We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Tropical Heritage Cairns
Ranked #14 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Clarksville, TN
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed October 19, 2010

We stayed here en route to Papua New Guinea, arriving at midnight. The manager not only stayed up to welcome us but also made certain that we did not miss our transportation to the airport at 4 am. Stayed here again on the way back from PNG and we had the same welcome, making sure that conditions at the GBR were suitable for a trip. Fortunately, Ann advised us against it as it was stormy and found a different tour for us...a great saving as others who disregarded the conditions said that the trip to the Reef hd been a nightmare. The hotel is now under new management but the new manager was also very friendly and even offered to drive us into town as it was raining. A great find - welcoming, friendly, and comfortable, clean rooms.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dolanog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

496 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    239
    198
    50
    8
    1
See reviews for
86
252
64
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Osaka
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 1, 2010

As many others have already said, the Heritage is excellent value for money in a good location, but what really makes it special is the family who run it. Stuart and Ann have a gift for making guests welcome. They were always ready to help out with whatever we needed at a moment's notice or just to chat, and coming back to the hotel felt like coming home.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alicia17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2010

Staff couldnt do enough to help/ offer advice. Room was immaculate, cosy and comfortable with a large double bed, TV, fridge and tea and coffee making facilities. Clean and spacious bathroom with lovely soap! Our room opened onto the back yard area and we made use of the bbq one night which was excellent (again aided by the extremely kind and helpful owners). The pool area was small but functional and we really enjoyed relaxing on a sunbed there one afternoon. Great location for access to Cairns esplanade, but still quiet and peaceful. A relaxing and comfortable stay. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lozinoz2205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2010

Heritage Cairns was a pretty nice hotel that even offers free internet. The rooms are clean and nice and the owners are so nice. Mostly I'm writing this review just to forewarn anyone else the the father of the family that owns this hotel is pretty forgetful. We had asked for his help in choosing and booking a trip out the reef for snorkeling. He gave us some suggestions and told us to look them over that night, then get back to him on what we chose. The next day we went to talk to him, and he clearly did not remember us, which I wouldn't have thought twice about, except that when we told him what we wanted to do he told us he'd take care of it and he didn't. The night before we were supposed to snorkel my friend and I went down to just double check, and found out that no booking was ever made for us. His wife was at the desk and wrote him a note that we needed to get a booking in the morning (she guaranteed us that it would not be a problem) . So early the next morning my friend went down to check, he again looked at her as if he'd never seen her before and was baffled when she asked about booking our snorkeling tour. He claimed he'd never gotten the note from his wife until my friend pointed at it sitting right on his computer.

As I said, the hotel is pretty good for the money, just please do not assume that when they tell you they'll take care of booking something that it will actually get done. I would recommend standing right there while he calls!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EvaCathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heritage9, General Manager at Tropical Heritage Cairns, responded to this review, August 9, 2010
I would like to say I was having a senior moment but it appears I was having a senior week. Very sorry for the confusion it is not my/our normal practice
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2010

Really do not understand why the rating is so high for this motel, yes the staff are friendly and the rooms are clean but the cons far outweigh the pros!

Did not get a minute sleep due to the pillows and bed being so uncomfortable- the king bed was actually 2 singles put together!. Floors were pretty grotty, the tiling needed a good wash.The walls are also paper thin, could hear next door going for it all night and they weren't discreet about it either!!

Really unhappy with my stay here. I have stayed in many motels/ resorts/cabins recently and this place takes the cake as being the worst!!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Emzy44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heritage9, General Manager at Tropical Heritage Cairns, responded to this review, July 22, 2010
We are surprised by this review as our hotel was built & opened in 2002 to category five cyclone standards as Cairns is located in an extreme cyclone prone area. All external walls are double solid concrete and all internal room walls are single solid concrete then dressed with plasterboard. Apart from some noise that may be omitted by guests in the hallways it is virtually impossible to hear any room to room noise. We have no idea what was going on with this guests neighbouring room except to say it must have been exceptional as no room has a double bed which backs onto another rooms wall.

In almost all rooms we have Hotel Standard King Beds. They are specifically made to join (by zipper) as a King Double or Split to King Singles depending on the guest preference. All beds are the highest quality available for hotel and none are over 8-years old. All pillows in the property were replaced in 2009 and all rooms have a 2-medium & 2-low (flat) pillows. We can also supply high (full fill) pillows on request. We have very limited tiled areas; all are less than 8-years old & these are cleaned & disinfected daily. All rooms and passageways have carpet to further suppress guest movement noise.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
Reviewed July 18, 2010

We spent a week at Heritage Cairns in July 2010. And with great success. The hotel is a small family run hotel with a hotel innkeeper Stuart and family. It is probably one of the best hotels we have stayed at and I will gladly recommend it to everyone.

Kind regards
Allan Schlundt

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Schlundt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2010

We found the Heritage in the Golden Chain directory. We had no reservations and when we arrived at 6pm on a Friday night the only standard room left was a twin. We were looking pretty dishevelled after a 350km trip from Undara and only wanted to stay one night, but the lovely owners upgraded us to an Executive suite for a discounted price. It was a great room, very clean and well maintained - heavenly compared to some of the accomodation we stayed in during our travels in FNQ.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caz134
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.8 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 64 in Cairns
577 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cairns Plaza Hotel
Cairns Plaza Hotel
#10 of 64 in Cairns
1,081 reviews
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Coral Tree Inn
Coral Tree Inn
#18 of 64 in Cairns
482 reviews
0.7 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
0.2 mi away
Ibis Styles Cairns
Ibis Styles Cairns
#15 of 64 in Cairns
752 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tropical Heritage Cairns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropical Heritage Cairns

Property: Tropical Heritage Cairns
Address: 8 Minnie St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Cairns
#4 Spa Hotel in Cairns
#5 Family Hotel in Cairns
#7 Romantic Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tropical Heritage Cairns 3.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Taxi service is available approx $20 each way between airport and hotel. Pool is basically large Spa. Internet is available at reception and wifi available throughout hotel. All rooms have tea/coffee making facilities, fridge, flat screen TV, en-suites and air conditioning . All rooms recently refurbished. We look forward to your visit to Cairns. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tropical Heritage Cairns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heritage Cairns Hotel Cairns
Heritage Hotel Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing