We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (139)
Filter reviews
139 results
Traveler rating
38
30
14
7
50
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
38
30
14
7
50
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 139 reviews
Reviewed June 1, 2017

No night manager, problems unresolved. Had a bed near a window with a missing pane, when it rained late one night half of my bed was soaked - no one to ask for another bed, no sleep, very uncomfortable night. Complained to new management - too bad, still had to pay. They thought they were being generous by refunding extra nights I'd paid in advance for. Pffft!

Room tip: stay elsewhere
Date of stay: May 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank LetsGoFamily2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2017 via mobile

Room was dirty, bathrooms were worse. Only 4 working between the whole hostel when we stayed. Barely any kitchen equipment. Location was good but can get better rooms in the same place for the same price.

Date of stay: March 2017
Thank 651emmaq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2017 via mobile

Staff were unfriendly we got there at 12 for check in they told us it was 2, (it has since been changed but we checked booking.com and it said check in was 12)
The pool was okay but small.
The rooms itself are a disgrace - have you guys ever heard of a hoover?! Buy one and hoover properly!
And there are no curtains just disgusting shower curtains that are falling down. The window slates were missing which resulted in me waking up with a spider bite on my leg (had this checked by a doctor who confirmed - and no it wasn't there the night before.)
The kitchen was the only okay thing about this hostel.
Staff weren't exactly friendly or helpful and very unsociable.
Pay a bit extra and stay somewhere else like Gillingans to enjoy your time in Cairnes

Date of stay: February 2017
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank 516laurenv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2017 via mobile

- Nasty bedsheets.
- There were a thousand of bugs in our room.
- After 10 PM, there is nobody at the reception to help you. We tried to call the nightmanager to ask for clean sheets, but he didn't pick up his phone.
- You have to walk down the street to get to the reception.
- There is no proper room to store your luggage.
- The walls in the rooms are (very) dirty.

It was an awful experience, please don't go to this hostel.

Date of stay: April 2017
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Levi v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2017 via mobile

We spent the first night without bedding because no one was around to bother. We found dirty pots and pans under the bed because no one had bothered to clean the room. I accidentally pulled the sheets back to find the mattress was the same colour as my piss when im dehydrated whilst my mates had a blood stain on his. Just pay the little extra

Date of stay: April 2017
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank Jared W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews