We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommend, wonderful staff”
Review of Reef Experience

Reef Experience
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: One Great Day at One Great price includes : city bus transfers, 2 spectacular Outer Barrier Reef locations, breakfast, wetsuit hire, 6 hours at the Reef, Marine Biologist Reef presentation, lunch, glass bottom boat, reef levies, afternoon tea your choice of an introductory dive or a certified dive. For people who can’t swim or aren’t confident in the water our friendly crew will take them on a guided snorkelProudly locally family owned and operated.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Columbia, Maryland
Level Contributor
68 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Highly recommend, wonderful staff”
Reviewed April 24, 2013

We used reef experience for our day trip to the explore the reef because our hotel recommended it and we were not disappointed. THey allow a free dive at the first reef stop and my husband was hooked! I enjoyed a snorkel tour at the second stop and would recommend this to anyone not diving. The food was also excellent and made the non-water time very enjoyable. I would highly recommend this company!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Jennifer T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,712 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,278
    282
    83
    37
    32
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Absolutely the best!!!”
Reviewed April 20, 2013

We had a choice of going either with Marine World or Reef Experience. We're so glad we chose Reef Experience because (1) we spent more time at two difference dive sites instead of one, (2) crew kept us informed and entertained at all times, (3) great instructors, (4) great service, (5) knowledgeable and very friendly crew. We highly recommend this tour and will definitely do it again if we have a chance to go back to Cairns. Thank you Reef Experience!!!!! (Those who went with Marine World weren't very happy: some flew back on the helicopter because they got bored.)

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank James W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundalk, Ireland
Level Contributor
88 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Definitely the best company to see the reef with.”
Reviewed April 17, 2013

Before arriving in Cairns i thoroughly researched all of the reef trips and this one came out on top. After our trip i can see why it is rated so highly. The boat is nice and big so it is ideal for people who get seasick. The staff are all very friendly and helpful. The food is fantastic with a huge selection, salads, fresh fruits, curries, sandwiches etc. We got a deal which involved snorkeling and a introductory scuba dive(it means you don't need a qualification to do the dive. The snorkeling was amazing and the scuba dive was well worth it too.The boat provides wet suits and stinger suits which are great as they help you float easily. The locations the boat goes to are great and there are no other boats at them so the water isn't too crowded. The reef itself is amazing, like nothing i have every seen, so many different fish and corals (i found Nemo!). The boat also has an on-board biologist who gives a talk so that you know what you are looking at. Everything feels very safe and everyone is friendly which results in a very comfortable experience. I would highly recommend this trip.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
6 Thank milkjunkie90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
92 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“great day out”
Reviewed April 12, 2013

This is a very good deal. The staff is well trained and re assuring and very clear on instructions. One of the instructors was a model LOL. It is the barrier reef so it is going to be good regardless. I went on a day when the sea was a little rough and it was raining but still enjoyed.Thanks to all the staff at reef experience, excellent communication via email and also at the office

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank LauB74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A good day trip”
Reviewed April 10, 2013 via mobile

When coming to Australia the thing that I was most looking forward to was The Great Barrier Reef, and I have to say it did not disappoint.
I hired an underwater camera and took over 1000 photos. The weather was a little disappointing as it rained, but I was in the water most of the time so it didn't bother me too much.
All food was included in the price and all the equipment, with the option of paying for a second dive, (the first was included in the price.) The boat however was a little dirty and could have done with a refurbishment, but I didn't go for the boat I went for the snorkelling.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank TheFiedlers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Reef Experience also viewed

 

Been to Reef Experience? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing