We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Getaway On Grafton
Nearby Hotels
$244
$141
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside(Cairns)(Great Value!)
$86
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$187
$148
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hilton Cairns(Cairns)
$130
$117
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
BreakFree Royal Harbour Resort(Cairns)(Great Value!)
$155
$136
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$133
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Mantra Esplanade Cairns(Cairns)(Great Value!)
$122
$93
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns(Cairns)(Great Value!)
$123
$111
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Cairns Plaza Hotel(Cairns)(Great Value!)
$93
$74
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reef Palms(Cairns)(Great Value!)
$107
$81
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (325)
Filter reviews
325 results
Traveler rating
176
105
34
7
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
176
105
34
7
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbedroom townhousethe kitchen was fully equippedbackpackers hostelhighly recommend this propertyminute walkstay there againbbq areaapartment was cleanwasher and dryerself containedwithin walking distancesecure parkinggreat place to staypool areamuddy's playgroundgreat apartmentafter hours
Filter
Updating list...
154 - 159 of 325 reviews
Reviewed January 10, 2014

The Getaway was perfect for our family of four. The apartment was clean and the kitchen was stocked well with cooking items - and having the washer & dryer was an added bonus. I recommend a day of snorkeling on the reef (Passions of Paradise) and a tour of the Daintree National Rainforest (Billy Tea Tours). The front desk of the hotel was very helpful in booking our tours. The beach in Cairns is not accessible but the city has built a lagoon in the downtown area for swimming.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Lotte C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevlinco, Front Office Manager at Getaway On Grafton, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2014

Hi Lotte,

Thank you for your review. We agree that one has to experience at least one day on the reef and one day in the rainforest while in Cairns.

Regards,
Markus

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2014

My family and I spent 20 days at Getaway on Grafton and it’s a great place to be. We were like “wow” when we first stepped into the townhouse apartment that we were staying (we booked for a deluxe apartment but it was upgraded to a townhouse which was just awesome). The facilities are just great as per the photos and Kevin and Linda who run the place are awesome (not forgetting Linda’s daughter - sorry forgot her name). They were very helpful and friendly and yes they managed to book us on a number of last minute trips with 5% discount which was great. I travel a lot and the first thing I judge about a place is the staff and their PR and it’s a 100% yes for Getaway on Grafton. Getaway on Grafton is within the City Center and is close to everything (shops/Esplanade/Medical Center/Parks)! We enjoyed our stay here and yes we would love to stay here again on our next visit to Cairns and I would definitely recommend this place to all my friends and family members!

JSipendi - Pom PNG

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Perakambo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevlinco, Owner at Getaway On Grafton, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2014

Hi Judi,
So pleased to hear that you had a good holiday and enjoyed Getaway on Grafton and the free upgrade. During busy periods it can sometimes be very difficult to get to do the tours you desire, so I'm delighted to hear that we could be of assistance. Hope to see you and your friends again in the near future.

Many thanks,
Kevin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2014

We stayed for a week and found it very accessible to different locations like the esplanade lagoon, playground, shopping centre, etc. with secure undercover parking. There is a great pool on site with a spa (unfortunately not heated). The townhouse is very spacious and has everything you need for a self-catering stay. The aircons in the bedroom were very old and as a result not very cold plus far too loud to sleep with on. The Managers on site were extremely helpful and pleasant to deal with. It is next to a hostel but were not as loud as we expected (although being a light sleeper, I had to cover my ears). Overall we were very happy with our stay!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Debra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevlinco, Owner at Getaway On Grafton, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2014

Hello Debra!
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and all that Cairns has to offer. We had purchased new air conditioner units prior to Christmas, but unfortunately due to a high demand for refrigeration mechanics at the time, we were unable to fit them before your stay. This has now been rectified and the new air conditioners have been installed.

Hope to see you again soon,
Linda :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014

This apartment hotel is located next to the 'Asylum' youth hostel! Their patrons banged and
Shouted at the security gate from 3-5am this past Friday.
There is NO front desk during weekends or after 5pm.
Staff have NOT been helpful ignoring a higher floor request and rescinding the offer of an upgrade to a town house they had offered.
Very disappointing!

Room Tip: Bring a car! Make sure you don't get room 12. It's really dark and by the pool which is noisy
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debbi783
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevlinco, Owner at Getaway On Grafton, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2014

Our apartment complex is located alongside the Asylum backpackers, however the new manager of 12 months has taken control of our agreed night curfews and this is very evident in our reviews over this period.
The incident you speak of occurred in the complex car park on the other side, where a female bashed a car during a domestic dispute; the police attended and the offender was arrested. This is the very first time we have had such a disturbance and it had absolutely nothing to do with our security gate or indeed the backpackers next door.

When you book with us, you will receive a confirmation email which may include an upgrade to the next class of accommodation, subject to availability on arrival, our office hours and our out of hours entry procedure. This does not mean you are automatically upgraded, but may be if a higher class of apartment is available
We ask that you acknowledge this email to show you understand all that it contains. We also send a text message, where a mobile number is supplied, for late arrivals, as a backup.

Our office hours are 8.00 am to 12.00 and 2.00pm to 6.00 on weekdays and 8.30am to 12.00 on weekends. We can also be contacted outside these hours for urgent matters. These office hours are clearly written on our office door, website and the confirmation letter sent to guests.

Guest requests are not ignored and are fulfilled where possible, however during periods of total occupancy it is not always possible to facilitate. Our booking confirmation also states a guest request is not always possible

We are a 5 minute walk through to the Esplanade and Muddies playground and about a 20 minute walk to the Reef fleet terminal. We supply a map on our website showing approximate distances to various locations in the city for guests to use. To state you need a car in the city is total nonsense and the fact that many of our guests never hire a car during their stay backs this up
Pool hours are from 7.00 am to 9.00 pm daily, which can be a little noisy, especially during school holidays. Over all, the complex is very quiet the majority of the time, and as I live on site, I will quickly deal with any bad behavior
Regards
Kevin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

Good location close to town, we had a good sized 2 bed 2 bath apartment suitable for families. The kitchen was clean and well equipped. Staff at reception were very helpful. Undercover secure parking was excellent. We would happily stay again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Skidw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevlinco, Owner at Getaway On Grafton, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2014

Glad to hear you enjoyed Getaway on Grafton and hope to see you again some day.

Kevin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews