We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Comfortable, Excellent Value, Great Staff shame about the location” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Royal Palm Villas

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Royal Palm Villas
Ranked #50 of 68 Hotels in Cairns
Melbourne
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Comfortable, Excellent Value, Great Staff shame about the location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2010

If you are looking for a cheap and cheerful room with a pool, this is the place. The rooms are a bit tired, but generally clean. The pool is great and the staff are very friendly. The bus is good that takes you to the city, but can get busy on the mid morning bus. ALso there is no 4pm bus which is odd. For the price it is great. I would advise staying in the complex after dark but the complex itself is fine.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rellik666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    11
    5
    4
    2
See reviews for
7
18
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
australia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2009

we went to cairns for two weeks recently. i looked on wotif, then rang them directly. they gave us the same price as wotif, and we got this lovely little aprtment. sure the kitchen is small, but the top floor unit we got (16) was open plan, and the balcony had views to the mountains.
for 90$ a night - this was very good value, central to cairns - a 15 min walk to cairns central, and quiet.
the hosts are quirky, their poodle "Jed Clampet" is lovely, and most of the time there (school hols) we never heard another guest.
downside: they only service the apartment weekly, which is certainly stated upfront, but this means only sheets and towels... toilet paper and soap and washing detergent are extra...
a great place for a couple for two weeks...thanks.! good value

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chelsea6372
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
geelong
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2009

The service was superb. we had no trouble with the management and it was exactly as they described.
the rooms were very comfortable and everything was there so you could do whatever
it was very quiet and restful (peaceful)
the location was a bit bad to go to town unless you enjoy a nice 20-30 minute walk
the best thing about staying at royal palm villas was (personally) the balcony. it was comfortable and it was never cold always a good temperature. it was very enjoyable.
THE WORST THING about staying at Royal Palm Villas was having to leave such a wonderful hotel

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mwarfe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
63 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2009

Very cute, spotlessly clean, well-equipped little hotel mini-apartment. We were delighted to have a washer and dryer in our suite. The managers were extremely pleasant and helpful. Two small problems: First, a backpackers' hostel was located behind the hotel where our room was facing and there was a noisy party going on there one night; second, oddly enough there are no drawers or shelves for clothes in the apartment. We spread out on the living room sofa and easy chairs our socks, underwear, T-shirts and anything else that couldn't be hung up in the small closet .

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JBWanderers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2009

The photo we went by when booking looked enticing, was reasonably priced and it appeared to offer all we wanted however sadly mistaken and won't ever stay, or recommend others, stay there. The pool was filthy, the bathroom less than desirable and the hidden highlight that is certainly not part of their marketing advertisement is the sleepless nights you'll endure trying to get comfortable in a lumpy bed or if you happen to find some comfort it will be short lived due to the constant passing trucks and sugar cane freight trains. A bad mistake but a valuable lesson learnt!

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BettyDSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cairns hotels

Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2008

This is a great hotel! The staff are extremely friendly and helpful. The rooms are spacious and very clean. I especially liked the two pools that were onsite. There are a few restaurants and a grocery store nearby. A shuttle bus going downtown leaves the hotel every hour. If you are coming back late at night cabs are to the hotel from downtown are about $20.

I would definitely recommend this place for anyone that is looking to stay in Cairns.

  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank FrequentTraveler121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2008

This was a great value if you are willing to not be by the main hub of the city. We love walking and seeing more of a city than just the main area, so this was idea for us. It is a 20-25 minute walk to the downtown/pier area, but cabs are easily accessible.

Our room was more like a one bedroom apartment. We had a kitchen dining/living area, seperated bedroom and a charming balcony. We only paid around $105 US per night during peak season. We also had the benefit of making our morning meal each day which really helped out since restaurant prices were very high in Australia. There is a grocery only 1 block away and a pub as well.

There were only two things that keep me from giving them an excellent rating. First they scheduled a tree removal at 7:30 in the morning. Luckily we were on our way out, but had we wished to sleep in it would have been impossible with the sound of chain saws roaring. The second thing was since this was more like an apartment, you were on your own for cleaning it. We stayed nine days and it was serviced once. I didn't mind cleaning the supplies were in the room. However, when I say on your own I mean it. Once we ran out of our 2 rolls of toilet paper, we had to pay $1 a roll for new ones.

Great stay though and very comfortable!

  • Liked — The value & kitchen option
  • Disliked — Having to pay for toilet paper
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RicciS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.2 mi away
Bay Village Tropical Retreat
0.3 mi away
Cairns City Sheridan
Cairns City Sheridan
#63 of 68 in Cairns
3.0 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
1.0 mi away
Mid City Luxury Suites
Mid City Luxury Suites
#40 of 68 in Cairns
4.5 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Cairns City
Comfort Inn Cairns City
#33 of 68 in Cairns
3.5 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hides Hotel Cairns
Hides Hotel Cairns
#58 of 68 in Cairns
3.0 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cairns Queens Court
Cairns Queens Court
#23 of 68 in Cairns
3.5 of 5 bubbles 427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Palm Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Palm Villas

Property: Royal Palm Villas
Address: 184 McLeod St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 68 Hotels in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Royal Palm Villas 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Royal Palm Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Palm Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing