We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok - but could easily be much better.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cairns City Sheridan
Ranked #59 of 63 Hotels in Cairns
Reviewed July 12, 2013

Location and price convinced us to book this hotel a short 10 minute walk from Cairns Esplanade. Sub $200 rooms are hard to come by in Cairns so we were please to find a family room in this hotel for just $120. On arrival at 11am we were told out room wasn't yet ready so we should come back at 2pm. We did so and found that it still wasn't ready. Around another 45 minutes later we were given a room in the second floor. We then discovered that the building has no elevator and had to drag our 8 bags of luggage up 2 flights of stairs (no assistance available or offered).

The room was spacious and clean with a double bed, 2 singles, large flat screen tv, safe, microwave, fridge, and tea/coffee facilities. All looked to be either new or in good order with the exception of the fridge which was possibly recycled from the city dump and looked awful. The room had air con though this wasn't required during our stay. The bathroom was functional and basic and in the main clean, though there was a large collection of long hairs on the wall and shower curtain that was a little stomach churning.

Everything else was merely fine. We slept well on comfortable beds and there was no noise or other annoyances. The only other points to note are that the hotel official images show what great things can be achieved with a wide angle lens as everything was a great deal smaller than is suggested, and that great tropical fish tank in reception could do with a good clean as it isn't so inviting.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ACNM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (317)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

158 - 164 of 318 reviews

Reviewed July 4, 2013 via mobile

This was a good place to rest our heads after a long travel day & a late flight in but I'm glad we only had one night.
The rooms are badly in need of some repairs ( broken tiles) and a really good clean ( pretty sure the toe nail clippings in the bathroom weren't mine!).
Nevertheless it was cheap & the beds were comfortable enough.
Be aware there are lots of steps to the third floor if you have heavy cases.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kwaussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2013 via mobile

Very basic room but has everything you need. Bathroom is simple and a little dated complete with shower curtain and rust rings around the shower head.
Everything about this place feels like it would benefit from a good scrub. We were on the 3rd floor and noticed how grubby the stairs were every time we walked the 3 flights. Also on the cleaning list is the aquarium in the foyer. Very green complete with dead fish. (Stay classy!)
All that said it was ok though. I'm a little relieved we we're not there more than one night. It was an ok place to start our Cairns adventure from.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank geoffdemanser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

Stayed at this hotel with my son in November 2012 for two weeks. Our room was on the pool side. I personally have nothing negative to write about this hotel. Our room was always clean the staff were super helpful. The hotel is in walking distance to a great shopping mall, city centre, esplanade,public pool (and the time we were their I had a achilles problem but had no problem with the walking just had to slow down). We did great day trips which the staff helped us with also a super diving course with Pro Dive. You also have parking on site and free wifi access in each room which is rare in Australia and it worked well. We had dinner a few times at the hotel and enjoyed it. Also you have a washing and dryer machine on site which was a big help. One tip for the rooms don't leave crumbs or food lying around and you won't have ants, remember you're near the rainforest and Cairns has a tropical climate so sometimes you might see a bug on your trip. After our day trips it was nice to have a dip in the pool and to have a cold drink from the poolside bar. During our two week stay only once we had a disturbance from the pool from two young guys drinking and making quite a noice in the night. Overall nice stay and price wise great value for this hotel. A special thanks to the receptionist who is from Åland (forgot her name). And I'm sure one day the airconditioners will be updated and we were ok with not having a elervator.

Room Tip: Pool side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank juus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2013

The Best Western City Sheridan is a good, standard hotel in Cairns. It has a nice location near the center of town. It's within walking distance of the coast, shops, food, and public pool. The rooms are clean and adequately appointed. There is parking on-site and free wifi access in each room. This is a decent and economical place to stay if you are planning day trips to Kuranda, Port Douglas, or the Daintree National Forest.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WanderingWren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Best Western City Sheridan has quaint rooms for a great rate. The rooms are spacious. Showers have great water pressure. The rooms are far from fancy, however the rooms are clean. The wireless internet service is free, which is a rare thing in Australia. This hotel is ideal if you have days filled with sightseeing, tours, excursions, and travel.

Room Tip: Print the confirmation email if you book online. The front desk had a slight higher rate than what I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fuego77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for five nights and overall it is a very pleasant hotel. The staff were super helpful and the room a lovely size. The only downside was the distance from the centre, as being a solo female travellers it wasn't an area I would want to walk around at night. The noise from the stairwell was also a problem as it was very loud when people walked up and down the stairs but I'm not sure if this is only a problem for my room as I was attached to them via a wall. If I was to visit Cairns again I would chose this hotel as it is very good value for money.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Frances D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.1 mi away
Sunshine Tower Hotel Cairns
0.7 mi away
Tropical Queenslander Cairns Holiday Studio & Apartment
0.6 mi away
Hides Hotel Cairns
Hides Hotel Cairns
#54 of 63 in Cairns
358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Cairns Southside International
0.1 mi away
Cairns Queens Court
Cairns Queens Court
#26 of 63 in Cairns
514 reviews
0.7 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 63 in Cairns
621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cairns City Sheridan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cairns City Sheridan

Address: 157 Sheridan St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia (Formerly Best Western)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 63 Hotels in Cairns
Price Range: $65 - $149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cairns City Sheridan 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
City Sheridan is located close to the city center of Cairns, regarded one of the most popular hotels in a region that is viewed to be a must visit destination in the world. Cairns is surrounded by lush rainforest, beautiful tropical waters and scenery that has to be seen to believe. Staying with us at the City Sheridan you will be located within a 10 minute walk to Cairns best city attractions including; Cairns central shopping center, large number of world renowned restaurants catering for all cuisines, plenty of lively bars and clubs, Cairns Civic Theater, Cairns Convention Center, Cruise Ship Terminal, Bus Terminal, Museum, Arts Gallery, Train Station, Reef Fleet Terminal and the Reef Casino. City Sheridan is also only a 5 minute drive from the airport. ROOMS Our rooms are large in size and cleaned daily. We offer free wireless internet throughout the hotel. All rooms have their own private bathroom and balcony that opens the rooms to the wide open tropical weather and scenery. For in room entertainment your room has a 32-inch TV with free in house movies. Other inclusions is a microwave, fridge with mini-bar, iron and ironing board, hairdryer, safe, tea and coffee making facilities, and a desk with chairs. Your balcony is furnished with a table and 2 chairs. FACILITIES City Sheridan facilities include a tropical outdoor swimming pool with cascading waterfall, tour booking desk, guest laundry, and onsite car parking. City Sheridan also has the Sheridan Lounge Bar, a great place you can meet other travelers and share your stories while enjoying a beverage. The Sheridan Lounge Bar also has a computer terminal with free printing facilities. SHERIDAN RESTAURANT Sheridan Restaurant serves continental breakfast buffet daily from 7:00 am through to 10:00 am. Enjoy your morning breakfast poolside in the company of tropical palm trees and a cascading waterfall. SHERIDAN LOUNGE BAR: After a day out enjoying all the fantastic adventures that the Tropical North Queensland has to offer, relax pool side with a drink chosen from our large selection of beers, wines and spirits. TOUR DESK: City Sheridan tour booking agents are always available to help you through the large variety of adventure options. Great Barrier Reef, Cape Tribulation, and the Daintree are just a couple of the more popular attractions, and for the thrill seekers; skydiving, bungee jumping, hot air-ballooning, or white water rafting might be more your style, with over 200 adventures on offer, there is definitely something for everyone. CHECKING IN: Reception is open from 7:00 am to 9:00 pm daily. If you are arriving after 9:00 pm, the phone that is located on the front reception doors will direct call an after-hours service. If you are arriving after 9:00 pm, please let us know. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Priceline, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cairns City Sheridan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western City Sheridan Hotel Cairns
Comfort Inn Cairns
Cairns Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing