free wifi, free basic breakfast and free dinner, I thought that was an amazing deal, especially for their cheap rates. I would recommend it to everyone who likes to be social and meet new friends along the way.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank julia a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2012

I dont know where to start... at the first day the receptionist was very nice, but that should change later... I had an 8 day voucher for this hostel. first night: horrible beds, showers cold, all night very loud, everything broken, kitchen is a nightmare, only 1 stove for the whole hostel, and cutleries for maybe 4 persons... the only good thing that I found about this hostel was the free internet and the outside sitting area. 2nd day: I was asking the receptionist if its normal that the showers are cold. She said in a very rude way that at the beginning of the day the showers are warm, later on after several uses its getting cold, so take ur shower morning. so i took another shower in the morning, still cold. well... coming back from shower i found my computer broken!!! and needed to buy a new one (f...ers, ok thats not the fault of the hostel directly, but this just shows that noone in this hostel really cares about the stuff of others...) luckily i found another way to stay the rest 7 nights at a nice place for free, now here we go: i wanted to check out after the 8 nights, so that i was still able to use the free internet time by time. i came at that morning to my room, wanted to get the sheets, but someone else was sleeping in my bed. so i went to the receptionist, wanted to give her the keys and she was asking for the sheets. i said i cant give her the sheets, someone else is sleeping in my bed. suddenly she jelled at me, i should not attack her and so on. wth?? i simply said i cant give her the sheets, someone i dont know is sleeping there. but she didnt let me end telling her, she simply was agressive all the time. then she went to the room, i wanted to tell her which bed was mine, but she simply said 'SHUT UP', she went waking up that girl in my bed, no clue what she was telling her. anyways, after that i was saying to her, she should not shout at me and saying shut up alltho i didnt do anything wrong. then she got even more aggressive, shouting i should shut up, she doesnt want to have her day being bad cause of me, and so on and so on. what the hell is wrong with that girl? is that what the people here understand about friendly staff?? i have never seen something like this before... seriously this hostel was the worst i have ever seen, and i went to several already, cheeper and much nicer ones.

Room Tip: Just don't take this hostel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nina23983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cairns hotels

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2012

Cramped rooms with broken doors and squeaky bunks, no lockers, free dinner that was offered was one pizza slice which we had to wait until 10pm to get! Breakfast was no better.There was really nowhere to sit. The staff were helpful though and location is ok.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katbird66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens
Level Contributor
88 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2012

The hostel is cheap and it is offering more than the standard australian package. It has free internet and free meal but still I wouldn't recommend it to somebody. The meal is very small, perhaps good for people who do not eat much for dinner but it should not be concidered to be a normal food-ration. More something like an appetizer. The rooms are very packed, 10 beds with one bathroom, and I do not know when they are being cleaned, but certainly not daily. The work is being done by wfa'rs so it's quickly done and just at the surface. The location is good, the guests are mainly very young people. The reception is very well informed, friendly and helpfull,the kitchen very well equiped, serving breakfast too !! Thinking about my rating, I would say: perhaps I am just too old for something like this. I suppose somebody who wants less sleep would find the place pretty awsome.

Room Tip: Get into a dorm, with as few beds as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marcus W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp
Level Contributor
43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2012

Very nice people, free evening meal and breakfast, but also bedbugs infestation, and they dont seem to be able to get rid of them. Many of the rooms lack aircon, ask for one with it!!

Helpful?
1 Thank subtiele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.0 mi away
Koala Beach Resort
Koala Beach Resort
#62 of 64 in Cairns
3.0 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
0.0 mi away
Reef Backpackers
Reef Backpackers
#10 of 13 in Cairns
3.0 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
0.2 mi away
Jazz Cairns Backpackers
Jazz Cairns Backpackers
#49 of 85 in Cairns
3.5 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Cairns Girls Hostel
Cairns Girls Hostel
#55 of 85 in Cairns
3.5 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
0.2 mi away
Flying Monkey Backpackers
0.3 mi away
No photo provided
Caravella Central
#63 of 85 in Cairns
3.5 of 5 bubbles 8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lazy Duck Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lazy Duck Hostel

Property: Lazy Duck Hostel
Address: 136 Grafton St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia (Formerly Woodduck Backpackers)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 85 Specialty Lodging in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Lazy Duck Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lazy Duck Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing