We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hospitality”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Tropical Heritage Cairns
Ranked #18 of 63 Hotels in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 3, 2013

You couldn't ask for a friendlier welcome than at the Heritage, and we were even offered a lift down to the marina one morning. Rooms are perfectly fine and there is filtered water and 2 hours' free internet access (not wifi) available at Reception. Don't expect a view – this is within the city – but our room at least looked out on to greenery. It's a bit of a walk to the shops and harbour compared to the main hotels (maybe 15-20 minutes, depending on where you’re going) but this is definitely offset by its other advantages.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank P_n_R_Herts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
explorerCairns, Owner at Tropical Heritage Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded May 4, 2013

Thank you for your review. We are pleased you were satisfied with your stay at the Heritage and hope you can tell your friends about the Cairns Heritage.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (517)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

244 - 250 of 517 reviews

Reviewed April 19, 2013

Great hotel on a quite street, no sea view but only a short walk to the centre. Rooms where clean, comfortable and quiet and good value for money. Rosemary the manager is very nice and helpful and really goes the extra mile in terms of sorting out trip bookings, local knowledge and advice etc., I would happily stay here again when in Cairns.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarlUK2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
explorerCairns, Owner at Tropical Heritage Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded May 4, 2013

Thank you for taking time to write a response, we appreciate our guests views and am pleased to readyou enjoyed your stay at the Cairns Heritage

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Just ask Rosemary!
All the folks at the Heritage are great to deal with, and Rosemary, the Manager, is just first class.
Picked us up from the station, helped us out with tours, useful advice - she just made our stay better.
the hotel is in a good location, short walk from all the attractions. Everything is well looked after, and the rooms are very clean.
Very comfortable stay and great value vs other choices.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beaverishintensity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
explorerCairns, Owner at Tropical Heritage Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2013

Thank you for your review, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay and were satisfied with the accommodation and in particular Rosemary's exceptional service to our guests. We look forward to you returning again in the future.
Sir Peter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at the Tropical Heritage. Our room was small, but had everything we needed. Alan was super helpful to us, when our excursion to Kuranda was cancelled, an hour before our pick up. He helped us get the train to Kuranda on our own, even driving us to the railway station! He suggested the Cock and Bull pub, a short walk from the hotel, where we enjoyed some reasonably priced meals and drinks, in a local atmosphere.
We found the breakfast room very handy, especially when we had an early tour.
We would definitely return, if we get to Cairns again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WendyE_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
explorerCairns, Owner at Tropical Heritage Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2013

Thank you for your review, the feed back we get from our guests allow us to see ourselves through the eyes of our guests. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay at the Heritage and whilst you perhaps booked a Studio Room, we have other larger rooms, apartments and suites available which are competitively priced,
We look forward to your return visit!
Sir Peter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

For what it is and the pricing, this is an excellent value. The manager who runs the property is one of the most delightful and helpful people around. The hotel is pretty basic and the breakfast is really basic. However the price makes it all worthwhile. There is no reason for spending the money on a waterfront hotel - there's nothing to see really - the sea water is muddy. Tropical Heritage is a short walk to the boardwalk and a great place to launch for the various tours.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank William-NB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
explorerCairns, Owner at Tropical Heritage Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2013

As you can see, the positive reviews speak for themselves. The Heritage is amongst the most popular hotels in Cairns, not because it is a large franchise run property, but simply because the Management (Rosemary) personally takes a lot of time to ensure guests make the most of their stay in Cairns and the facilities are excellent. I am always mystified by the word 'basic' as it applies to a hotel - you use this word to describe the hotel yet nothing in the hotel is outdated, the beds, furnishings, lounges, curtains are relatively new, the linen and laundry is the same as any other hotel in Cairns as it is contracted to the same company - it lacks a large modern foyer, bar and restaurant primarily because most people want to eat out at restaurants within a block of the hotel. The complimentary breakfasts are substantial with fruit juice, fresh fruit, cereals, toast and muffins - according to our guests this is all they want. We have considered construction of a restaurant but it is doubtful if it would succeed in an area where there are so many restaurants. We own other hotels in Cairns and PNG with restaurants, but they are not located near restaurants and essentially, it is a service that is expected in the more isolated locations - this aside, if tourism improves in Cairns, we may seriously consider purchasing an adjoining property which could make the additional services viable.
In the meantime, Rosemary will continue to provide the service our guests have become accustomed to and we certainly look forward to our return visit in the future. Again, thank you for your review.
Sir Peter Barter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2013

As others have written, our experience at Tropical Heritage Hotel in Cairns was made all the better by Rosemary and her warm welcome and hospitality. She went above and beyond to make us feel welcome and even drove us to our dive boat on the morning of our Great Barrier Reef adventure.

The hotel is very nice. The suites are very spacious and provide everything you need. The value for the money is excellent. This isn't a high end hotel, but it is a very good hotel. The beds were comfortable, it was quiet, clean and well run. It is about a 15-minute walk to get to the strip of restaurants along the boardwalk - a small price to pay for the quiet of being off the main strip!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sailorgirl461
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
explorerCairns, Owner at Tropical Heritage Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2013

Thank you for taking time to write a review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay at the Cairns Heritage and look forward ti your return visit in the future.
Sir Peter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2013

We need to travel to Cairns every few weeks for business and Tropical Heritage is our home away from home. Clean, quiet, with impeccable service and located close enough to everything we need in Cairns. Rosemary and her staff are truly deserving of the accolades they receive.
We are happy to return.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank redmill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
explorerCairns, Owner at Tropical Heritage Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2013

Thankyu for review, we are always pleased to recieve honest appraisals. Rosemary take a great deal of time creating an environment that satisfies most travellers. We lool forward to yu visitong us again.
Sir Peter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.8 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 63 in Cairns
627 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cairns Plaza Hotel
Cairns Plaza Hotel
#12 of 63 in Cairns
1,163 reviews
0.1 mi away
Coral Tree Inn
Coral Tree Inn
#21 of 63 in Cairns
538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Ingenia Holidays Cairns Coconut
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
0.2 mi away
Ibis Styles Cairns
Ibis Styles Cairns
#15 of 63 in Cairns
804 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tropical Heritage Cairns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropical Heritage Cairns

Address: 8 Minnie St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Cairns
#5 Family Hotel in Cairns
#6 Best Value Hotel in Cairns
#7 Romantic Hotel in Cairns
Price Range: $78 - $120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tropical Heritage Cairns 3.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Taxi service is available approx $20 each way between airport and hotel. Pool is basically large Spa. Internet is available at reception and wifi available throughout hotel. All rooms have tea/coffee making facilities, fridge, flat screen TV, en-suites and air conditioning . All rooms recently refurbished. We look forward to your visit to Cairns. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Tropical Heritage Cairns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heritage Cairns Hotel Cairns
Heritage Hotel Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing