We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Shower I have ever experienced” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cascade Gardens

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Cascade Gardens
Ranked #23 of 65 Hotels in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Best Shower I have ever experienced”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2012

Well other than having the most powerful shower I have ever experienced the accommodation is really useful, practical, central, and safe.

Everything is within a 10 minute brisk walk. So if you have hired a car it can be parked safely in a gated pin secured compound leaving you to walk into town, have a meal, cinema or anything else.

Staff very welcoming and helpful no matter time of evening or morning. Staff really keen to please and encourage any genuine feedback to improve profile and experience of the hotel. Even encouraging direct contact to make bookings as opposed to using aggregator websites.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    61
    20
    7
    9
See reviews for
27
78
10
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2012

We came back a week ago from a fantastic 5 night stay in Cairns.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Cascade Gardens. Glenda was extremely nice and helpful to us from the minute we arrived. Nothing was too much, and was really helpful with info on things to do and see while we were in Cairns. Was really nice to have such good friendly service, even after hours.

Good secure hotel, the room had everything we needed and was clean and tidy. Well equipped for someone wanting to cook meals etc. Especially loved the pool and outdoor area, and had a great bbq area to enjoy in the evenings.

Good location, good walking distance to the esplanade, restaurants, shops and night markets.

We absolutely loved it and I would recommend it to anyone one wanting a well priced self contained place to stay.

Thanks again Glenda and team for a wonderful stay. Will definitely be back next time were in Cairns.

Debbie, Sue and Della.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Debznz1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ogilvie, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2012

What a wonderful welcome! Makes one feel like family when you are miles away from your own family. Anything I needed, I got.Very homey...can have privacy or choose to joing in. When time allows it was great to have tea on a weekend morning and BBQ on Sunday evenings. Everything is clean and comfortable. I look forward to my next visit to Cairnsand staying at the Cascade Gardens. It's walking distance for almost everything.

Room Tip: Share your needs and the establishment tries their best to accommodate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kris A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brisbane australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2012

Room ok needs a bit of re decoration but staff were very helpfull and went out of their way to help good location close to beach and town centre.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank roseb59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2012

The managers excel at making their guests welcome. During my four visits last year, average stay 6 weeks; I always found my room and the facilities clean and well tended. As someone who travels extensively for work, I find the accommodations comfortable, not posh or “cookie cutter.” The atmosphere is homey but not intrusive. The rooms I stayed in, one bedroom, were good-sized, with a well-equipped kitchen. I appreciate how the owners have installed new fencing and landscaping around the grounds and upgraded the guest rooms; it is a lovely setting. I particularly enjoy the pool area with its large covered dining section, communal barbeque area, sparkling pool and attractive new landscaping. The location is convenient to both the foreshore (2 blocks) and downtown Cairns. I look forward to staying at Cascade Gardens during my three remaining business trips this year.

Room Tip: Let the manager know what you want, i.e. sunny or shady.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Claudia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canberra
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2012

I stayed here about 2 months I was informed on check in weekly cleaning was included in the rate.
The cleaners never cleaned the room properly and then When i got home $395 was charged to my credit card for cleaning and some pre existing damage. They kept my credit card details from the initial booking and charged it later on
Stay away from this place. There are a lot of permanent owners and ferals illegally living in the complex flicking cigarette butts of the verandah etc. Im going to report that to cairns council as its zoned for holiday let.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Ben A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CascadeGardens, Manager at Cascade Gardens, responded to this review, May 2, 2012
This guest caused major damage to our property and insurance claims were made as a direct result of the damage caused. We have photograpic evidence of the damage and filth left by this guest. As our apartments are individually owned, the owner is also involved and can justify the charges made. These charges in no way covered the damage caused.

In addition to these issues, this guest addressed letting issues which are totally unfounded and of no concern to him. We also herein highlight to you the seriousness of the defamation claims against other guests.

As per Trip Advisors editorial guidelines, the following have been violated:

Profanity or threats
Personal insults
Hearsay
Content not relevant to tourists

I am happy to answer any further questions you may have in regard to this guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
90 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Cascade Gardens in September 2010 and enjoyed it so much we decided to return with our two granddaughters in September 2011, which we did. We had a family room which suited us as the two girls had single beds and we occupied the larger room which had a spa bath in the en-suite. There the trouble started. I could not get into the shower as the bath was so high, even the 14yr old had trouble getting in and out, and my husband had a fall getting out. So we all used the smaller bathroom. The beds could have had a mat or pads under the casters as the bed rolled every time you sat on it, this could be dangerous.

The rooms were very clean, and kitchen area suited our needs, the laundry room was good plus the patio at the rear was great for eating dinner outdoors. The girls enjoyed the pool and outside spa. We had to ask several times for missing crockery and the managers were not as obliging as the previous managers who could not do enough for the visitors Several things we asked for were not done..We would not stay there again on our next visit to Cairns although the location was excellent..

Room Tip: Quieter rooms on the South side,
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Deblonay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CascadeGardens, Manager at Cascade Gardens, responded to this review, April 29, 2012
Thank you for your feedback and we appreciate the high ratings you gave us in all areas. In response to this feedback, we have since placed castor cups under the feet of all beds and purchased all new kitchen supplies for all of the rooms. We are fully aware of the fact that the bath can be difficult to get in and out of and with future renovations, the bath will be removed and replaced with a double shower. We apologise if we came across as unobliging. As a family operated business, we pride ourselves on fantastic customer service and generally have a good repore with all guests, as we felt we had with your husband who happily visited reception for a chit chat every day during your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.1 mi away
Tropical Heritage Cairns
0.9 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 65 in Cairns
4.5 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ibis Styles Cairns
Ibis Styles Cairns
#16 of 65 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Park Regis City Quays
Park Regis City Quays
#14 of 65 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 522 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cairns Plaza Hotel
Cairns Plaza Hotel
#10 of 65 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,041 reviews
0.1 mi away
Coral Tree Inn
Coral Tree Inn
#19 of 65 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cascade Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cascade Gardens

Property: Cascade Gardens
Address: 175 Lake St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cascade Gardens 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you want to experience Cairns - do it in style and stay with us. We are a family run business and we live on site which gives our resort that personal touch. We love helping our guest and pride ourselves on making sure your holiday is the best it can possibly be. The resort lies in the Heart of Cairns, within a five minute walk to the Cairns CBD or our famous stunning lagoon pool which is located along the tranquil Cairns Esplanade. We offer fully furnished boutique style apartments equipped with everything you need for one guest or five. We have cute to boot studio apartments - perfect for couples on a romantic getaway or that conference with work. Our studios boast full kitchen facilities as well as LCD TV to watch whilst you relax in bed. Our desirable One Bedroom apartments are perfect for couples or Families. They offer that touch more privacy and come with full kitchen and washing facilities. Our Amazing two bedroom apartment is truly stunning. It boasts a massive master bedroom complete with en-suite and spa bath. There is also a second bathroom, huge living area and full kitchen and washing facilities. Truly beautiful! We also offer accommodation in a small dorm for backpackers who wish to stay in style and are looking for a more upmarket option. Our resort also offers our guests gym facilities, a public laundry on site including washing machines and dryers. A beautiful pool area complete with a bubbling spa, shady umbrellas and reclining chairs to melt the stress of daily life away. A large BBQ area perfect for a gathering with friends and family. We also offer a fully equipped tour desk to book all your tours to the amazing Great Barrier Reef to skydiving for all you adrenaline junkies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Cascade Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cascade Gardens Cairns
Cascade Gardens Hotel Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing