We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“comfortable stay with excellent value and service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Tropical Heritage Cairns
Ranked #14 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“comfortable stay with excellent value and service”
Reviewed April 4, 2010

We stayed at the Heritage Cairns for a night at the beginning of our holiday, and again at the end, after and before our flights in and out of Cairns. The first night we stayed in a room at the top floor with a view of the pool downstairs, the other night we stayed in a room on ground level. The rooms are large and clean, not very luxurious but your stay is very comfortable. The hotel is close (walking distance) to the Esplanade, shops and restaurants, and easy to find (close to the Captain Cook highway, but no highway noise).

The owners of the hotel do their absolute best to make your stay as enjoyable as possible, you really notice this is a family run operation. On our first stay we requested directions for picking up the hire car, and the man at reception mentioned that unfortunately his wife had taken the car, or he would have been happy to give us a lift. We requested a late check-out on our last night and were allowed to use the room for as long as we wanted; we ended up checking out at 5pm and no extra charge!! They also have a free (!) internet station in the lounge you can use and lots of tourist information, the staff is very happy to provide any information or help with bookings.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leftyx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

502 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    240
    201
    52
    8
    1
See reviews for
89
253
65
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
England
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 27, 2010

We stayed here for a week in Feb 2010. This motel was our sixth on our travels and was by far the best. Ann and her family run the motel and they are all very lovely and looked after us extremely well, we were very sad to leave. The room we had was on the ground floor and of good size. The bathroom had a shower, hairdryer, towels etc all in excellent condition, the room had a good sized bed and wardrobe. There was also a fridge, TV and tea making facilities and air con but it's quite noisy but works very well! There is a communal kitchen which has a toaster, stove, crockery etc. There are also internet facilities, a computer for you to use or a cable to plug your laptop in. The internet was free and so was printing. The family trust their guests not to take advantage of this. The pool is small but is lovely and there is a jacuzzi and sunbathing area. Also a table with chairs outside. There is fresh filtered water and milk available from reception which is complimentary. The location is excellent only a short walk to the main 'sights' of Cairns. There are lots of brochures and leaflets in the hotel of what to do in Cairns and the surrounding areas and Ann and her family have first hand experience of most of these tours so can help you decide where to go and where not to go. They recommend good tours and are honest with this. I have stayed in some amazing hotels before but never been looked after as well as I was here therefore the value for money is outstanding. I would definitely stay here again and would recommend to all of my friends and family. There are some many more wonderful things I could say but you should go and try for yourself!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ilovemytravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altadena, CA
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2010

Only stayed 2 nights but felt we were treated like family. From check-in to check out Ann and Sarah made sure we were comfortable and had what we needed. They lent us beach towels for our reef swim. My girls and I were invited with other guests to a New Years Eve BBQ Dinner. Great Location, laundry room on site, just blocks to the Esplanade. Would stay with them again!

  • Stayed December 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Altadenarosebd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2010

Management and staff could not have been more helpful, suggested the best tours around the hinterland and also within in Cairns. For us, it was just perfect, short walk to the waterfront and city centre, but just enough out of the city to have a quiet rest.
Enjoyed it so much, so we booked in for another stay after a trip to the Cape.
This time we enjoyed trips to the barrier reef and other Cairns attactions, such as Hartleys Croc farm.
Next time we go to Cairns, we will again book here.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SkiGrowingOld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sweden
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2010

We stayed at the hotel for 5 nights and we are very happy with the hotel. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The room is basic but very clean and comfortable. The location is good. Only 5-10 min walk from downtown. It's definitely great value for the money you pay.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ciderder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2010

My friend and I stayed here for 3 nights. It was a great location and you couldn't beat the price. The owner was awesome. They answered all our questions and gave us tips. The owner's daughter even drove us to the gardens so we would not have to catch a cab. This hotel also had the largest room I stayed in while in Australia. If you are going to Cairns, this is the only place I would stay!!!!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank oockiki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kent uk
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2010

good location, great helpful staff for all your needs, pool more of a plunge pool than one to swim in as its very small and not heated, but with the barrier reef on the doorstep, minor complaint. we had a spa bath bedroom which overlooked the side of the garden/pool small balcony but adequate and great for watching bats in early evening.within easy walking distance to shopping/train station/airport.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bluebuddyKentUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.8 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 64 in Cairns
592 reviews
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
0.7 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Cairns Coconut Holiday Resort
0.1 mi away
Coral Tree Inn
Coral Tree Inn
#20 of 64 in Cairns
494 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cairns Plaza Hotel
Cairns Plaza Hotel
#11 of 64 in Cairns
1,104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tropical Heritage Cairns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropical Heritage Cairns

Property: Tropical Heritage Cairns
Address: 8 Minnie St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Cairns
#5 Family Hotel in Cairns
#5 Best Value Hotel in Cairns
#7 Romantic Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tropical Heritage Cairns 3.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Taxi service is available approx $20 each way between airport and hotel. Pool is basically large Spa. Internet is available at reception and wifi available throughout hotel. All rooms have tea/coffee making facilities, fridge, flat screen TV, en-suites and air conditioning . All rooms recently refurbished. We look forward to your visit to Cairns. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Tropical Heritage Cairns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heritage Cairns Hotel Cairns
Heritage Hotel Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing