We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not too bad for the price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Waterfront Terraces
Ranked #42 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
Reviewed July 26, 2013

The hosts were friendly and gave good advice on where the better places to eat were close to the apartments.

Having come from the Jack and Newell, these are NOT luxury apartments. The location is North Cairns and is a long walk from the center of town. You will probably need a car to access central Cairns.

The apartment we had was on the ground floor with easy access to the pool. The apartment had a very musty smell when we first arrived and by the time we left, we had managed to air out most of the smell. It seemed to come from the laundry/bathroom which does not have good ventilation. The bathroom had suffered water damage at some stage with signs of mould in some places. Bear in mind you are in the tropics and this sort of thing happens.

The fittings and furniture were adequate and the kitchen appliances were relatively modern. Overall a usable and functional apartment with good flow from the living area to the pool side outdoor area.

The apartment we were in had the air conditioning compressor units for 4 apartments on the other side of the bedroom wall within a few feet of where the bed head is. Fortunately, the weather wasn't hot enough for all of the apartments to use the air conditioning, but one of the apartments decided to start the air conditioner at 4.30 in the morning and that was the end of any sleep for the night.

The noise from the aircraft taking of and landing at Cairns airport was quite loud but doesn't happen too often and does not appear to be during the night.

The pool itself was clean and quite enjoyable and it includes a spa as part of the pool which is on a timer. Car parking was quite good with easy access. We didn't use the wifi as it was additional cost. The esplanade is out the front with some excellent walking and exercise areas.

Overall it was ok for the special price that we got. I would recommend that you look out for the quite good deals that they can do. Also bear in mind that the other ground floor and above units probably wont suffer from the air conditioner noise.

Room Tip: Don't get apartment 7 if you are a light sleeper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (114)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 114 reviews

Reviewed June 22, 2013

Stayed here for 12 nights and while I find it hard to believe the 4.5 star rating it is very comfortable and the position is excellent. We had a one bedroom apartment on the 2nd level with great views over The Esplanade and Trinity Bay. Apartment was very clean with full laundry. Kitchen utensils could do with updating but were adequate for our needs. For the price, we would certainly stay here again and would recommend to friends.

Room Tip: Rooms on levels 2 and 3 have the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank golfsem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

we stayed yet again at Waterfront, really enjoyed it, loved the views and sea breezes from the second floor, tremendous 10 minute walk along The Esplanade into town; great management, worth the effort

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank viccarson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

We chose to stay here after reports from friends. We planned on 3 nights here and ended up staying 4. Despite being last minute, this was no problem for the staff. Our apartment was clean, comfortable & had everything you need while having a holiday with the family. Our kids are only young, but both felt very comfortable in the apartment - both actually wanting to go to bed on the first night - novelty of having a "new bedroom". Got to come to Cairns to have a baby later in the year and will stay here again if vacancies. Great location, great for families. Overall a relaxing break! Thanks.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sugarman01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Great little apartments with beautiful and well equip kitchen. Andrew was super helpful is all aspect, I never needed to lift a finger to organise both of the tours we went on. Made our stay extremely easy and welcoming! Thank you very much!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tinaballerina25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2013

I have stayed here on a number of occasions when in Cairns, choosing it because it has a full size kitchen in it which gives us the option to buy food and cook if we chose.

We always stayed in a one bedroom and were put on the ground floor all but the last time I stayed there. The second floor was great (despite having lug bag up a flight of steps) - thoroughly enjoyed sitting on the balcony morning and evening and watch the world go by on the Esplanade.

Apartments are clean, well equipped and comes with parking.
Management seemed pleasant enough, helpful with making sure apartment was accessible when checking in afterhours. I didn't book any tours through the apartments so can't comment on that.

Positives are its quiet location, prices are good (you can usually get a good internet deal)

Negatives are that its a good solid fifteen minute walk to town which is fine in the dry season when cooler but can be hot in the wet season but you don't get the city noise here which is a bonus.

Pool is clean, easily accesible.

Esplanade on your doorstep, view of ocean.

A good choice if you're needing an apartment style accomodation.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Clarkies_Travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2012

We stayed here in November this year, specifically for the Eclipse. Many places in Cairns had sold out when I started planning our trip in April but Waterfront Terraces still had vacancies and I was happy to see it had good reviews. It is not modern, however it is clean and had everything we needed for a stay with two young children. My girls loved the pool (and spa) and the fact that we could walk to Muddy's Playground (fantastic place for kids) and even into Cairns city if we desired (though we usually drove so the 5 year old didn't whinge!). The laundry was very good and we were able to wash frequently. Andrew (Manager) assisted us to book a day trip to Kuranda and was very helpful when I needed to find a Doctor for one of my daughters when she got conjunctivitis. If you are travelling with young children there is a place called Baby Equipment Hire which is in walking distance to Waterfront Terraces and we hired a pram from there for our trip - very easy and they dropped off for us too!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RosEmmaKate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.1 mi away
Coral Towers Holiday Suites
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside
0.2 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 64 in Cairns
609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
181 The Esplanade
181 The Esplanade
#30 of 64 in Cairns
142 reviews
0.8 mi away
Cascade Gardens
Cascade Gardens
#21 of 64 in Cairns
195 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cairns Queenslander Hotel and Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterfront Terraces? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterfront Terraces

Address: 233 The Esplanade, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Cairns
#25 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
Price Range: $109 - $179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Waterfront Terraces 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Waterfront Terraces reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterfront Terraces Cairns
Waterfront Terraces Hotel Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing