We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Alessandro's

Alessandro's
Ranked #168 of 596 Restaurants in Cairns
Price range: $6 - $21
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Scenic view, Families with children, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Glenelg, Australia
1 review
“Amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2014

10/10 without a doubt the best Italian food I have ever eaten! There was not one thing we didn't enjoy, and the staff were extremely relaxed and friendly. Would recommend to anyone!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sidneyrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1Alessandro777, Owner at Alessandro's, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
I give this review 10/10, thankyou
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    46
    24
    13
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Kewarra Beach, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“...we will see...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2014

Reading the responses of the management I would like to add:

Bill splitting
Funny, being a "real authentic Italian restaurant" it seems that unlike real Italian restaurants they haven't figured out how to split a bill. How about calculating by seat instead of table than you wouldn't have the trouble? It seems to work fine for the rest of Europe...
And because "we couldn't bother less about our customers it is now: "We have changed the notice on the menu to simply no bill splitting"!!! Nice!

Water at table
"...a centralised station where people could help themselves to as much water as they wanted without waiting for service..."
Too much work to make sure there is always water on the table??? That is exactly how people feel about your restaurant. And than trying to sell it as a positive point makes it even worse.

This all reflects how people see your service. And this view was shared within our group (including three Italians). As one reviewer on this site pointed out: customer comes second to the chef.

There is more to running a good Italian restaurant than selling a good pizza.
Having said all this please take those comments as constructive criticism for the benefit of your establishment and stop looking for excuses. Thank you.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jackforever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1Alessandro777, Owner at Alessandro's, responded to this review, April 13, 2014
Hi there, rest assured all reviews are taken seriously with a view to improve, no excuses, as mentioned in my responses the water station is under review as its been mentioned more than once, thankyou for your interest
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“What a fantastic local find”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2014

We went to this little local restaurant with no real expectations, although we had heard it was good. Everything we had on the menu was faultless. The garlic bread had a thin lightly crusted base and perfectly browned. The salad was finished with finely pickled vegetables. The gnocchi and tagliatelle were freshly homemade, with the gnocchi light and perfect. We chose the fresh passata gnocchi, which had a beautiful fresh tomato flavour and the mozzarella gently melting between - just to die for! The homemade pesto had the fresh sharp tang of basil and pesto, a beautiful contrast. We finished with tiramisu which had a delicate coffee flavour, infused with alcohol and cream and a beautiful lemon tart. The owner and the waiter took the time to talk to us about our evening and generously gave us dessert to celebrate my birthday. Beats going to a fancy restaurant where you pay a lot more, the staff are tourists, no-one takes the time to talk to you and you feel you are being pushed out the door. If you want great food, good service, relaxed ambiance to share with family or friends, then definately recommend this restuarant.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 54liverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1Alessandro777, Owner at Alessandro's, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Thankyou for your review, happy to be a part of a special night, looking forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SYDLAXSINLHRKIXTAKEAPICK
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Food Was Great...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2014

Ordered the 4 cheese pizza, a margarita pizza, and the mussels. All three were delicious. The mussels were a special of the day, and are highly recommended! Service was friendly, but not efficient...For that true Italian experience, perhaps?
Self serve tap water was a little too much, considering how much each dish cost.
The cuisine is really top notch, but the standard of service, atmosphere, and lack of pest control (mozzies), do not warrant such high prices. Hence, three green dots.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HowManyHotelsCanAMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1Alessandro777, Owner at Alessandro's, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Hi, thanks for the review, we have initiated service training to improve our efficiency and consistency and will monitor closely as we wish to continually improve. The mozzies are a summer problem with the water around however we have cleaned the surrounding gardens in the last two weeks and are planting citronella, lemongrass, geranium etc as they have insect repelling qualities. We also have mozzie repellent coils surrounding the premises and wipes available at the bar if someone is particularly sensitive. I'm happy you appreciated the quality of the food as we use only the best ingredients, from Italian flour to local seafood and organic fruit/veges. hope to see you again and get an improved review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
1 review
“Average food and overcharged bill!!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2014

We went to this restaurant full of expectation.
Portions small, food average quality and bad service with a plus.
The manager overcharged us, 6 people, of 50 bucks!!! Even going back and admitting it they didn't give us back the money....still waiting.
Told them that for all of us was the first and last time.....maybe this is why they still haven't give us back the overcharged money?

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sarah O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1Alessandro777, Owner at Alessandro's, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Hello, I'm sorry to read you didn't enjoy your night as it is certainly is not our intention to cause any discomfort or anguish. The overcharged bill was a mistake resulting from billsplitting and the same items being charged twice. We have updated our system and this cannot happen again. I was under the impression from my business partner that one of your party visited the restaurant and the money was refunded to you. If I am incorrect and this matter has not been finalised than please contact me on 40394411 and I will take care of immediately. Thankyou for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alessandro's also viewed

Cairns, Cairns Region
Cairns, Cairns Region
 
Cairns, Cairns Region
Cairns, Cairns Region
 

Been to Alessandro's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing