We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (530)
Filter reviews
530 results
Traveler rating
247
209
62
11
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
247
209
62
11
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews quiet street two blocks continental breakfast free wifi stayed here for nights bed was comfortable home away from home centre of town short stay air con cairns esplanade rosemary tours australia motel kitchenette walkable
Filter
Updating list...
300 - 305 of 530 reviews
Reviewed August 12, 2012

We required accommodation close to Cairns Private hospital to enable us to visit a family member during a weeks admission. As well as being a 5 minute walk to the hospital, the hotel was only a short walk from the waterfront which allowed us to enjoy relaxing walks along the boardwalks to the lagoon and Pier. Rooms were spacious, with a refrigerator and microwave and crockery and cutlery sufficient for preparing simple meals. A washing machine and dryer was available for the hotel which made it easy to manage our own washing for 3 adults and family member in hospital. Also within walking distance of the hotel was St Monica's Cathedral with it's magnificent stained glass windows - a modern representation of the creation story with Australian and local themes included. All of the staff were very helpful and assisted with any of our requests. Hotel decor had a theme of the tropics with paintings and statues of Melanesian themes.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vagabondAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2012

My top criteria when selecting and evaluating a hotel is cleanliness. The amenities are nice to have but not always a requirement. And the Heritage goes to the top of my list for well-kept and immaculate rooms, bathrooms, kitchenette, and lobby area. Our suite was furnished with attractive furniture, a very comfortable king bed, great TV, and all the cooking utensils we needed. We prepared breakfast and lunch in the room, then had dinner at the local restaurants.

The short walk to the Esplanade was enjoyable and we made good use of the lengthy boardwalk that runs along the waterfront. We did not hesitate to get advice and assistance from Rosemary, Cynthia, and the staff. Once we began chatting, it was clear that they are all lovely people as well as experts in the region. Rosemary put in quite some time booking a tour for us and researching kayaking options. She made us feel comfortable asking all those questions new visitors have.

All in all, I would highly recommend the Heritage and agree with other reviewers that it exceeds the expectations of a 3.5-star hotel. And I made the choice to stay there based on all the glowing TripAdvisor reviews. Just one thing I wish I'd known in advance: there is a 2% surcharge for paying with a credit card.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martha F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2012

Big, clean, good room with even a balcony! Must sitting at the balcony enjoy the afternoon tea and ocean wind.

The lady of the front desk is very friendly and helpful.

2 hours free WIFI is good enough for us, and even 24 hours WIFI is not expensive. (6$ for 24 hours?)

Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
Thank BlackKnight97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2012

We checked in at the last minute and fortunately there was room. Great location and the staff are the definition of welcoming Australian hospitality. The suites are spacious and clean, and include a kitchenette if you're that way inclined. All for a reasonable price.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank y2ky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2012

Great location with easy walking distance to CBD and Esplanade. Stayed 5 nights. Rooms average size but who wants to spend time indoors is such a lovely location.
Good value for money. Rooms serviced frequently.Very clean

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ardgourtarras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
explorerCairns, Owner at Tropical Heritage Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2014

We appreciate the time you have taken to write a positive review on the Tropical Heritage Hotel in Cairns. We take all reviews seriously as we are always anxious to improve our services to our valued guests.
I also write on behalf of Rosemary, our Manager - she has been quite busy but I wan you to know that she reads all reviews and shares them with her fantastic staff.
Regards
Sir Peter Barter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews