We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Small hotel EXCELLENT service !!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tropical Heritage Cairns

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tropical Heritage Cairns
Ranked #14 of 68 Hotels in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Gilbert, Arizona
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Small hotel EXCELLENT service !!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

This place is very basic. If all you need is a place is a place to sleep this is the place. No frills. But you will be very surprised at the exceptional service they provide. The staff go over and beyond doing what they can to make your stay comfortable and hospitable. And they are not fake about it. They are truly genuine about helping you with directions, advice, booking a tour, towels for a reef tour, etc. They know all they tricks of the town and went out of their way to help a couple of foreigners. The price was just right but the memory of being treated heavenly was priceless.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Stephanie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
explorerCairns, Owner at Tropical Heritage Cairns, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Thank you for your review, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay at the Tropical Cairns Heritage and in Cairns, we look forward to seeing you again in the near future.
Peter Barter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

465 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    226
    182
    49
    7
    1
See reviews for
78
236
62
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South Lake Tahoe, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

We stayed one night before boarding a live aboard dive boat. The staff could not have been nicer. They loaned us the towels needed for the boat even though we were not returning there after the dive trip (yes, we did return the towels!)
We booked two studios online and the staff contacted us to revise the booking to a suite with a connecting studio. Same price and more space. Very thoughtful.
They also suggested we eat at the RSL Club on the Esplanade - cheap eats in an otherwise pricey place.
The location is an easy walk to the Esplanade and town.
The rooms were comfortable and clean.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank C S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
explorerCairns, Owner at Tropical Heritage Cairns, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Thank you for your review, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay at the Tropical Heritage. Rosemary does go out of her way to provide the best service possible and this reflects in the consistently good reviews. Hope to see you in the future
Peter Barter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

This hotel is a 10 to 15 minute walk to the harbor. The front desk was exceptionally cheerful and helpful. My only complaint was the breakfasts which were very bad. There were plenty of good breakfast places five minutes walk away.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phil4947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
explorerCairns, Owner at Tropical Heritage Cairns, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
We appreciate the time you have taken to write a review and look forward to seeing you again in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
108 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

If you're looking for a high class, pricey, hotel, this is not the one to choose.
If you're looking for a very friendly, charming, convenient, and "mom's apple pie" type hotel, this is it.
We were very happy with the personal attention of the staff, the helpfulness, and the friendliness of the staff. It was more of a Bed & Breakfast type stay, versus a hotel.
The general Manager even gave us a free ride to our Great Barrier Reef tour on the morning of our tour.
Sometimes, you just want to see more of the personal side of a city when you're traveling and on vacation, and the Tropical Heritage staff added that touch

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rod T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
explorerCairns, Manager at Tropical Heritage Cairns, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Thank you for your comments, as you say, we are not the high price hotels, but we do try to give our guests a "local" experience and ensure that they remember Cairns positively.
hopefully you may return some day and we can look after you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

It is only a ten minute walk to the boardwalk/esplanade... Quietly located, which is a bonus since central Cairns can be quite busy/noisy. It is clean, and well run.

Nothing was too much trouble for our hostess - Rosemary? - who took us in her car to our various pick-up points. Thank you. Conclusion - Try it.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robert O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
explorerCairns, Manager at Tropical Heritage Cairns, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Thank you so much for your review, we do try to provide the best in service and value , and whilst we are not on the Esplanade, as you say we have a quiet location , close to everything, plus you can get a good sleep.
we are glad you enjoyed Cairns, hopefully you will return one day.
Rosemary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groveland, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

This hotel is located 5 minutes walk from the boardwalk and only ten mins from the airport. Good value in comparison to other hotels in the area. Staff are very friendly and accommodating. They catered very well for my wife's gluten free diet at breakfast which is a standard breakfast if cereals, fruit etc.
Would happily stay here again

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OwenThreadgold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
explorerCairns, Owner at Tropical Heritage Cairns, responded to this review, April 27, 2014
Thank you for your review. We are pleased rosemary again has been of assistance with special gluten free breakfast for your wife and look forward to you visiting Cairns again in the future.
Sir Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

but we stayed for five because we fell in love with Cairns and the wonderful Tropical Heritage. Rosemary was so friendly and made our stay even more special.
I would recommend the Heritage to anyone who's going to Cairns. Two blocks from the busy Esplanade, it's an easy walk to shops and restaurants.

Room Tip: Ask for one with outside access so you can sit outside and have a cool drink.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Debra W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
explorerCairns, Owner at Tropical Heritage Cairns, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Thanks for the review, it will make Rosemary very happy to hear yu enjoyed your stay of 5 nights at the Heritage.
I am in Cairns tonight on a rare visit, Cyclone ITA also in town with stories of potential devastation - well it did not happen, it looks like a fizzer, at least in Cairns, a little wind, rain but to date nothing more than a tropical storm that will pass quite quickly so if yu are planning visit to Cairns do not be out off by all the media attention and visit us again.
Sir Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.2 mi away
Cairns Plaza Hotel
Cairns Plaza Hotel
#7 of 68 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 stars 802 reviews
0.8 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#10 of 68 in Cairns
4.5 of 5 stars 466 reviews
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Pullman Reef Hotel Casino
0.6 mi away
Pacific Hotel Cairns
Pacific Hotel Cairns
#6 of 68 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 stars 219 reviews
0.7 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tropical Heritage Cairns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropical Heritage Cairns

Property: Tropical Heritage Cairns
Address: 8 Minnie Street, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Cairns
#5 Spa Hotel in Cairns
#5 Family Hotel in Cairns
#7 Romantic Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tropical Heritage Cairns 3.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Taxi service is available approx $20 each way between airport and hotel. Pool is basically large Spa. Internet is available at reception and wifi available throughout hotel. All rooms have tea/coffee making facilities, fridge, flat screen TV, en-suites and air conditioning . All rooms recently refurbished. We look forward to your visit to Cairns. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Tropical Heritage Cairns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heritage Cairns Hotel Cairns
Heritage Hotel Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing