We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very spacious affordable units”
Review of Getaway On Grafton

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Getaway On Grafton
Ranked #16 of 85 Specialty Lodging in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Very spacious affordable units”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Our family recently stayed a few nights and enjoyed the spacious fully self catering unit we had with 2 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms plus washing machine and dryer. We were on the side next to the backpackers who were a bit noisy the first night, but Kevin sorted that out straight away and we didn't have any more problems. The pool area is nice although can be a bit shady and it would be nicer if the spa was a hot one, but hot spas don't seem to be common in Australia I've noticed. The BBQ area is very well equipped, even had oil for us to use.
I found in general that the lighting in our unit was very dim especially over the kitchen sink where there are no lights at all. But we found everything very nice and clean. The managers were very helpful, units well equipped and cars are parked in a secure car park. As others have said, it is a little walk into town but it's all flat and very easy passing by shops etc.

We had lunch at Fusion Organic Cafe just up the road and can definitely recommend it especially for people who have allergies such as dairy or gluten. Food delicious and not too expensive. The lagoon on the Cairns waterfront is also a fantastic facility.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShirleeP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    169
    96
    30
    6
    2
See reviews for
178
36
2
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
193 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012

We stayed here in unit 15 which is privately owned and managed. Troy was great and let us check in at 6am after arriving from Perth at 4.30am. We also had a late checkout which was very convenient.

The units are spacious and comfortable although fairly basic. The Esplanade is about a 15 minute walk away with another 5-10 mins to the marina. Lots of parking on site. There is also a pool, cabana and bbqs.

There is a backpackers next door but we weren't troubled by any noise.

The only real issue we had with the apartment was that it wasn't particularly clean, especially the bathrooms. The unit was only cleaned once during the 8 days were were there but that consisted only of changing the sheets and providing new towels, no actual cleaning. Toilet paper and toiletries also ran out and weren't replenished at the time of changing sheets and towels.

Overall we would probably stay here again if the price was right.

Room Tip: Choose an apartment on the north side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wisewoman0910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2012

Four of us stayed here for a few nights and loved it. Very close to the main town centre so walked everywhere, nice pool for swimming, very well equipped unit and spacious. The staff were so helpful as well and it's a very reasonable price. Loved our stay in Cairns :)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steph551
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2012

Several months ago I organised to stay at Getaway on Grafton. After looking for neumerous places, Getaway was the most suited to our needs (4 adult sisters) for 7 nights.

Origionally when i booked the room I was told that the bedding configurations could only be 1 king and 2 singles, but they would provide a trundle bed free of charge. Upon arriving to Getaway I was greeted by Lynda, I showd up at 9am as I had come in from an early flight and to my surprise my room was available for me. Such a treat after having a red eye flight from WA and not sleeping on the plane. They also have new bed configurations so we were all able to be given a bed.

Our room was on the first level on the street side of the complex, considering we were in the centre of town i was plesently surprised at how quiet it was. There is some slight noise from the Hostel next door, but my understanding is they have to be quiet after 10pm and no noise after midnight is acceptable. Considering I am on a holiday and in a destination town, i was not surprised by there being hostel next door and was quite impressed that they abided by these rules.

We stayed in a deluxe apartment, two bedrooms, two bathrooms, a spacious living area and fully exuipped kitchen, including gladwarp and salt! Such a bonus as you dont want to have to buy such items when staying for a short stay.

I have read a review below by a clearly dissatisfied customer, or prehaps they are the type of people who have nothing better to do. Why would you be lifting up a couch to find a piece of glass or worrying there might be some dust on pictures on the walls?? This place wasnt built in the last 10 years, so dont expect shiny marble tiles everywhere. I found it to be cleaner than my house which i maintain and am reasonably house proud.

You are provided with basics like tea, coffee etc and laundry & dishwasher powder, detergent, and even hand soap in the kitchen. There were also beach towels stocked in the laundry.

The pool is unheated, like most pools in Cairns, the climate doesnt require for heated pools so was happy for it to be at a natural temperature. The area by the pool was maintained well, with a fully equipped barbie and plastic cups etc so you could use them by the pool instead of using your items from your room.

We stayed for 7 days and were surprised to find that mid stay our room was serviced with new towels and made beds. (the towels are extremly nice and fluffy also, something I am fond of)

The complex is completly secure, with passworded gates to get in, plenty of undercover parking especially good for hot days.

Hosts Lynda and Kevin were most helpful and organised us on various day trips, at no extra cost and we could settle the payments upon our departure which we found helpful. They recommended certain day trips which were both memorable and enjoyable.

This place is within walking distance to everywhere in Cairns, we spent numerous nights out in the city which would have been a 15 minute walk max, the same distance to walk to the big shopping mall as well.

I would never hesitate to stay at Getaway on Grafton again if i was to return to Cairns, its good for adult groups, as well as families, my sister has said she will be returning to stay there on her next visit with her young children.

Thanks to Kevin and Lynda for a great stay, your helpfulness was much appreciated, and i would never hesitate to recommend your hospitality to anyone I know going to Cairns.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellingKiwi82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevlinco, Manager at Getaway On Grafton, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Wow, thank you for such a nice review!
It helps to read some our guest are pleased with their choice off accommodation here in Cairns. We both try our best to keep the apartments clean and comfortable, provide friendly service and thoughtful tour advice. It is always nice to meet positive and happy people! Thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, New Zealand
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

We enjoyed our 10 days in Cairns and Kevin and Linda were helpful hosts, but there are a couple of issues which you might wish to bear in mind or obtain assurances about before staying at Getaway, based on our experience staying in a 2 bedroom deluxe apartment. Firstly, we were woken in the early hours of our first night by noisy backpackers staying in the low rent hostel next door and they kept us awake for some while. Our room was adjacent to the hostel so not wishing a repeat performance we asked Kevin and Linda to find us an apartment the other side of the block, which they did from the third night onwards. This apartment was much quieter and also overlooked the pool. If we were staying here again, we would want to be on this side as a precaution against sleepless nights.
Secondly, room cleanliness was poor. We asked our first room to be recleaned as it was unacceptable. Again, the hosts were receptive but after the second attempt by the cleaners, the apartment still wasn't what you would call clean. The main room wasn't swept properly (a small piece of glass was found just under one of the couches), the cleaners used dirty cloths on shiny surfaces which dried to a smear, the channels in the ranchslider were dirty (took us just a few minutes to clean), the pictures hadn't been dusted, the balcony hadn't been swept for some time and the net curtains were mouldy. We could give you more examples. Our second room also lacked cleanliness so the first one wasn't just a one-off. We are not fanatical when it comes to cleanliness but this was our main bugbear during our stay. Hopefully, this can be resolved in the future.
The apartments are a little too far from supermarkets and the lagoon if you have no vehicle, otherwise the location is fine. There is a convenience store one block back on Lake Street, which is closer than Coles or Woolworths, and certainly handy until your first full grocery shop.
We liked the pool area at the apartments, although the water temperature could have been warmer. The water in the spa pool is the same temperature as the main pool, which is a shame. A hot spa would be much more appealing.
If the rooms weren't dirty and we had the apartment over the pool, we would have given this four stars.

Room Tip: Rooms on the right side looking from the front will be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roamingkiwi2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevlinco, Manager at Getaway On Grafton, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Being heavily booked at the time we managed to re-locate to another apartment.
Often guest suggest that they are light sleepers and most of them will travel with ear plugs to soften un-familiar sounds. Traveling to new places can often cause restless sleep. The Backpackers next door were dealt with immediately by Kevin once he was told.
The apartment was re-cleaned as requested. The cleaners use vacuums and not brooms, and it was really unfortunate they missed a piece of glass under the lounge, a pity this and other problems were not brought to our attention at the time?
Walking distance is up to the guest interpretation, it takes me 15 to walk to the Reef Terminal and we advised 20min.
Pool temperature is heated by nature, the spa is part of the pool.
We are disappointed that your stay was not satisfactory and maybe our location & facilities was not really what you were looking for.
Mangers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston, Australia
Level Contributor
124 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2012

We stayed 3 nights in a great apartment. 2 bedrooms with 2 full bathrooms and an extra toilet downstairs in the laundry area (which is a separate room off the kitchen/living area). The location is excellent for both getting into the main city area and also heading out of town via the main road. The pool was a delight and the managers are friendly, efficient and extremely helpful.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TwofromtheNorth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunkeld Victoria
2 reviews
Reviewed September 2, 2012

The 2 bedroomed apartment we rented at the Getaway was beautifully set up with everything one could want, and it all worked - except that the previous occupants had pinched the lead connecting the DVD player to the TV! But Linda fixed that in five minutes! With your own complete laundry, and both microwave and full-scale cooking, you have complete freedom of choice of what style holiday you want; set up a home or live on takeaways and eating out.
Two bathrooms and loos make for easy living, and the beds, bed linen and towels were all of high quality. The staff were enormously helfpful with everything, including the Internet, and had a huge stock of information about the local area.,
Good secure carparking, and an easy walk to the Esplanade and town.
As I say, we cant do better than quote Noel Coward, and say: "We couldn't have liked it more!"

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BJHDunkeldVictoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.8 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 64 in Cairns
576 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tropical Heritage Cairns
0.2 mi away
Cairns Plaza Hotel
Cairns Plaza Hotel
#10 of 64 in Cairns
1,080 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Coral Tree Inn
Coral Tree Inn
#18 of 64 in Cairns
481 reviews
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
0.8 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Getaway On Grafton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Getaway On Grafton

Property: Getaway On Grafton
Address: 157 - 159 Grafton St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 85 Specialty Lodging in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Getaway On Grafton 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A perfect location, just one block from the city, Getaway on Grafton is close to the Esplanade and within minutes walking distance of the city attractions. This superior holiday complex of 1 & 2 bedroom fully self-contained apartments features open-plan living. There is a fully appointed kitchen in each apartment, which includes a dishwasher and microwave. Getaway On Grafton is focused around resort style pool and spa, with a distinctly tropical theme. Enjoy the warm breezes from the private balcony of the apartment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Getaway On Grafton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing