We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and basic stay option”
Review of Cascade Gardens

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cascade Gardens
Ranked #20 of 63 Hotels in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Cascade gardens is owned by a very friendly family. They are extremely helpful and courteous. We enjoyed our stay at these apartment. The day we were to reach cairns our flight was delayed so we called them to inform about our late check-in (12am to be precise) but they made sure our rooms were clean and wew got our room keys from a digital locker placed outside the gate.. They ensured we dont have to go through any stress for the check in formalities that night. The only drawback of this place is there is no lift..

Room Tip: Book a room on the ground floor in case u r sure of carrying very heavy luggage
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JoyousTourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CascadeGardens, Manager at Cascade Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2017

Thanks for the nice review, hope to see you again in the future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (201)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

131 - 137 of 201 reviews

Reviewed January 16, 2013

Didn't really enjoy my stay here. Thank god we had tours booked everyday we stayed here so did not have to spend much time in our rooms. It was almost impossible to sleep here. The aircon was very noisy and did not work very well. The beds were uncomfortable, and had two tied together to make a double bed which dipped in the middle, we might as well of just had 2 single beds!! The staff are friendly in assisting you with tours and local restaurants and bars but I thought it was very unprofessional how they complained about previous customers to us. Good points: the room was quite spacious and i liked the location as it was only a 10 minute walk from town but quiet at night. However the bad outweighed the good. Would not stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rachel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CascadeGardens, Owner at Cascade Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2014

Thank you for your comments, we have taken on board some of those things and are in the process of getting new beds for some rooms and have had all the Air-Cons serviced.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012 via mobile

Spent 5 nights through travel auctions. Room was good overlooking lake st. (322) (although noisy motor from building across the road) Cascade gardens very convenient to esplanade, so lots of walking was done. Done touristy things-Port Douglas,Karunda etc etc... All meals we had were reasonably priced and big serves,you get your monies worth. Glenda very nice and helpful. Thanks.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cjslcm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CascadeGardens, Manager at Cascade Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2017

Thanks for the nice review, hope to see you again in the future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2012

No specific complaints, but then not a place I really look back on with pleasant memories either.

Its clean and well priced though, so I'm sure you can do a lot worse.

Its a good ten minutes walk from the action in Cairns.

It probably suffered due to my overall view on Cairns, which is that unless you are keen to go to backpacker pub nights out and are desperate for cheap steak and pint offers at big pubs then give it a swerve - there are some great places/towns to stay on the Far North Queensland Coast and I just don't get the appeal of Cairns.

I realise that Cairns is the centre of barrier reef trips, but you can do these from other places too.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Waddler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CascadeGardens, Manager at Cascade Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2017

Thanks for the nice review, hope to see you again in the future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

I spent a week at Cascade Gardens. First the good points.
Staff were really helpful. We arrived late at night but they arranged a ppick up point for the key.
Room was clean. and roomy. Kitchen was fully equipped. Car park was large and secure.
Hotel situated a short walk (2 blocks) from restaurants, pubs etc.
Now the bad points.
No lift to upper floors.
Bathroom was a bit dated.
Bed was not good. The springs groaned every time you turned, a very cheap & nasty bed..
Fresh towels supplied on a weekly basis. If you need fresh towels it is a $2 charge per towel.
Fresh linen on beds on a weekly basis. $15 charge for fresh linen if required earlier.Air conditioner could only be set for 25 degrees. If you adjusted to lower temps the system dripped.
Other residents cooking smells permeated the whole floor.
On the whole we enjoyed our stay. The staff allowed us a late check out. I would recommend this hotel but just be aware of some of the shortfalls.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 464Pents
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CascadeGardens, Manager at Cascade Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2017

Thanks for the nice review, hope to see you again in the future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2012

Great place to stay awesome friendly staff willing to help out in every way our company have used this accomadation on and off since march 2012 our company work all over Australia so living in and out of motels for long periods of time we tend to try and find good clean affordable accomadation. The lighting and entry in the motel wether it be through the main gate or through the front door is simple and easy all the hallways are wide plenty of lighting for the late night returns the rooms we have used have good comfortable beds and some the crew we have are big boys so when they say the beds are good and they have had good night sleep they must good and all the guys who stayed there had no complaints great location and great rooms and bbq area easy access from the street with touch pad plenty of car parking will have no problems recommending this hotel to anyone thinking of traveling to the Cairns area in the future definitely be back here hopefully with my family and not for work lol till next time hopefully sooner than later
Billy from sydney

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bwangaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CascadeGardens, Manager at Cascade Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2017

Thanks for the nice review, hope to see you again in the future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2012

First impressions where ok. Pool was small and unappealing. Location was a good 10 to 15 min walk out of town so not very convenient at all. The studio room was pleasant enough but the "king bed" was actually two single mattesses in a king frame with a gap down the middle which made it impossible for a couple to sleep together. In was also very uncomfortable as the mattresses were so old you could feel the springs...we had terrible nights' sleep. We told the staff we were unhappy with the bed and they made the excuse that that's what they slept on and had no problems (which was totally irrelevant to our complaint). The TV did not face the bed so you could only watch from the chairs which had very thin cushions which were very hard and not suitable to relax in.
We asked to check out a day early and they would not comply with our request without charging us.
Consequently we felt like prisoners, not guests, as we simply did not want to be there. Not a very good customer relations strategy for the sake of one night's revenue.
We found the manager was good at acting pleasant if all was well but who's personality would "turn" when one would politely raise an issue.

So in conclusion find somewhere better than Cascade Gardens Cairns.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
4  Thank Julesrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CascadeGardens, Manager at Cascade Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2017

Thanks for the review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
0.2 mi away
Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort
0.6 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Cairns Plaza Hotel
Cairns Plaza Hotel
#11 of 63 in Cairns
1,163 reviews
0.9 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 63 in Cairns
627 reviews
0.7 mi away
Pullman Cairns International
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cascade Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cascade Gardens

Address: 175 Lake St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Cairns
#5 Spa Hotel in Cairns
Price Range: $99 - $195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cascade Gardens 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you want to experience Cairns - do it in style and stay with us. We are a family run business and we live on site which gives our resort that personal touch. We love helping our guest and pride ourselves on making sure your holiday is the best it can possibly be. The resort lies in the Heart of Cairns, within a five minute walk to the Cairns CBD or our famous stunning lagoon pool which is located along the tranquil Cairns Esplanade. We offer fully furnished boutique style apartments equipped with everything you need for one guest or five. We have cute to boot studio apartments - perfect for couples on a romantic getaway or that conference with work. Our studios boast full kitchen facilities as well as LCD TV to watch whilst you relax in bed. Our desirable One Bedroom apartments are perfect for couples or Families. They offer that touch more privacy and come with full kitchen and washing facilities. Our Amazing two bedroom apartment is truly stunning. It boasts a massive master bedroom complete with en-suite and spa bath. There is also a second bathroom, huge living area and full kitchen and washing facilities. Truly beautiful! We also offer accommodation in a small dorm for backpackers who wish to stay in style and are looking for a more upmarket option. Our resort also offers our guests gym facilities, a public laundry on site including washing machines and dryers. A beautiful pool area complete with a bubbling spa, shady umbrellas and reclining chairs to melt the stress of daily life away. A large BBQ area perfect for a gathering with friends and family. We also offer a fully equipped tour desk to book all your tours to the amazing Great Barrier Reef to skydiving for all you adrenaline junkies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Cascade Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cascade Gardens Cairns
Cascade Gardens Hotel Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing