We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, basic accomodation”
Review of Koala Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Koala Beach Resort
Ranked #60 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Booked 4 nights here with some trepidation due to the rather mixed reviews, but really glad I did. To be honest the place does look a bit run-down, but no more than many a motel we have stayed at over the years. The 2 bedroom (7 bed) apartment, including kitchen, was basic but entirely adequate for the 3 of us and gave us far more space than a typical family hotel room. It looks like there hasn't been much spent on the place for a while and there was some obvious maintenance which needed to be done, but the housekeeping (sweep floor and empty bins) was done every day, and when some extra dusting was requested it was done straight away. The desk staff were excellent, really friendly and helpful with booking trips out to the reef and rainforest, and also getting on the phone and tracking down a late arriving tour bus. In fact it seemed like Theresa on the front desk was more or less running the place and making a pretty good job of it considering the limited resources at her disposal. The location is spot on, not right in the thick of the town but till only a couple of minutes walk away. The discounted meals in the Irish Pub would be very good value in the UK - for Aus they were unreal.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Androcles2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (117)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

69 - 75 of 117 reviews

Reviewed September 4, 2013

Really enjoyed my stay, the staff were super helpful and friendly and really went the extra mile. The room was everything I needed, nothing too flashy but perfect for the price. I could walk in less than 5 minutes to everything in Cairns, the location is really ideal - it's quiet at night, but you can walk safely to all the nightlife in about 50 metres distance, so the best of both worlds. Highly recommend this place to other travelers!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

I stayed at this hostel on three seperate nights only because of the cheap price (and I had a free night voucher from a Whitsundays tour). I honestly didn't mind the rooms. There are a lot of them and not a lot of people staying there from the looks of it, so I had a whole 6 bed to myself most of the daytime hours. I only ever shared with two other roommates max. The beds were comfortable, ensuite bathroom is a good bonus, and it was spacious. One or two nights the music and noise coming from a bar behind the hostel was really loud and distracting, but closing the window mostly helped.

However, the exterior was a nightmare. Like actually, I felt like I was walking into a potential slasher flick set at night. There is barely any lighting out in the courtyard aside from an eerie blue light above the sign and some dim lighting near the kitchen. The kitchen is dirty and cramped too. You need to hire out your dish sets and even pots and pans if you need them, but reception has such limited hours that this is a pain if you are checking in late or out early. The whole place seemed in disuse, like somebody left a creepy motel to abandonment. Also there seemed to be little to no social atmosphere, just people quietly making their meals sometimes and then keeping to themselves to eat at the picnic table or retreat to their rooms. I never saw anyone just hanging out outside. Since the whole place is set up motel style as well with about three-four stories (can't remember exactly), you need to drag your luggage up the stairs if you are anywhere but on the ground floor.

Reception was friendly and helpful, however, and the location was good. My advice though- only stay here if you're seriously tight on cash and just looking for a calm night of sleep. If you want to make any friends at all or even just hang out outside, it's too depressing.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
1  Thank Maria M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

Enjoyed 2 nights.. Close to everything especially the restaurant area money for value excellent. Staff very helpful when we arrived and needed an extra room. Nothing was a problem. Room was basic but clean and tidy. Even offstreet parking for our car. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paul19577
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2013

The location is great and the staff were really helpful. We liked that we didn't need a car, walk to all the restaurants and bars and get picked up for our tour to the great barrier reef. The hotel is not brand new but clean and comfortable. The rooms are apartment styled with small kitchens so we saved by eating in some days. Woolworths just a few hundred meters away. We would stay again for location and price. They do a weekly rate that saves even more.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Petra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2013

fresh, clean ,affordable ,
full ensuites , crisp rooms more than satisfactory for the amazing low price,. close to carins night life walking distance to town.staff were excellent so friendly and assisted in making our stay memorable gave excellent local information to assist in the choice of tours! couldnt ask for better , thanks guys we will be back for sure!!!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2013

Was told by the male receptionist I could not stay as it was 'Management Policy' - only those under 30 years were allowed! (That is against the law under the Australian & State Discrimination Acts!) Cairns is the only place in the world this has happened in all my travels. I had booked online & had already stayed 3 days. Strange being turned away from such a dump. But had got on well with people & location is good.

The kitchen stank and most power points did not work, there was electrical cable snaking across the floor. Same amout of equipment as found in an appartment - for so many people (4 electric elements - so 4 cooking pots at time, slow cooker, electric frypan, 1 jug for hot water which disappeared, 2 microwaves, 1 twin bowl sink). Little socialising. Bar & restaurant had closed down. Pool had things floating in it. 1 TV in kitchen that can't be heard over noisy fridge. Rooms, especially bathroom showed signs of neglect, mold, stains. Security was not good as you could walk in through the car park. No staff at night & reception is open few hours a day - so early checkout is hard. Overall - a state of decay.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank brucefromaustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.3 mi away
Hides Hotel Cairns
Hides Hotel Cairns
#55 of 64 in Cairns
352 reviews
2.1 mi away
Palm Royale Cairns
Palm Royale Cairns
#29 of 64 in Cairns
500 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tropical Heritage Cairns
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Cairns New Chalon
Cairns New Chalon
#43 of 64 in Cairns
69 reviews
1.0 mi away
Tropical Queenslander Cairns Holiday Studio & Apartment
0.5 mi away
Cairns Queens Court
Cairns Queens Court
#26 of 64 in Cairns
504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Koala Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Koala Beach Resort

Address: 137-139 Lake St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
Price Range: $30 - $104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Koala Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Koala Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Koala Beach Hotel Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing