We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Well worth a visit” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tropical Heritage Cairns

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Tropical Heritage Cairns
Ranked #15 of 65 Hotels in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Andover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

Not a lot can be added to what other people have reviewed, we thoroughly enjoyed our time in Cairns and this hotel is the one too stay in to help your Cairns experiance go pleasantly. We enjoyed our days out and swim in the pool after which strangely was empty along with the jaccuzzi. Thanks to all staff who made our time in Cairns special to us. Just one tip we booked with Travel Republic whose fees were expensive, wished we had booked direct with the hotel

Room Tip: Book direct with the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank glen60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
explorerCairns, Owner at Tropical Heritage Cairns, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Thanks for taking time to write review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay at the Cairns Heritage and hope you can return in the future to see more of Far North Queensland and perhaps Papua New Guinea.
Sir Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

485 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    234
    192
    50
    8
    1
See reviews for
83
246
63
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2013

We just stayed two nights. The room was clean and comfortable and matched its 3 star rating. The hotel is in a good location about 10 minutes walk from the centre of Cairns with its Lido and Night markets. Nice and quiet. There is time-limited free wifi which is ample for checking emails/facebook/things to do etc.

What makes this hotel stand out is its manager, Rosemarie, who goes out of her way to help, advise and just be friendly. She is there all hours of the day and night and has loads of good local knowledge and connections.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Daniel E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
explorerCairns, Owner at Tropical Heritage Cairns, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Thanks for your review. I agree it certainly matches 3 star rating by AAA but I have to tell you that the ratings by AAA are being questioned by hundreds of hotels and motels in Australia. Previously the Cairns Heritage was rated 3.4 stars by AAA and since then we have experienced exceptionally good ratings and have carried out major refurbishing. The ratings by guests have normally given between 3.5 to 4 stars.
Rosemary is visiting is in Madang this week and we will be discussing ways in which we can even make the Heritage better in 2013. Rosemary will also be helping to train some of the staff at Madang Resort to achieve the same rates of appreciation consistently given to the Cairns Heritage. Thanks again for your review, most appreciated.
Sir Peter Barter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

Rosemary and Cynthia could not do enough for me and my wife on our recent stay in Cairns. They did everything they could to make our stay as pleasant as possible in what was a very distressing time for us. Rosemary and her team where their for us for everything from a listening post to giving us a lift to the shops when we couldn't locate them. Everyone involved in this hotel from the management to the cleaners were freindly genuine and extremely pleasant. The rooms were very clean and well maintained during our entire stay. Located within 5 minutes walk of most things you would require this location was quiet and enabled us a chance to relax when we needed it. the Best hotel experience I have ever had!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Don L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
explorerCairns, Owner at Tropical Heritage Cairns, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Thank you for taking time to write a review. You have no idea how such positive comments spur Rosemary, Cynthia and her fantastic staff onto greater heights. I have known Rosemary for well over 20 years, she has always been the same in PNG and now in Australia. We are very proud owners of Cairns Heritage, the ratings have been consistently great thanks to the Management and Staff. We hope to see you again in the future.
Sir Peter Barter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
235 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

The two room suite was inexpensive, and big enough for the whole family. The staff are wonderful - helpful but not intrusive, frindly and just decent people.

The place is spotless, and although not right in the centre of the downtown it is only 5 minutes away, and a pleasent stroll.

Very good standard for decently priced accommodation.

Room Tip: The suite (twin in bedroom, queen in lunge) was worth the extra $
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BiddyNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
explorerCairns, Owner at Tropical Heritage Cairns, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Thank you for taking time to write such a positive response. It is encouraging for myself and indeed the management and staff to know we are satisfying our guests. We look forward to seeing you again in t he near future.
Sir Peter Barter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

We stayed 2 separate nights, right before and after stay on one of the islands. Hotel staff very friendly and helpful, they also gave us a rider to the harbour. They allowed us to store extra luggage there between our stays. Easy to walk to many restaurants, very peaceful.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diane D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
explorerCairns, Owner at Tropical Heritage Cairns, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Thank you for taking time to write a review - we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and that Rosemary and her fantastic staff made you feel welcome and assisted you with transport and storage of luggage. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Sir Peter Barter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2012

Two main things made the stay at Heritage most enjoyable. Firstly, the cleanliness of the room and the building in general was unmatched to anywhere I have stayed in recent times. Secondly, the service from reception was faultless. From arrival to departure, we received excellent customer service. The really nice thing that we were treated as guests and not simply numbers walking in the door. The only thing which was a little disappointing was the noise generated by the old in wall air conditioner. Sleeping was a little difficult with this running but bearable. I highly recommend the Heritage and will certainly return in the future.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrPN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
explorerCairns, Owner at Tropical Heritage Cairns, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Thanks for your review, I know Rosemary will be tickled pink to read about her feat in communicating with you - she does this to all reservations. We hope you can revisit us sometime in the future!
Sir Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2012

Within walking distance to restaurants, The Esplanade, pier, casino but without the noise. Staff very obliging and helpful making my stay in Cairns most relaxing and enjoyable. Rooms good size and have recently been revamped. Small dining area on lower floor that is set up each morning for breakfast.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
explorerCairns, Owner at Tropical Heritage Cairns, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Thank you your review, we are pleased you enjoyed the stay, I respond to most of the reviews on behalf of Rosemary and I know whe will be very pleased that you found the hotel comfortable, clean - she goes to great length to make every feel at home.
Sir Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.8 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 65 in Cairns
4.5 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cairns Plaza Hotel
Cairns Plaza Hotel
#10 of 65 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,040 reviews
0.3 mi away
Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
0.1 mi away
Coral Tree Inn
Coral Tree Inn
#19 of 65 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 466 reviews
0.7 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tropical Heritage Cairns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropical Heritage Cairns

Property: Tropical Heritage Cairns
Address: 8 Minnie St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Cairns
#5 Family Hotel in Cairns
#5 Best Value Hotel in Cairns
#7 Romantic Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tropical Heritage Cairns 3.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Taxi service is available approx $20 each way between airport and hotel. Pool is basically large Spa. Internet is available at reception and wifi available throughout hotel. All rooms have tea/coffee making facilities, fridge, flat screen TV, en-suites and air conditioning . All rooms recently refurbished. We look forward to your visit to Cairns. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Tropical Heritage Cairns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heritage Cairns Hotel Cairns
Heritage Hotel Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing