We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Tropical Heritage Cairns
Ranked #14 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great stay!”
Reviewed August 25, 2013

The staff here is outstanding. Rosemary is so sweet and really does care about her guests. If you need anything she is there to help you.

The location is a slight walk to the main areas but it's not a bad walk at all and is nice after dinner. It's very quiet so you can sleep in!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tony c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
explorerCairns, Manager at Tropical Heritage Cairns, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Thanks for the kind words, we are pleased that you were happy staying here, We find that our location gives guests the opportunity for a walk before and after dinner which many enjoy after a day of sitting.
Perhaps we will see you again?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

496 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    239
    198
    50
    8
    1
See reviews for
86
252
64
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
47 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2013

This hotel has everything you want in Cairns. It's walking distance to the piers / esplanade and food and bars of Cairns. But it's far away from the backpacker hostels so that you don't get disturbed and get a good night's sleep.

The rooms are very clean.
Reception is very helpful.

Everything is quite spartan though - 2 beds, a table, tv, bathroom. But you are visiting Australia so I'm not sure what else you would require at around $100-125 / night?

Note that breakfast and 24 hour internet comes at an additional cost :(

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ali J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
explorerCairns, Manager at Tropical Heritage Cairns, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
thank you for taking the time to write a review, we do appreciate that you did so, We do find that we are far enough, but close enough to the city centre to be convenient and peaceful.
we hope to see you again some day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
madang
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2013

Stayed in the hotel and there was a break in into our colleagues room where our laptops, ipad and cash were stolen. My other colleagues passport and airline ticket were also stolen.The hotel managment were never sympathetic to our loss and never helped in any way to help get his passport replaced . We were all shocked as we have travelled all over the world and this has never happenned to any of us and for it to happen in this hotel was quite a shock. What even made it worse is when the hotel managment only offered us a complimentary room which in fact was never complimentary as we found out later that they wanted to offer our friend who had lost his money $200 but in fact that $200 that they wanted to give him paid for the so called complimentary room which went back into their pockets .How worse could it get?

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank mary s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
explorerCairns, Owner at Tropical Heritage Cairns, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
It is sad to read reviews of this kind and we will request it be removed as it violates Trip Advisor Rules and is simply inaccurate. But to briefly state some of the allegations:
1. Door Locks are card system which record dates, time of entry and who entered the room. There are no suspicious entries, no forced lock as determined by Forensic Police but it was found that the sliding door to the garden was NOT locked. This is stated in the Police Report.
2. All rooms have signs warning guests to lock doors, secure valuables and use the room safes.
3. The room safe in this room was checked and working perfectly, but not used.
4. Passports, bags, purses were left lying around the room, nothing was secured.
5. There was significant movements of people entering in and out of the room in the early hours of the morning.
6. Immediately the theft was reported, police arrived and carried out a complete forensic search but concluded they could do little as the sliding door was left open by the guests.
6. Some of the matters related to their stay, compensation will be explained in detail, but insurance company has denied any claim as the door was left open.
It was absolutely absurd that guests behaved as they did and then have the audacity to write report against management and staff that is not true.
Both the Acting Manager, and Manager (who was absent attending her Mother's Funeral) have written reports which indicate that everything possible was done and the Company is unable to accept the responsibility for guests who do not lock their doors.
Finally, this review is totally contrary to the consistently good reviews that rate Cairns Heritage as #7 in Cairns. It appears that this review is an undeserved vendetta which is the reason we will ask Trip Advisor to have it removed.
Sir Peter Barter
MTS Limited, Owners of Cairns Heritage,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2013

We stayed at the Heritage Cairns for six nights. Our room was clean and comfortable. We did not purchase breakfast at the hotel, but since there was a small refrigerator, we could store milk, fruit, etc. and prepare our own simple breakfast. The concierge was extremely cordial and helpful. She helped us choose tours and booked them for us. She was always ready to help out in any way that we requested.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
explorerCairns, Owner at Tropical Heritage Cairns, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
We appreciate the time you have taken to write a positive review on the Tropical Heritage Hotel in Cairns. We take all reviews seriously as we are always anxious to improve our services to our valued guests.
I also write on behalf of Rosemary, our Manager - she has been quite busy but I wan you to know that she reads all reviews and shares them with her fantastic staff.
Regards
Sir Peter Barter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Easton, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for three nights - June 27 to June 29th. The hotel is a fairly small hotel. Breakfast was continental. You have to even get the milk out of the fridge and also wash up your own dishes! Location was nice - close to the port so that you can walk there to take the excursions to the GBR, etc - Plan on walking for at least 15 minutes.. Numerous restaurants within walking distance. THere is also a shopping mall closeby (10 min walk or so) with a Target there, The only hassle is that many stores close early (by 5 or 6PM) so, when you get back from an excursion, you cannot go get stuff. The hotel room we were given was on the 3rd floor. It was passable but I would not choose to stay there for too long. Thank God we were outside most of the time. The hotel has hardly any amenities. The internet was OK. You get a free wifi for two hours.
The manager, Rosemary, seems to be a nice person and friendly.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KingOfTheValley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
explorerCairns, Owner at Tropical Heritage Cairns, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
We always appreciate positive reviews but this review is absurd. Sure the Heritage is small but complaining about washing dishes is ridiculous. The hotel offers a small breakfast room and have been providing complimentary breakfasts, it is largely self service. Some rooms have a kitchen facilities and it is possible to do self catering. In the event of self catering, if the guest does not wash their dishes, it is automatically done when rooms are services daily. You really disregard that the hotel operates as 3.5 stars, not 5 stars and we charge accordingly it is one of the reasons why the hotel is so popular and rates as 7 out of 70 hotels in Cairns, the other reason is the fabulous staff led by Rosemary the Manager who is a National Treasure.
Sir Peter Barter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
67 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013

We booked the Heritage for a one night stop over only and this was a good move as I would'nt consider staying in this hotel too long. The room was good and value for money especially considering we got an upgrade. Bed was comfortable and the room clean. Was dissappointed with the breakfast facility on the ground floor very basic and spartan.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DaveKinlan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
explorerCairns, Manager at Tropical Heritage Cairns, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
We do thank you for your time in writing a review, and for acknowledging that you were given an upgrade, i am dissapointed that you did not find the complimentary breakfast to your liking, we get such good comments from other guests, perhaps you came in after the large group had been in and before the breakfast itemshad been replinished
rosemary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

I first booked this room for 2 nights and while there booked another night for later in my trip when I would be passing back through Cairns. It was a clean and comfortable stay at a very reasonable price. We had a car, but since this was such a good location we left it parked at the hotel for most of the time we spent in town. We appreciated being able to use the bbq to cook a couple of meals while we were there. For our second stay, we got a free room upgrade which was very nice.

Trust their opinions on the reef trips. Great advice!

Room Tip: I liked the 1st floor room because of the easy access to the bbq.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mnshort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
explorerCairns, Manager at Tropical Heritage Cairns, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Thank you for your comments, it is nice to know that the BBQ is seen as a bonus, it certainly makes it easy for a number of families to use, kids of all ages seem to enjoy sausages!!!
We also appreciste your comments, it makes it worthwhile when we know that guests have enjoyed their stay.
Rosemary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.8 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 64 in Cairns
577 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cairns Plaza Hotel
Cairns Plaza Hotel
#10 of 64 in Cairns
1,080 reviews
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Coral Tree Inn
Coral Tree Inn
#18 of 64 in Cairns
482 reviews
0.7 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
0.2 mi away
Ibis Styles Cairns
Ibis Styles Cairns
#15 of 64 in Cairns
752 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tropical Heritage Cairns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropical Heritage Cairns

Property: Tropical Heritage Cairns
Address: 8 Minnie St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Cairns
#4 Spa Hotel in Cairns
#5 Family Hotel in Cairns
#7 Romantic Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tropical Heritage Cairns 3.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Taxi service is available approx $20 each way between airport and hotel. Pool is basically large Spa. Internet is available at reception and wifi available throughout hotel. All rooms have tea/coffee making facilities, fridge, flat screen TV, en-suites and air conditioning . All rooms recently refurbished. We look forward to your visit to Cairns. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tropical Heritage Cairns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heritage Cairns Hotel Cairns
Heritage Hotel Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing