We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spotless and great customer service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Tropical Heritage Cairns
Ranked #14 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 25, 2012

Two main things made the stay at Heritage most enjoyable. Firstly, the cleanliness of the room and the building in general was unmatched to anywhere I have stayed in recent times. Secondly, the service from reception was faultless. From arrival to departure, we received excellent customer service. The really nice thing that we were treated as guests and not simply numbers walking in the door. The only thing which was a little disappointing was the noise generated by the old in wall air conditioner. Sleeping was a little difficult with this running but bearable. I highly recommend the Heritage and will certainly return in the future.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrPN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
explorerCairns, Owner at Tropical Heritage Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded December 28, 2012

Thanks for your review, I know Rosemary will be tickled pink to read about her feat in communicating with you - she does this to all reservations. We hope you can revisit us sometime in the future!
Sir Peter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (506)
There are newer reviews for Tropical Heritage Cairns
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

253 - 259 of 506 reviews

Reviewed December 21, 2012

Within walking distance to restaurants, The Esplanade, pier, casino but without the noise. Staff very obliging and helpful making my stay in Cairns most relaxing and enjoyable. Rooms good size and have recently been revamped. Small dining area on lower floor that is set up each morning for breakfast.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elizabeth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
explorerCairns, Owner at Tropical Heritage Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded December 28, 2012

Thank you your review, we are pleased you enjoyed the stay, I respond to most of the reviews on behalf of Rosemary and I know whe will be very pleased that you found the hotel comfortable, clean - she goes to great length to make every feel at home.
Sir Peter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Right from the start we realised that the Heritage would be wonderful. Rosemary was the only manager of six hotels that bothered to e-mail us back with a welcome when we booked. This hotel is an oasis of tranquility we could go back to after a busy day out on the reef. we had a ground floor room with a small terrace that had palm trees and other sub tropical plants that attracted birds of all colours. The continental breakfast was really good value with fresh fruits etc. but the real treasure at the Heratidge is without doubt the manager Rosemary she goes out of her way to help at any time, is so friendly,will help arrange any trip and even transported us down to the quay. If you have someone like Rosemary in charge her sense of duty and service to guests filters down to the staff. We had an early (5.30am) departure and despite having a heavy cold Rosemary was there to wave goodbye. If you are looking for hotel thats a short walk from pubs and the main town with a calm atmosphere and friendly staff look no further. Thanks for everything Rod & Chris E

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rodney e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
explorerCairns, Owner at Tropical Heritage Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2012

Thank you for writing a review. My company has been in the hospitality business for almost 50 years, most of which has been in PNG where we own and operate the Madang Resort and Kalibobo Village - recently the company began investing in Cairns with the purchase of Cairns Heritage in 2010 and more recently purchasing the Cairns Sheridan Hotel. What is amazing is that Rosemary who also comes from PNG has been able to convey true PNG hospitality and I am pleased that you too have had the experience and trust that you will return. Again, thank you.
Sir Peter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2012

We only spent one brief night at the Heritage - had a late flight in and left fairly early the next morning for Green Island, so unfortunately we didn't stay long enough that I could fully review this accommodation but everything we experienced while staying there was great. Rosemary was invaluable from start to finish. We had actually chosen this place from the Trip Advisor reviews about her and she did not disappoint! We emailed her before our trip to let her know about our late arrival and she was so accommodating, she let us know how we could get in after hours, etc, but it turned out she was there to greet us after all. She is friendly, funny, and very helpful with suggestions, directions and she even drove us to the ferry terminal the next day, saving us a sweaty walk with all of our luggage!

The room was very basic but clean (bonus, there is an elevator!), quiet and comfortable and the whole hotel is decorated with gorgeous photos and artwork she has collected from Papa New Guinea, a great touch. Good quality for the price, and a convenient location, would definitely recommend it if you're looking for a nice, budget hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Oceanchic83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
explorerCairns, Owner at Tropical Heritage Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2012

Your comments are very much appreciated. The Heritage Cairns is a very special place, it is not designed to be a Hilton, it is a home away from home and Rosemary personal attention to her guests has been well noted. We hope you can revisit us again in the near future.
Sir Peter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2012

Rosemary is a jewel and takes excellent care of guests. This was a terrific place to stay for our 3 nights in Cairns. We had a fridge, a place to do laundry, a balcony, and a true king size bed. Pure heaven. It was quiet at night and easy walking distance to all the fun. Go out at twilight and you can be among all the fruit bats and flying foxes as they take off for the night. That was amazing! If we're lucky enough to get back to Cairns again, will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank serialcrafter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
explorerCairns, Owner at Tropical Heritage Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2012

Thank you for your response, as I reside in PNG the reviews help me through the eyes of our valued guests and we certainly aware of Rosemary's hospitality, she is qute amazing.
Sir Peter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2012

Just spent 3 nights at the Heritage. Can't say enough nice things about Rosemary - she was wonderful and very helpful in arranging trips to the reef and the rainforest and booking our airport shuttle. She even drove us to the marina and the train station. Our room was spacious and clean. And the hotel is convenient to the Esplanade. Would recommend this hotel for anyone visiting Cairns.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nancy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
explorerCairns, Owner at Tropical Heritage Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2012

Thank you for taking time to respond. Such reviews are very helpful and I am sure Rosemary will treasure your comments - she is a marvellouw lady that takes personal pleasure in ensuring that every guest is treated like a member of her family. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Sir Peter Barter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2012

Stayed in Heritage (also known as Tropical Heritage). Very comfortable stay. If you are like us you will have a number of activities booked. Rosemary on the front desk was inavluable in helping sort out a few problems with bookings we had made. We had pre booked a couple of activities but i am sur rosemary would have been very able to help book suitable trips. She was very knowledgable about all the different options.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Unraveling_traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
explorerCairns, Owner at Tropical Heritage Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded November 24, 2012

Thanks for taking time to respond. We are pleased Rosemary was able to assist in tours including the opportunity to witness the Eclipse on nov 14. Like you we also saw this amazing spectacle. We look forward to your return visit.
Sir Peter Barter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.8 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 64 in Cairns
601 reviews
3.9 mi away
Ingenia Holidays Cairns Coconut
0.7 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Coral Tree Inn
Coral Tree Inn
#20 of 64 in Cairns
504 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cairns Plaza Hotel
Cairns Plaza Hotel
#11 of 64 in Cairns
1,118 reviews
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tropical Heritage Cairns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropical Heritage Cairns

Address: 8 Minnie St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Cairns
#5 Family Hotel in Cairns
#6 Best Value Hotel in Cairns
#7 Romantic Hotel in Cairns
Price Range: $81 - $129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tropical Heritage Cairns 3.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Taxi service is available approx $20 each way between airport and hotel. Pool is basically large Spa. Internet is available at reception and wifi available throughout hotel. All rooms have tea/coffee making facilities, fridge, flat screen TV, en-suites and air conditioning . All rooms recently refurbished. We look forward to your visit to Cairns. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Tropical Heritage Cairns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heritage Cairns Hotel Cairns
Heritage Hotel Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing