We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK !!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Waterfront Terraces
Ranked #45 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
Reviewed August 10, 2011

We stayed at these apartments for 10 days. Found the appartment very musty and could smell a distinct :air freshener" smell when we arrived. A little forethought in maybe opening the windows and letting some air and light into the apartment would have gone a long way. Our initial reaction was disappointment but the longer we were there the better ( we got used to the mustiness and the smell disappeared) The apartment was very dated ( except for modern kitchen!) and maybe not as clean as I would have liked but overall it was probably good value for the money we paid and the location was excellent. But certainly not the 41/2 star that is advertised to be. Katie one of the 2 managers was excellent and certainly knows her customer service!!

Room Tip: Ask for first floor room - the lower ones do not have view
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kaytpnsw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (112)
There are newer reviews for Waterfront Terraces
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

62 - 68 of 112 reviews

Reviewed June 27, 2011

Waterfront Terraces is the perfect place to stay in Cairns if you have a car. It is right on the esplanade with beautiful views of the bay and parkland. You can take a walk along the esplanade every morning(about 10-15 minutes) with the locals or drive into town in a couple of minutes. It is the quieter end of the esplanade with just the sound of birds in the morning.
The pool and tropical surrounds with beautiful orchids is very inviting. The apartment is well equipped with everything you would need for a week's stay. I want to go back next year.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eliz07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2011

While in Cairns, Australia, we stayed in Waterfront Terraces which was the best value of all places we stayed during our entire Australian trip. The facility is upscale (e.g., marble kitchen counter tops, ceramic heating plate, to name a few features). Everything is nice and clean. There is a spacious living room that extends to a balcony, looking out to the seaside park and ocean. We found the built-in wash machine and dryer particularly useful for visitors to this tropical region. The city centre is within walking distance along the beautiful seaside park. There are ample parking spaces within the complex. I was particularly impressed by Kate who receives and looks after all the guests. She is very friendly and knowledgeable on everything we needed to know about the area. In addition to answering all our questions, she also recommended and booked the most suitable tour for us. Jay Guo from Canada

Room Tip: Great place to stay for a family
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jay_Guo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2011

We were due to arrive at Waterfront Terraces on Wednesday 23rd Feb. At one oclock on the 22nd Feb we suffered a devastating earthquake in Christchurch NZ and had to cancel at the very last minute. The staff at the hotel were kind and caring and cancelled our booking at no charge except the booking fee, which must have been a loss for them. We have found them to be exceptional in our dealings with them, and will stay there when we can. Thank you.

Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
2  Thank travelpro5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Waterfront Terraces not long after Cyclone Yasi came to town. We were in the process of booking a reef snorkeling trip as they were battening down the hatches and even throughout that the staff was extremely responsive via email. Luckily Cairns was spared the worst of the cyclone and our trip proceeded as planned.

We arrived at the hotel late at night and easily accessed the lock box to get our key and found our room. We had a one bedroom apartment on the second floor. Everything was neat and clean and the a/c was much better than at our previous hotel in Sydney. Unfortunately, that was everywhere except for the in the bedroom, but at least there was a ceiling fan to help out. The bathroom is definitely dated, but the shower strength was great and made up for it. We really enjoyed having a balcony to sit out on and relax.

As for location, yes it is a bit of a walk (maybe 15-20 minutes?) to the main area of shops and restaurants, but there are enough things nearby (bottle shop/restaurants in neighboring hotels, grocery store a few blocks away) if you don't want to go all the way into town anytime you need anything.

Ultimately, we had a great experience at this hotel because of the staff. There are loads of rules posted everywhere, but I assume they are mainly to be used with problem guests or more for high season because the staff always said "no worries" whenever we needed anything :)

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travelh00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2010

On our travels in Oz, a country where almost everyone seems pleased to see you, this was one of the warmest and most helpful we received. Right on the seafront at Cairns, but far enough away (about 20 min walk along the seafront) from the marina etc to be quiet, the location was ideal for us. A supermarket, bakery and wine shop all handy made self-catering easy. The apartment was spacious and clean with a balcony overlooking the ocean, and the warmest swimming pool in Australia. We would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Brist0lians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2010

We stayed 3 nights here. Its located on the esplanade...but far enough away from the busy main street. We did need to get a cab into the main street but it was only $10. We walked along the esplanade each night which was nice. It was spacious & had a balcony overlooking the beach. The air con was great & each room had fans. The kitchen & bathroom were a bit daggy & rundown but adequate. There was a little laundry. The reception booked our 2 day trips 1. Kurunda 2. Green Island. We needed to stay an extra night but the staff weren't flexible with that as they needed to arrange a cleaner & it would of cost $280 which seemed unreasonable. So we booked in at Park Regis which was great just for 1 night & only $115.
I would recommend staying here but don't expect trendy, modern rooms.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AudreyandMax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded January 26, 2011

The reviewer mentions here "We needed to stay an extra night but the staff weren't flexible with that as they needed to arrange a cleaner & it would of cost $280 which seemed unreasonable" in regard to their request for an extra night. We would like to point out that to have extended would have required a room change and that it was therefore treated as a one night stay, requiring a separate exit clean. One nights stays are usually not available due to the hgh cost of cleaning (particularly in Peak Season) and preparing a room and if they are let out for one night it is always at the full seasonal rack rate. Not to do so would be unfair on the owners of the apartments. We have substantial discounts for longer stays where cleaning costs are spread across a number of nights so I suspect this is where the surprise came from.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.1 mi away
Coral Towers Holiday Suites
0.2 mi away
181 The Esplanade
181 The Esplanade
#31 of 64 in Cairns
141 reviews
0.2 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 64 in Cairns
601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside
0.1 mi away
Cairns Queenslander Hotel and Apartments
0.8 mi away
Cascade Gardens
Cascade Gardens
#21 of 64 in Cairns
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterfront Terraces? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterfront Terraces

Address: 233 The Esplanade, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#26 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
Price Range: $114 - $183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Waterfront Terraces 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Waterfront Terraces reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterfront Terraces Cairns
Waterfront Terraces Hotel Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing