We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Hotel”
Review of The Hotel Cairns

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Hotel Cairns
Ranked #50 of 63 Hotels in Cairns
Reviewed January 13, 2013

The hotel staff was very pleasant. We arrived early so they kept our bags in a locked luggage area. The room was very spacious and inviting with lush greenery views. I could have spent my time lounging in the room with the doors overlooking the greenery reading a book. However, thats not why I came to Cairns-I came to dive! The pricing of the food was way over priced but luckily we have options to go elsewhere. They also provided you with coupons if you wanted to eat there at the hotel. Pleasant stay-would stay again-but would bring some snacks.

Room Tip: Food was great but pricey.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank divergirls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (459)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

236 - 242 of 459 reviews

Reviewed December 16, 2012

Stayed here on locals deal,$165 with $100 voucher for dinner although the main is a bit pricey i thought is was nice something i've never tried before.Cooking on a hot rock.I had the emu,croc and roo,nice.Rooms were pretty clean and as a housekeeper myself thats always what i look at.

Room Tip: 2nd floor plantation room at very end with courtyard outside
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kazzam57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2012

This hotel is located one block from the Esplanade, so is very conveniently located. The building is older, but has been very well maintained. Rooms are clean and large, with balconies. We stayed for only one night, which was caused by a delayed departure flight, but would have stayed there longer if we had known about it earlier.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cortescat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2012

A buffet with very poor quality food and very little of it. Food temperatures very poor and dangerous for health. Crockery chipped - be careful to check the coffee mugs for cracks. If you must, have toast and fruit.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EssenceOfGoodTaste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2012

Great location (very close to the Esplanade), good room with nice balcony, nice bed, quiet, lovely pool. They lent you a Smart car at no cost as well which is very convenient for beach escapades. Breakfast is good, dinner at restaurant is decent (but a bit expensive). Would be better with some bottles of water provided for convenience with the room. Laundry available.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nadia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2012

The staff at The Hotel Cairns is the only reason to stay here--Tong & the Reception staff and the very kind housekeepers made our two nights here very pleasant! But the rooms are spartan, noisy, and small--and desperately in need of mattress covers & better window-coverings! The restaurant is a joke-- over-priced, under-staffed, and sloooooow!

Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
1  Thank Pam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2012

Most of the hotel staff were friendly and accommodating.
We booked a plantation room and were kindly permitted to book in early.
The room itself was dark but seemed ok, the bathroom however desperately needs refurbishing.The cleaning was not up to standard but that may have been because we were early. The main problem arose when the neighbouring occupants arrived in their room, we could hear every word they were saying (through interconnecting door) whilst we were resting on our bed!!! My husband advised the reception staff who said they were unable to move us that night but would do so the next day.
True to their word we were moved to another Plantation room which was cleaner and quieter but unfortunately the toilet pipe leaked when the toilet was flushed.
We enjoyed the breakfasts the selection of fresh tropical fruit was wonderful.
We didn't get a chance to use the pool but it looked very nice.

Room Tip: avoid rooms with interconnecting doors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ThomKatz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.2 mi away
Cairns Plaza Hotel
Cairns Plaza Hotel
#11 of 63 in Cairns
1,151 reviews
1 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 63 in Cairns
620 reviews
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Cairns City
Comfort Inn Cairns City
#35 of 63 in Cairns
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside
0.6 mi away
Park Regis City Quays
Park Regis City Quays
#18 of 63 in Cairns
561 reviews
0.1 mi away
Coral Tree Inn
Coral Tree Inn
#21 of 63 in Cairns
525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hotel Cairns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel Cairns

Address: Cnr Florence & Abbott Sts, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
Price Range: $86 - $156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hotel Cairns 4*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Cairns, with its impeccably private and tropical ambience, is a 4 star resort hotel superbly positioned in the central business district of Cairns, one block from the famous Esplanade. Its architectural profile and exterior facade is one of the most beautiful examples of Queenslander heritage style, and is a popular talking point among many of the hotel’s visitors and guests. The hotel has undergone a complete remodeling and refurbishment to emerge as the classic accommodation of choice in Tropical North Queensland. Privately owned and operated by an Australian family, the Bakers, The Hotel Cairns is popular with international and domestic visitors and locals from the Cairns hinterland who appreciate quality and attention to detail. Set back from the street and well shaded by tropical trees and plants, The Hotel Cairns features a tour booking desk, a sparkling blue outdoor pool and spa, a modern, state of the art cardio gymnasium, a choice of function rooms, an onsite car park and a welcoming indoor/outdoor restaurant, The Plantation Bar & Grill. The Hotel Cairns is conveniently located just 10 minutes drive from the Airport, and an easy 5 minutes walking distance to shops and eateries in Cairns’ CBD. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Hotel Cairns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing