We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“A unique experience... in more ways!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Flying Monkey Backpackers

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Flying Monkey Backpackers
Ranked #70 of 88 Specialty Lodging in Cairns
Odense, Denmark
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A unique experience... in more ways!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at Flying Monkey in the beginning of November 2013. Flying Monkey is a place of its own. The staff are really kind and funny... though, it seemed like the only person enployed who really knew what was going on was the Dutch guy in the reception. One of the receptionists came into our room on our first morning and told us we had to check out that day. We told her that we had booked 3 more nights and she just went "Aha, okay". The next morning two Swedish guys went to the reception and were told that it was their check-out day. They told the reception no, and when the receptionist looked another time it turned out they still had 2 more nights. The hygiene is non-existing - the house keeping girl barely opened our door and didn't even get the vacuum cleaner inside our room before closing the door again. And both the pool and the bath rooms didn't look properly cleaned... not to mention the kitchen facilities - they're absolutely horrible! But when all that's said, Flying Monkey is still a place I'd want to go back to because of the laid back atmosphere and the feeling of hakuna matata. Even though, it seemed like Little Stockholm when we stayed there - Swedish people everywhere! The voucher for Woolshed is a great offer and it's possible to get cheap tours!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KasperMikkelsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    29
    13
    4
    35
See reviews for
3
20
35
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cairns, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014 via mobile

I stayed at flying monkey for a few days the staff and manager are very nice and laid back making a friendly atmosphere in the hostel. There was lots going on some people having a drink and others watching films in the common room so there was always something to get involved in. my room was modern and clean and in a great location just a short walk from the lagoon and nightlife. I would definitely stay at this hostel again i found it much more welcoming than other hostels in the area.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Samshaw1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

I've been staying at the Flying Monkey Backpacker for 1 month now. It's a small backpacker right across from the Lagoon, in between the best frozen yogurt and coffee shops in town. There are a lot of long term backpacker at the Monkey, it creates a family type feel to the place. Everybody is nice and open minded, the staff threats you like friends, it's a very easy going type of place.

I love the Monday Night Movie Nights with free popcorn :)

The rooms are cozy, beds are alright, the A/C works great and you have the control on it in the room.

With free breakfast in the morning and voucher for free dinners at night, you can stay in Cairns for very cheap.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Caroline_around_Oz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

The service at this hostel was probably the worst I have ever experienced. Half of the time there was nobody at the reception and if you asked for something they just gave the answer "reception is closed" even if the timetable said something different. They gave us no information about checkout or that we could get free breakfast and dinner (which we only found out on our last day). Our room was really small and we were not allowed to open the windows even if the smell in the room was really bad. The cleanliness was also teribble as the shower facilities were flooded all the time!
The only good thing about the hostel was the location, since is was situated directly on the Esplanade with only a short walking distance to all the clubs and the lagoon.

Don't stay here if you have another option!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nina N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.0 mi away
Jazz Cairns Backpackers
Jazz Cairns Backpackers
#61 of 88 in Cairns
3.5 of 5 stars 26 reviews
0.1 mi away
Global Backpackers Waterfront
0.0 mi away
Cairns Waterfront Backpackers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Gecko's Backpackers
Gecko's Backpackers
#10 of 88 in Cairns
4.5 of 5 stars 369 reviews
0.3 mi away
Corona Backpackers
Corona Backpackers
#34 of 88 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 stars 120 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Northern Greenhouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Flying Monkey Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flying Monkey Backpackers

Property: Flying Monkey Backpackers
Address: 89 Esplanade, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 88 Specialty Lodging in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Flying Monkey Backpackers is located right in the center of Cairns and opposite the famous Esplanade Lagoon where you can throw down a towel and enjoy the sun or go for a refreshing swim. Room for two.... couples, lovers and friends... we are a small, well located hostel with mainly private rooms. With free airport pick-up, free light breakfast, free dinner, free WiFi plus being only a few minutes ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Flying Monkey Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing