We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tiny cages, stressed animals”

Cairns ZOOM and Wildlife Dome
Book In Advance
More Info
$140.69*
and up
Australia Multi-City Attractions Pass
Ranked #39 of 157 Tours in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Cairns ZOOM is the world's first Challenge Ropes Course in a wildlife park, situated in the centre of Cairns on the rooftop of The Reef Hotel Casino. Experience adventure at varying heights and levels of difficulty on the Mid-ZOOM and Hi-ZOOM courses with 65 elements of crossings and ziplines - including one which takes you directly over a 4 metre saltwater crocodile! The PowerJump is a free-fall adventure with a 13m drop, whilst the Dome-Climb offers spectacular views of the city, the Coral Sea and surrounding landscapes. Make sure you spend some time interacting with all our wildlife, with Shows and Presentations throughout the day. Keep an eye out for Snowy the rare white kookaburra, as well as turtles, pythons, freshwater crocodiles, lizards, gliders and hand-feed our pademelons.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Wheelchair access, Bathroom facilities, Activities for young children
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Tiny cages, stressed animals”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

if you love animals DON'T support this place. the cages are WAY too small, and especially the koalas looked really stressed and sad :(, the place stunk of animal urine and cost way too much. staff nice.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank tactnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaPTA_Group, Owner at Cairns ZOOM and Wildlife Dome, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
We're sorry to hear you didn’t enjoy your experience at the Cairns ZOOm & Wildlife Dome. In regards to the size of our enclosures, they exceed the Queensland standards for Zoos. We also adhere to the strict Koala handling Code of Practice in place across the state to ensure our koalas are not distressed, and regular vet checks have shown no indication of stress. We hose and clean throughout the park every morning, and the koala enclosures twice a day. Furthermore, all of our wildlife keepers are keen animal lovers, and are passionate about the conservation of our native species.

- Ben Woodward, Family Owner / Sales & Marketing Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

616 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    237
    215
    102
    37
    25
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ventura, California
Level Contributor
257 reviews
99 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Wild Animals High Above the City!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013

My partner and I visited Cairns Dec. 2012.We visited the dome on a too windy for the beach day.
The animals were amazing and the staff was very knowledgable and friendly. We planned our day so we could listen to all the animal talks by the staff. These talks certainly made the visit educational and interesting. If a visitor just rushes through, they miss a lot!
The huge croc being fed was worth the admission.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sundancer93003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
158 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Something for everyone”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

We finally made the trip to the Dome and weren't disappointed. We let the boys try out the new "Cairns Zoom". I think we had as much fun watching them as they did completing the challenges. I certainly liked the layout and being able to get close up with the number of birds etc.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank LiveCairns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“disappointing and poor service”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2012

we ended up spending more time outside the dome to confirm our tickets (even though we had 4 park pass) as the staff was busy taking koala photos for tourists rather than inside. Its about 15 minute maximum route inside the dome and surely i would rate it the poorest of all the attractions that i visited in Cairns.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank shea_20k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaPTA_Group, Owner at Cairns ZOOM and Wildlife Dome, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
We’re sorry to hear you were disappointed with your visit to Cairns ZOOm & Wildlife Dome. This attraction is a wildlife immersion exhibit - that is, the majority of our animals are free-flying or free-roaming, as opposed to on display in cages or enclosures. As a result, visitors will see most animals opportunistically as they walk through the environment, and should take their time to fully appreciate the wildlife around them.

Educational shows and presentations take place throughout the day and are the best ways to interact with the animals and keepers, ranging from feed out tours to bird, reptile and mammal shows.

We have recently employed new staff since opening the Cairns ZOOm attraction, and have implemented ongoing customer service training to ensure they are welcoming and helpful, greeting every customer within the first moment they step into our reception.

- Ben Woodward, Family Owner / Sales & Marketing Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
98 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Zoom through the wildlife in the heart of the city !”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

You do not even have to travel far as you need to when visiting other zoos/wildlife parks outside of the Cairns area as this one is right in the middle of Cairns City on top of the Reef Casino complex. They have also recently added another attraction called Cairns Zoom at an addtional cost which is a cable system going in and around the wildlife exhibits - even one that goes across Golliaths enclosure (Golliath is a 4 meter+ Saltwater Croc). Lots of fun especially if you have kids. Lots of Australian birds - many nesting, parrots and cockatoes as well as Koalas on display (I note that others mention that cameras cause stress to the koalas - not sure if I agree as the Koalas are all bred in captivity and are very used to constant contact with humans). Also worth noting that this attraction is a good option when it rains.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Wade B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cairns ZOOM and Wildlife Dome also viewed

 

Been to Cairns ZOOM and Wildlife Dome? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing