We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“central location”
Review of The Hotel Cairns

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Hotel Cairns
Ranked #50 of 63 Hotels in Cairns
Reviewed November 12, 2013

location is central,supermarket nearby,Reef terminal,swimming lagoon & night market near beach-all attractions are nearby & easily walkable. All markets, all types of eateries including Mcdonalds(24 hrs open) are very near.hotel is good,has swimming pool,restaurant too.Services very poor-asked for a plate in room & denied.Wifi is not without heavy charges even in lobby. no house keeping, no room service. Rooms perse are clean with linen & toiletries. Tea / coffee maker provided in room. Room size fairly big with balcony.

Room Tip: i stayed on 3rd floor-no.310 ,room was quiet,neat fairly okay,AC working.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jyotsna907
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (459)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

190 - 196 of 459 reviews

Reviewed November 9, 2013

Room nice .. We stayed in a plantation room ... Room service staff are Excellent .. We stayed one week but would not do that again .. Probably great for one night or two max .. Breakfast menu average .. But closes too early ... We did not chose to eat at the restaurant as it was very over priced .. There is so many cheaper and choices in the centre .. Close to everything is a big plus ..we were annoyed that that TV Chanel's we're not catered to the Australian guest as we were so rudely told by Mr Bald Man .. Car hire great ... Only $45 plus fuel .. No time or mileage limit ... All reception staff nice but " one " ... Can also get a bit noisy with people coming and going at all hours .. But otherwise .. Average but no frills .. Basic ..

Room Tip: Look at All the options in cairns
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pru H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here in between stops to other destinations on our recent holiday! Hotel Cairns is a great hotel with a very tropical vibe to the place! As has been mentioned its very close to the esplanade which is where all the restaurants and bars are!

The room was nice and spacious and served its purpose for what we needed! It has all the basics and is good value for money! We booked a deal which included buffet breakfast and we were very happy with the selection!

All in all would definitely stay here again!

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Jummi88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2013

We stayed at the hotel for the 2nd time (in 9 years) recently. Very handy location, close to the Esplanade & easy walk into the centre of Cairns. We stayed for 2 nights, which seemed a good amount of time in Cairns. The balcony was quite private and had enough room to move around. The bathroom was in need of a makeover though and quite 'cosy'. White shutters were a nice touch.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roz B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2013

on a trip to New Guinea, then scuba on the Great Barrier Reef, we booked at this hotel for one night on arrival, 3 nights between segments of our trip and one night before departure. the location was perfect, the rooms were pleasant, and particularly the staff was excellent (friendly, helpful, knowledgable). I would recommend this to anyone

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jane m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

We had one night here. The rooms were comfortable and had a lovely tropical feel. The bathroom was a little aged but was marble and was separate to sink and mirror which was very convenient. We didn't eat here but were with family that did and they enjoyed the restaurant. Lovely balconies and white shutters, lipstick palms and safe car parking. Convenient location, easily walked to esplanade and CBD.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bethrod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

This is the second time we've stayed at the Hotel Cairns and will probably stay there again. The $100 deal is great. We used this twice and and meals were lovely. Rooms are large with a great balcony. The bathroom in the room we had needs updating as it looks a bit tired compared to the room itself. Location is ideal - handy to esplanade, cafes and the night market.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barb79b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.2 mi away
Cairns Plaza Hotel
Cairns Plaza Hotel
#11 of 63 in Cairns
1,151 reviews
1 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 63 in Cairns
620 reviews
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Cairns City
Comfort Inn Cairns City
#35 of 63 in Cairns
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside
0.6 mi away
Park Regis City Quays
Park Regis City Quays
#18 of 63 in Cairns
561 reviews
0.1 mi away
Coral Tree Inn
Coral Tree Inn
#21 of 63 in Cairns
525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hotel Cairns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel Cairns

Address: Cnr Florence & Abbott Sts, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
Price Range: $86 - $156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hotel Cairns 4*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Cairns, with its impeccably private and tropical ambience, is a 4 star resort hotel superbly positioned in the central business district of Cairns, one block from the famous Esplanade. Its architectural profile and exterior facade is one of the most beautiful examples of Queenslander heritage style, and is a popular talking point among many of the hotel’s visitors and guests. The hotel has undergone a complete remodeling and refurbishment to emerge as the classic accommodation of choice in Tropical North Queensland. Privately owned and operated by an Australian family, the Bakers, The Hotel Cairns is popular with international and domestic visitors and locals from the Cairns hinterland who appreciate quality and attention to detail. Set back from the street and well shaded by tropical trees and plants, The Hotel Cairns features a tour booking desk, a sparkling blue outdoor pool and spa, a modern, state of the art cardio gymnasium, a choice of function rooms, an onsite car park and a welcoming indoor/outdoor restaurant, The Plantation Bar & Grill. The Hotel Cairns is conveniently located just 10 minutes drive from the Airport, and an easy 5 minutes walking distance to shops and eateries in Cairns’ CBD. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Hotel Cairns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing