We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Interesting place to stay in Cairns” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Piermonde Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Piermonde Apartments
Ranked #9 of 89 Specialty Lodging in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Interesting place to stay in Cairns”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2013

We booked into these apartments for a weekend. We were very happy with the location and enjoyed the lack of interference from hotel staff - we hate that early call at the door from room service. Well situated for the restaurants we wanted to visit and very happy with the location and the views from the balcony.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TimZA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    75
    15
    3
    10
See reviews for
102
13
Solo
0
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

This hotel/apartment did surprise me with the room layout/ design and the service! Very friendly staff, even though the common area/ each floor corridor is very small (not much space to walk round) and stuffy but once you enter the room, the 2 bedroom apartment size is big enough for a family to stay, the balcony is too awesome to stay out there every night viewing down the ocean.

Overall: the service can compete with a 5 star hotel!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Whity T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013 via mobile

The bed was so hard that we called it chuck Norris. Seriously the hardest bed my wife and I have ever slept on. Pretty ordinary motel for the price. Struggled to park the 4x4 in the space provided. It was close to town thou.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SWHG_Operations, General Manager at Piermonde Apartments, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Dear Steve M
Re Chuck Norris

Thank you for taking the time to pass on your comments after your recent stay with the Park Regis Hotel Cairns. I appreciate your feedback and sincerely apologise for any disappointment or inconvenience caused during your stay.

Your comments have been received and I have addressed these with my housekeeping team. I thank you for bringing these matters and concerns to my attention. I must apologise for any inconvenience this may have caused you.

I have taken on board all your comments and discussed with the relevant departments concerned. I am very sorry that you had to encounter these issues. Here at the Park Regis Cairns as we are committed to providing a high standard of facilities and customer service and we very much value your comments and views in this instance.

Again, I thank you for bringing these matters to my attention and I personally hope that we may have the opportunity to welcome you back to Park Regis Cairns in the near future.

Yours sincerely


Wayne Booth
General Manager
Park Regis Cairns
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012

I booked this trip for my family 4 months ago and I am sure I ended up with the worst room in the hotel. We were stuck on the 3rd floor in front of the pool where swimmers can see into the whole apartment including the master bedroom. We were told to 'sit down' on check in at 2pm, as she needed to liaise with the cleaner to whether our room was ready. Once we were in our room, we told the receptionist that we did not want to be in front of the pool, she basically told us 'too bad'. I still have 4 days left here and have seen about 30 people come and go from the pool so I am sure that New Years will be no exception with the amount of young people staying here. So much for the nice views advertised on your website, we get a concrete wall and a heavily used pool to look at. I have just came from a resort in Airlie Beach and Palm Cove over the last 2 weeks and this place is a far cry from both of these, but far more expensive. They are basically rude and treated us like a number here. Being locals to the area we will not be returning unless we are shown some courtesy and surely the hotel was not booked out in August when I booked our family holiday! Funnily we ended up with the worst room.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MandyAlexander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012

We booked well in advance (4 months) to stay at these apartments asking for ocean views due to the good reviews given and also the fact that they were allegedly at the better end of the accommodation market in Cairns. When we checked in there was only one staff member available to take all check in, at a very busy time - 2.00pm. We got to our apartment and found that it is on the same floor as the pool, with all people using the pool being able to see right in to the main bedroom and living area of the apartment. Children playing is a nice thing, but the constant yelling did not make for a peaceful stay at all. We asked for another room but were abruptly advised that there were no others available and that was that.
Would not recommend this hotel for any visits, staff not very helpful, lift only goes to the upper level of parking, parking fees tacked on to the bill (I've never paid for parking at any hotel in Cairns before), furnishings and beds poor standard for the price paid to stay here.

Room Tip: Look for rooms in another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellerAust_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

We recently stayed here for two nights, we had a 3 bedroom and 2 bedroom apartment on the 15th floor with a view of the harbour. Both rooms were spacious, clean, well appointed and comfortable.
Beautiful to sit on the verandahs and look out over the water with a quiet drink. It is only a short walk to the Esplanade, Convention Centre (basketball), Casino and the shops. Will certainly return on our next trip to Cairns.

Room Tip: Get a higher level room overlooking the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Livestats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2012

I arranged a 3bdrm apartment here for a group of 7 people attending a conference in Cairns. The location was brilliant - 2 minutes from convention centre. The apartment was massive and had excellent quality furnishings, especially the couch and tv. We were on the 15th floor and had the harbour view, which was amazing too. The balcony is lovely for sunset drinks.
The main bedroom and ensuite were great. The other 2 bedrooms were comfortable enough, large and clean.
Downsides were not being able to check in until 3.30pm, 1.5hrs late. The complex seemed very understaffed for a very busy time of year. Also only having 2 keys for 7 people was very challenging.
Really good proximity to Cairns esplanade and shopping precincts.
Lots of walking options. But had free parking too :)

Room Tip: Harbour view if you can!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ManisNaomi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.1 mi away
Park Regis City Quays
Park Regis City Quays
#13 of 65 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 522 reviews
0.4 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
0.0 mi away
Jack & Newell Cairns Holiday Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Pullman Cairns International
0.1 mi away
Pullman Reef Hotel Casino
0.2 mi away
Hilton Cairns
Hilton Cairns
#6 of 65 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,092 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Piermonde Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Piermonde Apartments

Property: Piermonde Apartments
Address: 2-4 Lake St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 89 Specialty Lodging in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Piermonde Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Piermonde Apartments boasts some of the largest guest rooms in Cairns - making it the perfect choice for families and small groups in particular.Renowned for its spacious, stylish and superbly appointed 2 and 3 bedroom self-contained, air-conditioned apartments, this is a truly unique apartment hotel offering guests luxury and comfort in the heart of Cairns.All apartments feature huge bathrooms, spa or jet bath, full kitchen and laundry facilities, broadband internet, DVD players and video security intercom. Guests can enjoy the tropical sun from the privacy of their own oversized balcony with sweeping views across Cairns’ waterways and hinterland.Hotel facilities include outdoor spa, pool, BBQ and sundeck area. The 17-storey apartment hotel also provides undercover secure parking, business services, guest laundry, dry cleaning service, safe, luggage storage and tour booking expertise.Piermonde Apartments is located a leisurely stroll from Cairns’ famous Esplanade, Reef Casino, Marlin Marina and Night Markets as well as quality restaurants, shops and bars, ensuring handy access to all the delights this region has to offer. For guests attending tradeshows, conferences and other events, Cairns Convention Centre is conveniently located directly across the street from the hotel.With the hotel’s fusion of luxury, home comforts and a sought after Cairns harbour foreshore location – you may never want to leave Piermonde Apartments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Piermonde Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing