We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Forgotten”
Review of Alessandro's

Alessandro's
Ranked #158 of 597 Restaurants in Cairns
Price range: $6 - $21
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Forgotten”
Reviewed May 3, 2014

We booked in for 7 o'clock but when we weren't seated by 8 we left.

The place seemed popular but as it is new seemed like they haven't got their systems in place.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Iqbal69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1Alessandro777, Owner at Alessandro's, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
hi there, can't apologise enough as we were 100% at fault and felt terrible when I realised you'd left. we are getting much busier and you are right in that our systems weren't in place to handle the volume. I called you two days later and invited you back for an evening at my expense but I havn't heard from you yet, the offer still stands. 40394411
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    47
    24
    14
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wish I could eat there every Day!”
Reviewed April 30, 2014

After 4 years in Cairns, we finally got blessed with a PROPER QUALITY restaurant! We are talking real Italian Food - not that mainstream boring and partly disgusting food they offer you all over town! The pizzas are at least 5$ CHEAPER than in town and leave any other Pizza for dead. People from Europe or with the European touch will absolutely LOVE IT!
And from Starter to Main to Dessert, this place is unmatched. We are talking best Pizzas in town, best slow cooked steak and best pasta! Don't mention the Tiramisu or my missus will order some now! Its insane. And last but not least, if you enjoy a good beer - they got them all! Real Italian traditional beer, for less than what you will pay for a tooheys in town!
Best to call them and reserve a table, they are always well booked (for a reason!). Great quiet beautiful location too.... just LOOOOVE IT!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bluemotion2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1Alessandro777, Owner at Alessandro's, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
we set no limits on how often people eat here so feel free. thanks for the review, seeyou next time
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
104 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Great food, great service great location”
Reviewed April 26, 2014

Had heard an italian restaurant had opened at Lake Placid. Went to investigate and found the old kiosk area had been transformed into a new stylish lunch and dinner setting overlooking the lake. So I rang an made a reservation.
One of the owners greeted us , clean setting very modern decor and stylishly done. Menu was great , with choices from pasta to pizzas( a specials menu offered some seafood and steak options) . There were dishes to suit vegetarians but not noted on the menu and no gluten free options. Having said that one of our group ordered grilled calamari and a salad and was easily satisfied. Pizza's were authentic proper italian pizzas with real toppings and cooked to perfection in the specially imported Pizza Oven from Napoli. The chef is italian as too the other main partner. Service was efficient yet not pushy. Friendly wait staff. Food was served in a very reasonable time from ordering. Garlic bread on a traditional pizza base and not over done with garlic. Pasta serving perfect not too little not too much. Authentic home made pasta not packaged rubbish you find elsewhere. The bar had all the usual drinks available with the option to get italian soft drink chinotto, now thats a true italian restaurant.
All in all wonderful service,not crowded , nice setting and delicious food, a great evening out. I will be bring many friends and visitors back to enjoy. Oh for those that complained about splitting bills I believe that has been addressed so ignore those comments.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank steve m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1Alessandro777, Owner at Alessandro's, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
thankyou for the review, nice of you to take the time to give such a comprehensive complement, appreciated
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenelg, Australia
1 review
“Amazing”
Reviewed April 23, 2014

10/10 without a doubt the best Italian food I have ever eaten! There was not one thing we didn't enjoy, and the staff were extremely relaxed and friendly. Would recommend to anyone!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sidneyrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1Alessandro777, Owner at Alessandro's, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
I give this review 10/10, thankyou
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kewarra Beach, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“...we will see...”
Reviewed April 11, 2014

Reading the responses of the management I would like to add:

Bill splitting
Funny, being a "real authentic Italian restaurant" it seems that unlike real Italian restaurants they haven't figured out how to split a bill. How about calculating by seat instead of table than you wouldn't have the trouble? It seems to work fine for the rest of Europe...
And because "we couldn't bother less about our customers it is now: "We have changed the notice on the menu to simply no bill splitting"!!! Nice!

Water at table
"...a centralised station where people could help themselves to as much water as they wanted without waiting for service..."
Too much work to make sure there is always water on the table??? That is exactly how people feel about your restaurant. And than trying to sell it as a positive point makes it even worse.

This all reflects how people see your service. And this view was shared within our group (including three Italians). As one reviewer on this site pointed out: customer comes second to the chef.

There is more to running a good Italian restaurant than selling a good pizza.
Having said all this please take those comments as constructive criticism for the benefit of your establishment and stop looking for excuses. Thank you.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jackforever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1Alessandro777, Owner at Alessandro's, responded to this review, April 13, 2014
Hi there, rest assured all reviews are taken seriously with a view to improve, no excuses, as mentioned in my responses the water station is under review as its been mentioned more than once, thankyou for your interest
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alessandro's also viewed

Cairns, Cairns Region
Cairns, Cairns Region
 
Cairns, Cairns Region
Cairns, Cairns Region
 

Been to Alessandro's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing