We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$224
$188
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hilton Cairns(Cairns)
$152
$137
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of $156/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$271
$149
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 19% below average rates

The price you found is 19% lower than this hotel's average rate of $185/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Mantra Esplanade Cairns(Cairns)(Great Value!)
$165
$150
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of $175/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$112
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$133
$122
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside(Cairns)(Great Value!)
$104
$95
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Savings alert! 17% below average rates

The price you found is 17% lower than this hotel's average rate of $115/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Cairns Plaza Hotel(Cairns)(Great Value!)
$123
$115
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 58% below average rates

The price you found is 58% lower than this hotel's average rate of $275/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reef Palms(Cairns)(Great Value!)
$92
$87
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (528)
Filter reviews
528 results
Traveler rating
246
208
62
11
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
246
208
62
11
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsquiet streettwo blockscontinental breakfastfree wifistayed here for nightsbed was comfortablehome away from homecentre of townshort stayair concairns esplanaderosemarytoursaustraliamotelkitchenettewalkable
Filter
Updating list...
308 - 313 of 528 reviews
Reviewed July 13, 2012

We recently stayed here twice 4 adults and 2 preschoolers. On the first stay the rooms were clean and spacious with a connecting door. There were 2 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, a lounge, a microwave, kitchenette with a portable electric frypan. Cooking facilities was limited but enough for our needs. On our second stay a few nights later, the hotel was full and we were upgraded to 2 rooms with spa baths. The bathrooms were very spacious but the bedroom was slightly smaller to fit the extra rollaway bed. There was even less cooking facilities with no kitchen sink. It would have been very comfortable if we didn't have small children and didn't need to cook. Reception was very helpful to book our Kuranda skyrail and train trip. Easy and free parking available and also internet available. We had a car so it was an easy drive to the esplanade and city centre. Overall, it was a very reasonably priced accommodation and we would recommend it. Definitely prefer the first rooms we had as it was more spacious and could do some cooking although the furnishings were not as luxurious as the rooms with the spa. Book direct with hotel to get a good room rate.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a kitchen sink if you need to do some cooking and there is an electric frypan and even a rice cooker available from reception. The rooms have interconnecting doors if you need more than one bedroom.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TwinklyToes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2012

I have spent three weeks in Australia and Heritage Cairns was by far the best hotel I've stayed, although, I admit, I usually booked budget hotels highly rated on Tripadvisor.

Heritage actually felt like a five star hotel, but at motel prices. Everything was clean, comfortable, and stylish. The room had a flat-screen TV, refrigerator and a tea kettle. I don't remember if there was a microwave too. The wifi price was reasonable. The 24 hour access can be spread over a number of days, since it counts only the hours you are online. Still, I would rather prefer that I did not have to enter codes to get access. Nowadays with multiple devices it gets annoying to have to log in every time you want to use your phone, iPad or laptop. Breakfast was available (extra charge), but I cannot comment on it since I didn't try it. There was also a coin washer and dryer.

The hotel is located a little bit away from the center of Cairns, but definitely within the walking distance. The neighborhood isn't the best: vacant lots, motels, etc., but is perfectly safe. Parking was free.

And, of course, as most of the other reviewers, I cannot speak highly enough about the manager Rosemary. She takes great care of the hotel and her guests. Unlike my previous experiences with booking activities through a hotel, she actually found one of the cheapest reef trips available for me and gave me good advice about visiting the Daintree national park.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eugene_o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 9, 2012

We appreciate your positive comments. The Heritage Cairns is a unique property offering great value for money. Under the present economic constraints and the down turn in tourism, most small hotels have great difficulty in operating viably. Whilst all other services and utilities increase, it is very difficult for hotels like Heritage Cairns to increase tariffs even though justifiable. In addition to the increase in costs, we are faced with extremely high labour rates primarily caused by a Government that is largely dominated by Unions not sympathetic to the survival of the tourism industry. Our survival depends on attracting high occupancy or ultimately, an increase in tariffs which we are reluctant to implement.. If we could increase rates, we would certainly look at free Wi Fi, but until the tourism industry rebounds it is a case for survival and satisfying our guests with the best possible facilities and in the case of Heritage, the exceptional hospitality of our fantasic manager and her staff. Sir Peter Barter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for 6 nights in June. We booked a spa room which was clean, decent in size, comfortable and had it's own small balcony. The hotel was bigger than we expected, but still had a cosy feel. Having said that, we didn't spend much time in the hotel as there was so much to see in Cairns and the surrounding area!

The breakfast included in the price we paid is served in a converted room on the ground floor and is self serve continental style. The hotel is not directly on the Cairns Esplanade and does not have ocean views. However, it is a very short walk away from the Esplanade and all the restaurants.

The main reason I gave this place 5 stars is because of the service provided by the hotel manager, Rosemary. She was very efficient in responding to emails, giving honest tour/day trip advice and making bookings. She gave us early morning lifts to the pick up point for several of the day trips we booked. She also allowed a very early (6am) check in and a late check out to fit in with our flight times. All this for a very reasonable price!

I highly recommend Heritage as a solid base for travellers who are in Cairns to see all the attractions of this beautiful part of Australia.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank youngbutwise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 6, 2012

Thank you so much for your review, we appreciate all comments made which are taken seriously. We also recognise Rosemary as a secret weapon, she is one of the most hospitable managers we have ever known and proud of her work at the Cairns Heritage. - Sir Peter Barter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2012

Part of the Golden Chain group, this hotel is one of the best. Position is great - between the CBD and the Esplanade. The rooms are large and very clean and comfortable. And nothing is too much trouble for the staff. Excursions are booked swiftly and efficiently and even a car service is offered to take you to the train station to start your trip. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JenniferMary46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2012

This is a great place to stay in Cairns. Close to the CBD and water, huge rooms, kitchenette, very clean, well-run and extremely good value breakfast ($8 each for all you can eat continental breakfast with lovely fresh in-season fruit - where else can you get a breakfast so cheap?). The rooms were quiet, bed comfortable and there was plenty of off-street parking. Overall, just a really easy place to stay.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GreatSouthernLand5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews