We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic day!”
Review of TUSA Dive

TUSA Dive
Book In Advance
More Info
$154.24*
and up
Great Barrier Reef Eco Snorkel and Dive Cruise from Cairns Including Lunch
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Cairns based, TUSA Dive are the day tour scuba diving and snorkelling specialists to the Great Barrier Reef. With more than 25 years experience in taking visitors to the reef, TUSA Dive strive to make your Cairns reef tour as memorable, educational and exciting, as it is possible to be.The Great Barrier Reef is the largest coral reef system in the world, composed of over 2,900 individual reefs and 900 islands stretching for 2,600 km (1,600 mi) along the coast of Queensland, in Australia's Coral Sea. Labeled as one of the 7 natural wonders of the world, and a World Heritage listed region, visitors come from the all over the planet to visit this incredible icon... Our Great Barrier Reef.Experienced scuba divers and snorkellers alike can travel to the outer reefs in ultimate comfort on board Cairns' newest and best reef day boat, the TUSA 6. Launched in August 2011, the 24m TUSA 6 was custom designed for Great Barrier Reef cruising, cairns diving and snorkelling, and each day visits two unique reef locations from Tusa's choice of 16 spectacular dive and snorkel sites.Tusa Dive's professional and friendly dive crew are on hand throughout the day to assist you in ever way, and can provide education for snorkeling, first time "introductory scuba diving" (PADI Discover Scuba course), PADI & SSI Referral Courses, and PADI Open Water courses.For divers looking for more than a day trip, multi-day scuba packages are available for day touring and Tusa 6's big sister, the Spirit of Freedom provides 3 to 7 day liveaboard diving expeditions to the iconic dive destinations of the Cod Hole and Osprey Reef in the Coral Sea.TUSA Dive are proud to be accredited as an Advanced Ecotourism Operator, committed to providing a service that reflects our responsibility to contribute to the conservation of our Great Barrier Reef Marine Park and pass on this rich heritage to future generations.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Stairs / elevator, Activities for older children
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic day!”
Reviewed February 3, 2013

We booked this trip as part of a stag weekend away and to say we weren't in the best shape in the morning would be an understatement. But the crew were amazing, friendly, fun, knowledgable and enthusiastic. They made the day really.
The dive sites and lunch were also fantastic. I cannot speak highly enough of the whole day. Amazing memories.
Just want to say a special thankyou to Remes for his one liners all day, made a hunger over group very happy!
Cant wait to come back!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank David_Sion_1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,146 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    863
    171
    57
    34
    21
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“Amazing crew, boat, lunch and experience”
Reviewed February 3, 2013

My boyfriend and I recently took a trip to Cairns and on the top of our list was "visit the reef". a family member of mine works at Tusa's dive shop located on the Esplanade so we were reccommended by her, and I am so very glad we were.

The crew are friendly, helpful, enthusiastic and on the ball. you have the option of signing up for "more dives" once you are on the boat too.

With a load of about 40 people on the day we went out, the crew did an amazing job kitting everyone up, safety briefing everyone and generally just making sure the passangers knew what they were doing. it cant be easy trying to organise 40odd people and they do it with such a can do, happy attitude! i cannot praise them enough.

We visited two sights, "flynn reef" and "oasis"...amazing! bright coral, fish, tutrles, reef sharks! i was so impressed i didnt want to leave the water...oh and they have a photographer on board caputring moments throughout the day and at the end u have a choice of going through them and ordering any you may want.

Lunch on board was an aray of breads, quiche, salad, tea, coffee, soft drink, cold water, pasta salads and meats...plus its a buffet, go back as much as you like.

all in all i had the most amazing time, such a well oiled machine, so enjoyable and i would reccommend it to anyone!..well done Tusa6

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jemma P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great bunch of people to dive with”
Reviewed January 31, 2013

We had 3 great days diving with the very professional guys on Tusa with 3 dives per day. The boat never felt crowded (though snorklers sitting on the dive platform chatting while you try to get out with full kit was annoying). The staff where always friendly, professional and safety oriented and the equipment on loan was of a good quality. I cannot recommend them enough and we would certainly dive with them again if we get back down to Oz

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank JohnST_65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great for beginners and nervous Divers!”
Reviewed January 31, 2013

i have dived with Tusa twice now and both times they have beem exemplary. The first time I went with them I didn't tell them I was an experienced, licensed diver who had lost thier nerve. I did a resort dive and it was so well organised and unrushed they checked the divers were happy and confident every step of the way and it got me back into diving.
The second time i went with Tusa I had a 14 year French student with us who had never even snorkled before. After the intial briefing for a resort dive one of the dive masters who was french speaking and had spotted our young guest took her aside and went through the briefing in her own language to ensure she had understood everything.
When it came to the actual dive our young guest was unable to descend. She was told to hop back on the boat and she would be looked after. And she was after the planned dives were completed the fantastic Figian divemaster came and took her into the water helping her every step of the way and (metaphorically) held her hand throughout the entire dive. The guys were all wonderful and made our day out a life memory. Thank you TUSA.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Z4ZUMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Professional, Safety Oriented and Friendly Staff”
Reviewed January 30, 2013

Was a bit worried on my first round since there were a lot of divers (over 20) plus snorkelers (no clue on count) plus discover scuba divers (no clue on count).

However, the system that TUSA has is extremely safe and works. They triple check to ensure everybody is on board after each dive and are methodical in getting your next tank up and going.

The staff is very friendly and has a can do attitude (I'm horrible at names but remembered Sarah who was really good and very helpful; as were a couple of other girls and guys on there but I can't name...bad with names remember :)?). You can tell they all love what they do and work as one cohesive unit helping one another to get the job done.

All around for such a big operation they have it nailed down. Boat was beautiful and included 2 showers, four bathrooms, two floors (each floor had and air conditioned room for those that got plenty hot). Free sun tan lotion included (use it don't burn like me!).

Went two days in a row and was very happy my first dives on the great barrier reef was with TUSA.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank BigScubaDiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed TUSA Dive also viewed

 

Been to TUSA Dive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing