We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great accomadation and staff.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cascade Gardens

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Cascade Gardens
Ranked #21 of 68 Hotels in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Great accomadation and staff.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2012

Great place to stay awesome friendly staff willing to help out in every way our company have used this accomadation on and off since march 2012 our company work all over Australia so living in and out of motels for long periods of time we tend to try and find good clean affordable accomadation. The lighting and entry in the motel wether it be through the main gate or through the front door is simple and easy all the hallways are wide plenty of lighting for the late night returns the rooms we have used have good comfortable beds and some the crew we have are big boys so when they say the beds are good and they have had good night sleep they must good and all the guys who stayed there had no complaints great location and great rooms and bbq area easy access from the street with touch pad plenty of car parking will have no problems recommending this hotel to anyone thinking of traveling to the Cairns area in the future definitely be back here hopefully with my family and not for work lol till next time hopefully sooner than later
Billy from sydney

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bwangaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    60
    18
    7
    9
See reviews for
27
76
9
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
77 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2012 via mobile

First impressions where ok. Pool was small and unappealing. Location was a good 10 to 15 min walk out of town so not very convenient at all. The studio room was pleasant enough but the "king bed" was actually two single mattesses in a king frame with a gap down the middle which made it impossible for a couple to sleep together. In was also very uncomfortable as the mattresses were so old you could feel the springs...we had terrible nights' sleep. We told the staff we were unhappy with the bed and they made the excuse that that's what they slept on and had no problems (which was totally irrelevant to our complaint). The TV did not face the bed so you could only watch from the chairs which had very thin cushions which were very hard and not suitable to relax in.
We asked to check out a day early and they would not comply with our request without charging us.
Consequently we felt like prisoners, not guests, as we simply did not want to be there. Not a very good customer relations strategy for the sake of one night's revenue.
We found the manager was good at acting pleasant if all was well but who's personality would "turn" when one would politely raise an issue.

So in conclusion find somewhere better than Cascade Gardens Cairns.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Julesrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

Comfortable convenient studio and 2 room suites close to the centre of Cairns. The bed was very comfortable.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JennyH50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lowerhutt NZ
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2012

Spent a week here in June. Able to be self sufficiant, full kitchen facilities and washing machine. A quiet area and a short 10 min walk to city centre. Helpful managers. The only little thing we found was that our room was a bit dark at night, probably needed stronger light bulbs, strained my eyes writting my travel journal(pages and pages, did and saw heaps). Would stay again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mooshlowerhuttNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2012

Well other than having the most powerful shower I have ever experienced the accommodation is really useful, practical, central, and safe.

Everything is within a 10 minute brisk walk. So if you have hired a car it can be parked safely in a gated pin secured compound leaving you to walk into town, have a meal, cinema or anything else.

Staff very welcoming and helpful no matter time of evening or morning. Staff really keen to please and encourage any genuine feedback to improve profile and experience of the hotel. Even encouraging direct contact to make bookings as opposed to using aggregator websites.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2012

We came back a week ago from a fantastic 5 night stay in Cairns.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Cascade Gardens. Glenda was extremely nice and helpful to us from the minute we arrived. Nothing was too much, and was really helpful with info on things to do and see while we were in Cairns. Was really nice to have such good friendly service, even after hours.

Good secure hotel, the room had everything we needed and was clean and tidy. Well equipped for someone wanting to cook meals etc. Especially loved the pool and outdoor area, and had a great bbq area to enjoy in the evenings.

Good location, good walking distance to the esplanade, restaurants, shops and night markets.

We absolutely loved it and I would recommend it to anyone one wanting a well priced self contained place to stay.

Thanks again Glenda and team for a wonderful stay. Will definitely be back next time were in Cairns.

Debbie, Sue and Della.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Debznz1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ogilvie, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2012

What a wonderful welcome! Makes one feel like family when you are miles away from your own family. Anything I needed, I got.Very homey...can have privacy or choose to joing in. When time allows it was great to have tea on a weekend morning and BBQ on Sunday evenings. Everything is clean and comfortable. I look forward to my next visit to Cairnsand staying at the Cascade Gardens. It's walking distance for almost everything.

Room Tip: Share your needs and the establishment tries their best to accommodate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kris A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.1 mi away
Tropical Heritage Cairns
0.1 mi away
Cairns Plaza Hotel
Cairns Plaza Hotel
#10 of 68 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 956 reviews
0.9 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 68 in Cairns
4.5 of 5 bubbles 519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Coral Tree Inn
Coral Tree Inn
#18 of 68 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 448 reviews
0.7 mi away
Park Regis City Quays
Park Regis City Quays
#14 of 68 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 499 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ibis Styles Cairns
Ibis Styles Cairns
#17 of 68 in Cairns
3.5 of 5 bubbles 693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cascade Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cascade Gardens

Property: Cascade Gardens
Address: 175 Lake St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cascade Gardens 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you want to experience Cairns - do it in style and stay with us. We are a family run business and we live on site which gives our resort that personal touch. We love helping our guest and pride ourselves on making sure your holiday is the best it can possibly be. The resort lies in the Heart of Cairns, within a five minute walk to the Cairns CBD or our famous stunning lagoon pool which is located along the tranquil Cairns Esplanade. We offer fully furnished boutique style apartments equipped with everything you need for one guest or five. We have cute to boot studio apartments - perfect for couples on a romantic getaway or that conference with work. Our studios boast full kitchen facilities as well as LCD TV to watch whilst you relax in bed. Our desirable One Bedroom apartments are perfect for couples or Families. They offer that touch more privacy and come with full kitchen and washing facilities. Our Amazing two bedroom apartment is truly stunning. It boasts a massive master bedroom complete with en-suite and spa bath. There is also a second bathroom, huge living area and full kitchen and washing facilities. Truly beautiful! We also offer accommodation in a small dorm for backpackers who wish to stay in style and are looking for a more upmarket option. Our resort also offers our guests gym facilities, a public laundry on site including washing machines and dryers. A beautiful pool area complete with a bubbling spa, shady umbrellas and reclining chairs to melt the stress of daily life away. A large BBQ area perfect for a gathering with friends and family. We also offer a fully equipped tour desk to book all your tours to the amazing Great Barrier Reef to skydiving for all you adrenaline junkies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com and Priceline so you can book your Cascade Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cascade Gardens Cairns
Cascade Gardens Hotel Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing