We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Southern Cross Atrium Apartments
Nearby Hotels
$244
$141
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
BreakFree Royal Harbour Resort(Cairns)(Great Value!)
$155
$135
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hilton Cairns(Cairns)
$130
$117
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Mantra Esplanade Cairns(Cairns)(Great Value!)
$122
$93
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside(Cairns)(Great Value!)
$86
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$187
$148
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Cairns Plaza Hotel(Cairns)(Great Value!)
$93
$74
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$150
$133
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns(Cairns)(Great Value!)
$123
$111
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reef Palms(Cairns)(Great Value!)
$107
$81
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (602)
Filter reviews
602 results
Traveler rating
141
259
119
37
46
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
141
259
119
37
46
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsshopping centrethese apartmentsstudio apartmentrice cookerminute walkpool gatetrain stationnice apartmentnight managerground floor unitfirst floorpool viewbbq facilitiesself cateringsmall gymwashing machineown meals
Filter
Updating list...
505 - 510 of 602 reviews
Reviewed January 29, 2007

Whilst the apartments were very new & comfortable, they are located in a very noisy area. We were often woken by noisy trains and jumbo jets. The apartments are right in the flight path. I found the staff to always be friendly and courteous.
Apartments are serviced once weekly, so unless you have a washing machine where you can re wash bath towels etc if you are staying for more than a few days, you have to rent any extra bath towels. I liked the location as it was close to Cairns Central shopping Centre and 10-15 mins walk to the esplanade.
I would probably stay there again, by my partner would rather us try something else.

  • Stayed: January 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Lovetravel73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2007

I just arrived in Cairns for a short business visit, and saw this very new-looking complex with what looked to be a convenient location. The price was reasonable, but I discovered two very negative issues that caused me to check out after two days.

The place is loaded with children, and the central location of the swimming pool means that everyone gets to hear screaming kids at all hours.

Secondly, while prostitution is legal in Queensland, several of the units here are obviously being used by "traveling" girls with strange men arriving and departing until late hours of the night. Apparently one of the reasons this location is popular is it's close proximity to the nightclubs and bars of the city, and the lack of security in these buildings - the outside gates are never locked, and in fact propped open with bricks so that they can't be closed.

Sorry, not a pleasing business location!

  • Stayed: January 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
9  Thank JimmyMc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2006

These apartments are very conveniently located for the shopping centre, supermarket (next door) and the bars / restaurants (5-minute walk). I was impressed by the cleanliness and modern decor / fittings and appliances. My room was a good size and I took another reviewer's advice and requested a room not overlooking the car park, so the only noise I suffered was the night when the apartment below decided to have a party on their balcony! Great location for the Reef and Cape Trib day trips (tours will collect you from the apartment). Traveling as a single female, I felt safe here. Although I did not use the facilities, there were small swimming pools but no restaurant.

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Battley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2006

We stayed in the Southern Cross Atrium apts. in Cairns, Queensland, Australia from May 23 - May 26. Unlike all the other apts. hotels we stayed in during our 3-week trip to New Zealand and Australia, this was not a "serviced" hotel. There was no mention of this on the website and we learned the hard what this means. We had the same towels from Tuesday until Friday (extra towels were charged at $A2.00 each), received one small bar of soap, had no dishwashing detergent, no salt/pepper, beds were not made, garbage not emptied. This was definitely something we planned for after traveling halfway around the world.

The hotel is located one block from a mall which closes early. the area then becomes quite deserted. It is several blocks from the busier main section of town and we did not feel very safe walking back to the hotel after dinner or sightseeing. The hotel is divided into several apt. building right by a main thoroughfare with no security as to who enters the premises. anyone can walk in from the street. I would not go abck there under any circumstance.

12  Thank hollandgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2006

Overall, great value, very clean. Quiet and friendly. Seemed to be a nice mixture of all ages staying there. Helpful receptionist, but better to check for internet and tour prices in central Cairns one or two streets back from the seafront.

About 10/15 min walk from the seafront, but 100 metres from the main shopping centre - a bonus when self catering!

For us, the apartment with more space and self catering facilities is much preferred to a hotel - especially if you have laundry to be washed!

The air con, stainless steel Fisher & Paykel fridge, freezer, microwave, dishwasher, washing machine all looked virtually new and unused. TV & DVD. Firm bed. Generous balcony with veranda shutters and wicker furniture. Generous parking in compound, gates close at night. Pools (3) were clean, varied and open to 10pm so swimming under the stars!

For a UK visitor these apartment complexes are unusual, but common in Oz. They are usually privately owned as holiday homes or on a time share. They have a central management office, usually in one of the apartments. The result is that every apartment is slightly different.

  • Stayed: October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank bentleylane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews