We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$142
$135
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$293
$145
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 17% below average rates

The price you found is 17% lower than this hotel's average rate of $174/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$162
$154
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 19% below average rates

The price you found is 19% lower than this hotel's average rate of $189/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Mantra Esplanade Cairns(Cairns)(Great Value!)
$156
$132
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of $147/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hilton Cairns(Cairns)
$146
$136
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of $158/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$145
$138
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Cairns Plaza Hotel(Cairns)(Great Value!)
$115
$111
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 41% below average rates

The price you found is 41% lower than this hotel's average rate of $189/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$141
$130
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside(Cairns)(Great Value!)
$135
$125
HolidayInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reef Palms(Cairns)(Great Value!)
$98
$92
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (528)
Filter reviews
528 results
Traveler rating
246
208
62
11
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
246
208
62
11
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsquiet streettwo blockscontinental breakfastfree wifistayed here for nightsbed was comfortablehome away from homecentre of townshort stayair concairns esplanaderosemarytoursaustraliamotelkitchenettewalkable
Filter
Updating list...
305 - 310 of 528 reviews
Reviewed July 23, 2012

The excellence of Heritage Cairns hotel, as others have stated, is entirely the doing of the staff. We were arriving late to check in, and I actually didn't have a printout of our instructions to access our room key, and Rosemary was kind enough to resend them to my email address. In terms of location and convenience, the hotel is about equidistant to both destinations we wanted to do: the GRB and the train ride to Kuranda. Further, its proximity to the promenade, as others have stated, is a short walk; however (and this is indicative of the level of service we experienced) we were offered a ride to our destinations if we so wanted. The size of our one-bedroom suite was more than sufficient, which included a living area, a small kitchen and a small balcony. Also, we were given a voucher for 2 hours of complimentary WiFi, which worried me a little (I work in IT, so connectivity can be an issue). However, it was more than sufficient for my needs, and included checking email and attending to a work emergency remotely. This was accomplished with time to spare on the voucher.

I would definitely recommend this hotel for anyone staying in Cairns; its value is unparalleled, particularly if you plan to use it as a base camp to explore Northern Queensland.

Room Tip: Book a one-bedroom suite for a more open and spacious layout.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gabriel Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
explorerCairns, Owner at Tropical Heritage Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2012

Great to get such positive responses from you and so many other guests - any physical structure can be impressive, but without a heart it is not a home. Rosemary continually goes beyond what is expected and takes in guests as through members of her own family. We look forward to welcoming you back next year and belated birthday greetings to your Mother.
Sir Peter Barter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2012

Never before have I stayed in a hotel where a Manager has made you feel so welcome. Poor Rosemary must have thought a mad woman had arrived when she greeted us as my mother had missed our flight and I was rather stressed. After mentioning it was my mothers birthday she promptly produced a box of chocolates for when she did arrive. We then went to offload our suitcases in our two bedroom,two bathroom spacious and extremely clean room. We then headed back to reception where Rosemary checked the next flight we hoped my mother was on was landing on time, she then called us a cab. After returning with my mother we thought we would go to the night markets, after mentioning this to Rosemary she offered to drive us there. Rosemary goes above and beyond the service you expect at a hotel she is one in a milIlion. I'm just sorry we only spent one night at the Heritage Hotel but would love to return for longer next year.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank alicat554
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
explorerCairns, Owner at Tropical Heritage Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2012

Thanks for the comment, we always appreciate responses as it allows us to see ourselves from a guest perspective and where necessary improve whatever, or pass onto out fantastic staff any credit.
The Cairns Heritage does provide excellent value for money, in fact like most hotels in FNQ there has been no tariff increase for the past 5 years due to the downturn in tourism and the high value of the Australian Dollar, and not least Cyclone Yasi. To make matters worse, the larger international hotels have dropped their price below break even to create a cash flow which in turn placed greater pressure on the smaller hotels, many of which are family owned and are now operating at huge losses. Fortunately at Heritage Cairns, this has not happened but certainly we make little and all hope for the dollar to go down and the airport arrivals increase both domestically and internationally so that the tourism industry will again be viable and further investment and employment will follow.
The Heritage Cairns is a 3.5 star rates hotel, we do not profess to be a 5 star hotel and we believe that for the standard of accommodation, the facilities offered along with our excellent manager and her staff, we provide extremely good value for money.
We look forward to you returning in the future.
Sir Peter Barter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2012

this hotel which is average in terms of its quality but none the less very comfortable just goes to demonstrate how important good staff are. rosemary and the other staff seemingly can't do enough for you and travelling as we were as a family her advice and common sense we much appreciated. our rooms were clean spacious and very comfortable and we all slept well. the location is great as its only a 5 minute walk to the main drag but quiet and comfortable. The pool is not really a pool more of a garden pond but then the Cairns water front pool is so good that you wouldn't want to swim any were else.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank peter s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
explorerCairns, Owner at Tropical Heritage Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2014

Thanks for taking time to write a review, your comments are noted. We hope to see you again in the near future in Cairns, or Madang.
Sir Peter Barter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2012

We recently stayed here twice 4 adults and 2 preschoolers. On the first stay the rooms were clean and spacious with a connecting door. There were 2 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, a lounge, a microwave, kitchenette with a portable electric frypan. Cooking facilities was limited but enough for our needs. On our second stay a few nights later, the hotel was full and we were upgraded to 2 rooms with spa baths. The bathrooms were very spacious but the bedroom was slightly smaller to fit the extra rollaway bed. There was even less cooking facilities with no kitchen sink. It would have been very comfortable if we didn't have small children and didn't need to cook. Reception was very helpful to book our Kuranda skyrail and train trip. Easy and free parking available and also internet available. We had a car so it was an easy drive to the esplanade and city centre. Overall, it was a very reasonably priced accommodation and we would recommend it. Definitely prefer the first rooms we had as it was more spacious and could do some cooking although the furnishings were not as luxurious as the rooms with the spa. Book direct with hotel to get a good room rate.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a kitchen sink if you need to do some cooking and there is an electric frypan and even a rice cooker available from reception. The rooms have interconnecting doors if you need more than one bedroom.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TwinklyToes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2012

I have spent three weeks in Australia and Heritage Cairns was by far the best hotel I've stayed, although, I admit, I usually booked budget hotels highly rated on Tripadvisor.

Heritage actually felt like a five star hotel, but at motel prices. Everything was clean, comfortable, and stylish. The room had a flat-screen TV, refrigerator and a tea kettle. I don't remember if there was a microwave too. The wifi price was reasonable. The 24 hour access can be spread over a number of days, since it counts only the hours you are online. Still, I would rather prefer that I did not have to enter codes to get access. Nowadays with multiple devices it gets annoying to have to log in every time you want to use your phone, iPad or laptop. Breakfast was available (extra charge), but I cannot comment on it since I didn't try it. There was also a coin washer and dryer.

The hotel is located a little bit away from the center of Cairns, but definitely within the walking distance. The neighborhood isn't the best: vacant lots, motels, etc., but is perfectly safe. Parking was free.

And, of course, as most of the other reviewers, I cannot speak highly enough about the manager Rosemary. She takes great care of the hotel and her guests. Unlike my previous experiences with booking activities through a hotel, she actually found one of the cheapest reef trips available for me and gave me good advice about visiting the Daintree national park.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eugene_o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 9, 2012

We appreciate your positive comments. The Heritage Cairns is a unique property offering great value for money. Under the present economic constraints and the down turn in tourism, most small hotels have great difficulty in operating viably. Whilst all other services and utilities increase, it is very difficult for hotels like Heritage Cairns to increase tariffs even though justifiable. In addition to the increase in costs, we are faced with extremely high labour rates primarily caused by a Government that is largely dominated by Unions not sympathetic to the survival of the tourism industry. Our survival depends on attracting high occupancy or ultimately, an increase in tariffs which we are reluctant to implement.. If we could increase rates, we would certainly look at free Wi Fi, but until the tourism industry rebounds it is a case for survival and satisfying our guests with the best possible facilities and in the case of Heritage, the exceptional hospitality of our fantasic manager and her staff. Sir Peter Barter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews